Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 30 days, 13 hours, 0 minutes, 4 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Signal Delay - ChrisGaudino - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Control a mars rover! Signal delay causes your inputs to be delayed by 10 seconds. See if you can pick up a rock and place it in the rover's basket!

    Note: 10 seconds ended up being pretty difficult. I included some easier settings so you can get the hang of the technique. Move slow and stop between steering corrections!

    My best times:
    Easiest: 1:12
    Easier: 1:48
    Normal: 10:42

    Let me know how you do!

    You can check out the postmortem here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/08/28/signal-delay-postmortem/

    Edit:
    I realized the list of controls in the menu is incomplete. Here's the complete list:
    Up/Down arrows - adjust speed
    B - set speed to 0
    Left/Right arrows - turn
    N - center steering
    W/S - move lower arm
    E/D - move upper arm
    Space - toggle grapple
    Right click and drag to move the camera
    Scrollwheel to zoom
    Escape - Back to main menu

    Linux version is untested. Please let me know if you have problems with it!

    By Chris Gaudino
    @GaudinoGames

    View ChrisGaudino's journal. | View all entries by ChrisGaudino

    Ratings

    Coolness85%
    #17Innovation4.13
    #18Theme4.09
    #92Graphics3.91
    #103Overall3.65
    #276Mood3.12
    #550Fun2.93
    #756Humor1.93
    #993Audio1.14

    Comments

    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:09am

    Great concept ! I really like this. It's kinda hard and I'm only playing at easy ;) very good use of the 10 seconds theme.

    klambrike says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:17am

    Good idea, liked the game very much!

    mort96 says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:08pm

    Awesome concept. Honestly not too sure if it transforms well into a game, but overall really nice :)

    NuSan says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:53pm

    Fantastic idea. I love it, its a nice fit to the them, really well made. I would like some metrics and grid on the sliders, to make it more precise. It take me several minutes to complete each chalenge : 8m for 1s, 7m for 4s and 12m for 10s.

    Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:54pm

    One of the best ideas I've seen so far :) It's really hard!

    juaxix says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:56pm

    Good and realistic idea, lot of good work here. Well done :)

    Beardbotnik says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:59pm

    Interesting concept, extremely good use of the concept. The graphics are nice too, though its really hard to pick up a rock, even when I was lined up right the claw seemed to go right over, I might be doing something wrong.

    Some ambient radio sounds or spacey noises could have helped a lot with the mood. But I guess it in in a spacey vaccum...
    Some

    fferro234 says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:59pm

    What a fantastic idea for a game. You took the theme and made a wonderful original (and somewhat realistic) game. I'm not sure if NASA can actually control the rover or if the rover just has ai, but they would probably have this problem of delayed input. It was great that you created easier versions also.

    Kyle Mac says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:17pm

    Awesome idea, too bad it doesn't work out too well in practice though...

    elementz123 says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:35pm

    Awesome use of the theme. I only played on easy mode and it was still quite challenging. I imagine hard would take ages. But it sure felt good when I got that rock in the basket!

    mtrc says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:03pm

    Very innovative idea, loved the control system and a great use of the theme!

    Suese says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:05pm

    I realize they are delayed, but the controls seem incorrect too. The first time the slider on the left moved the arm, the second time it made me move forward but it wouldn't let me stop. Cool idea though.

    Mclogenog says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:09pm

    Heh, this is pretty amusing. Even one second of lag is really hard. Plop it next to surgeon simulator in the "why am I so bad at simple tasks!" genre.

    Xgor says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:10pm

    Really cool concept. Waay too hard for me though :P I got to the rock but couldn't pick it up.

    ChrisGaudino says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:22pm

    Thanks for the feedback everybody! Suese: if you need to stop, the easiest way is to press B. That sets the brakes, and will stop you very quickly (after the 10 second delay, of course).

    reostra says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:32am

    I'm terrible at this with even 1 second of delay, but the concept is great and so is the execution :)

    panurge says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:10pm

    Great concept and fun, fiddly gameplay. I was really bad at it but I enjoyed playing.

    Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:07pm

    Had a hard time 'getting to grips' with the controls but enjoyed it none the less Chris. A very unique entry!

    Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:40pm

    Man this was so tough, how do they control the real thing? Definitely a great take on the theme.

    dudsen says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:36pm

    FOR GODS SAKE, YOU LITTLE ROCK, GET INTO THIS FRIKKING BASKET!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thankfully i dont work at nasa. probably would have crashed the last mars rover into the white house or something. nice compo entry !

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:28am

    Very impressive. You nailed all the checkboxes. Needs some tunes to keep it interesting, but everything else is great.

    Kohijin says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:01am

    Great to see someone else also doing something with delayed signals! Still a very different and interestingly fresh approach.

    Zephyr89 says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:16am

    Hell, this game is hard. Brilliant use of the theme though.Maybe I should try it on easy? Also mars has an atmosphere, so you can realistically add some background ambiance. Wind maybe?

    Anachron says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:41am

    Awesome concept and very relevant implementation! This would be a great thinking game to have on tablets.

    rejooh says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:32am

    Really love the idea and realization. (Moving on to normal difficulty now. :))

    Almax27 says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:05pm

    Really nice concept, looks awesome too. Nice one!

    BradleySmith says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:59pm

    Controls are quite tricky but this is a nice idea. :)

    zkenshin says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:24am

    Works well. Enjoyed the environment. :)

    radmars says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:38am

    10:33 normal!!! Wooo!! Nice challenge :)

    iiechapman says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:49am

    Love the concept of 10 second delay, very unique, I realize I would not be a good fit to do this in real laugh haha!

    iiechapman says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:49am

    Real Life*

    ChrisGaudino says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:27am

    Nice job radmars! As far as I know, that is a new record.

    BenWhi says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:01am

    Wow, that was a ton of fun! Frustrating fun, but still FUN! Took me a little while to get the controls, but managed to get near a rock and almost pick it up. Had some good laughs as my rover went speeding away in the wrong direction. Graphics looked great too! Great work!

    Taiters says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:47pm

    Brilliant idea for the theme, well done!

    Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:01am

    Nice and original use of the theme :D
    Very cool!

    darkshadow says ...
    Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:29pm

    This is more infuriating than qwop! I've got the driving sorted even with max delay, but the grabber I can hardly handle even min delay, it worked so nicely the first time I didn't realise it actually has all the finesse of an arcade grabber >:/ I'm guessing that's where KSP found the parts for the rover?

    Anway enough of the minor grumblings, I love the game! Brilliant concept and a real original challenge.

    Larzan says ...
    Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:19am

    Great concept, one of the best i have seen so far, but the robot had some problems, he wouldn't drive backwards, and, once stopped, not move again...

    Connors says ...
    Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:05am

    I had a lot of fun with this, for what it's worth, I played first the 1 second, then 4, then I played 10 seconds three times and got the rock in 2 out of 3 tries. Also my best with 10 seconds delay was 00:06:14. At first I thought there was a glitch but this was only because I had not learned how the throttle works, once I got that it was pretty easy. But still a great little challenge, so, good work sir. I also like the landscape and graphics overall are nice.

    kraj0t says ...
    Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:17am

    6:58, nice experience. And the most ingenious use of the 10 seconds theme I've seen so far :-)

    ivo says ...
    Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:06pm

    Best use of the theme so far.

    ChrisGaudino says ...
    Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:14pm

    Thanks everybody! Larzan, can you give me any more info about the bugs you were experiencing? I'd love to fix them, but I haven't been able to replicate them yet.

    Jeremias says ...
    Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:21pm

    Very nice use of the theme. The easiest mode is just right to get familar with the controls and it gets interesting with the 10 second delay. I think it would be better if there were more obstacles between the start point and a collectable rock. Anyway, nice concept!

    ratalaika says ...
    Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:37am

    ! Great job :).

    TobiasW says ...
    Sep 13, 2013 @ 8:46pm

    That's a really interesting concept. I got the hang of it pretty fast (despite being intimidated when I read the controls), but then again - I played at "easiest". For the harder modes you'd definitely need more feedback, especially on turning! It took me nearly 9 minutes, by the way - because I managed to drop the first rock on my back, and then proceeding to try to take it again until it fell down on the earth again, haha.

    socrates1024 says ...
    Oct 16, 2013 @ 4:28am

    I love this game. Seped run: 19s http://i.imgur.com/y1vs060.gif

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]