Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 16 hours, 44 minutes, 18 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 16 hours, 44 minutes, 19 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Explosion Time - Fervir - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    This game is a side scrolling action-platformer where you chase down a helicopter.
    Explosions, enemies, meteors, powerups and explosions everywhere.
    Every 10 seconds, meteors will fall and destroy the landscape.
    Stuck in a hole?
    Use your rockets to blast a way through or your lasers to help you jump over.
    Keep moving right to create a randomly generated fresh level and boss.

    Controls
    A-Move Left
    D-Move Right
    Space-Jump
    Left Click-Lasers
    Right Click-Rockets


    I make other games too, go here
    www.blankthevidya.tumblr.com

    To view the source, you need to open the .cap file with Construct Classic.

    View Fervir's journal. | View all entries by Fervir

    Ratings

    Coolness80%
    #5Fun4.18
    #50Overall3.86
    #62Graphics4.04
    #115Mood3.47
    #134Humor3.26
    #146Audio3.31
    #295Innovation3.34
    #488Theme3.25

    Comments

    Infernal says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:17am

    Crazy action! very fun, but wasn't sure what my goal was

    Zccc says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:19am

    Cool looking game, but it didn't seem to have a goal :P Love the dirty look of the graphics and the crazy action!

    Mnemusyne says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:07am

    Great job Ferv, but you could've done a better job with the title!

    douglasv says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:41am

    Looks awesome! Very polished

    Simulacrum says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:54am

    Best game I've played so far. It also has, by far, the best visuals. I'm amazed you made so many great sprites so fast. Nice job.

    shs says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:12am

    Why is it raining meteors.
    Why am I shooting lazer beams from my hands.
    Why are octopus and helicopter things trying to kill me.

    A+ would play again.

    sheigeno says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:16pm

    ..AWESOME!! This is really great! I had so much fun :) nice job

    Tifu says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:36pm

    Pretty frantic! I got a little slowdown at times when there was too much going on. Fun though, and nice design on the enemies!

    nikkesen says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:20am

    Great graphics. Nice little shooter. The meteors were a great touch. I love the destruction.

    EvilObjective says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:58am

    Awesome visuals. I enjoyed the frantic pace and really liked the death sequence.

    Jayjay says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:21am

    Awesome job, fun game =D

    Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:58am

    That was delightful! The action was hilariously over-the-top in the most exciting of ways! And the hopping around destructible terrain, and the desperate shooting felt oh so right.

    It got a bit weird toward the end though, it feels like when the ground beneath you is all blown up, you should fall and die, I ended up loop-falling quite a bit before finding more land.

    Overall tons of fun, and I will definitely be replaying this later.

    arcticleaf says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:26pm

    it's fun haha , cool

    Jellycakes says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:45am

    That was pretty fun, really liked the bullet-hell feel of the game. everything generally worked well together. Nice one!

    LittleThor says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:03am

    Fun game but it needs a goal to be more interesting. Just add score and leaderboard and it would be very nice.

    epiplon says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:32pm

    Great game! I only missed a score system.

    nddrylliog says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:55pm

    Hectic! Enjoyable very much. Sorry my comments don't make any sense. Keep doing stuff like that. BRING THAT SHIT ON STEAM <3.

    udo says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:55pm

    The amount of action on the screen was insane! I had a wonderful time trying to survive... How on earth did you do all this within 48 hours? That's godlike!

    Fervir says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:26pm

    Not even kidding, I spent like 30+ hours making the game.
    I'm really experienced with Construct Classic though, which is really good at putting together rapid prototypes.

    Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:28pm

    Oh man super difficult but excellent fun game! I loved this one, please turn it into a full game!!

    VDZ says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:35pm

    I had a lot of fun with excessive upgrades, being able to freely navigate in all directions using recoil and such. http://i.xomf.com/snjhs.png

    andreyin says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:14am

    Real nice, no idea it had been made with Construct Classic until I read it the description! Good work fellow AGDG'er *tips fedora*

    XaiZil says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:48pm

    Hectic but fun, couldn't work out goal

    Fervir says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:47pm

    The goal is to have fun

    dook says ...
    Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:05pm

    It was indeed Explosion Time! Awesome game :) Controls were good and lots of senseless action.

    syawqy says ...
    Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:22am

    this is fun
    but there's lag when meteor crash down

    murilo says ...
    Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:25am

    That was awesome! Kind of mindless fun but crazy fun! Overall it was pretty good! I especially liked the slow motion bits to escape the meteors!

    Purplescape says ...
    Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:35am

    It's action packed and much fun to blast through! Cool game

    Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:18am

    Woah, destructible terrain and meteors. This is crazy!

    NightShadow0 says ...
    Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:49pm

    Loved it, but the random (?) slow-downs were really annoying.

    SnoringFrog says ...
    Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:58am

    Absolutely loved this game! I played until I spent most of my time flying with my guns (their shots covered the entire screen if I centered myself at the top), 7-8 rockets at a time...it was awesome. Really glad you didn't cap the upgrades really low.

    mortus says ...
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 11:46am

    Sadly, I cannot download the file, error 404. I tried changing https to http but it didn't help.

    Fervir says ...
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 7:17pm

    Try this link
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/112171836/ExplosionTime.exe

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]