Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 18 days, 13 hours, 55 minutes, 9 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Narcoleptic Chicken Kid - Lianne Booton - Jam Entry

    WINDOWS ONLY BUT SHOULD RUN IN WINE!

    Hi there, so this is my second time doing Ludum Dare, this time by myself. I hope you enjoy my entry!

    Controls: up,down,left,right Z to think happy thoughts (when prompted)

    Edit 1: hopefully fixed the level skipping/wolf void death zone bug and password problem (the only way I can deal with bug fixing is by making a problem sound way more badass than it is).


    background:
    You play as a narcoleptic chick stuck in a coop full of very angry and hungry wolves that have killed your family. It's your job to escape, but be careful, as every 10 seconds you will fall asleep. Make sure you fall asleep in shadows, or you'll be eaten! Can you get to all of the coops and collect all of the corn successfully?


    Notes:
    This game features level passwords, shown in the title bar of each level. Enter them through the password screen to start from that level.

    Wolf nipple ring dedicated to George "Pixelbear" Baron who sadly couldn't be awesome with me on this LD

    Please comment if you find bugs. I lost a lot of work due to power outages and had to rush some things last minute.

    View Lianne Booton's journal. | View all entries by Lianne Booton

    Ratings

    Coolness79%
    #7Audio(Jam)4.20
    #8Overall(Jam)4.12
    #13Mood(Jam)4.12
    #15Fun(Jam)3.87
    #17Graphics(Jam)4.57
    #32Theme(Jam)3.80
    #36Innovation(Jam)3.80
    #42Humor(Jam)3.73

    Comments

    Roffe says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:58pm

    Intresting concept and lovely music :)

    MisfitBYTE says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:31am

    Bug: After playing a few levels, dying and hitting enter with the BBBB password to go back to the start..

    All that is present is the wolf, chicken, and chicken coup, which makes it impossible to reach because there is no shadows on the way.

    BradleySmith says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:32am

    Oh my lord, beautiful and cute artwork, rated very highly! Fantastic piece of work. :)

    Venturelli says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:38am

    Beautiful graphics!!!

    disease says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:38am

    Excellent music and graphics!

    kacperski1 says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:39am

    Really good, but I also had the bug that MisfitBYTE wrote about.

    ddionisio says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:40am

    Wow, great artwork and music! Solid presentation. Also good use of the theme. I purposefully let the chick die just to see what's up with that wolf. :P

    Yup, there's a bug when restarting, no safe place to sleep! I cried.

    mtrc says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:40am

    Brilliant! So packed with visual detail, and the concept was pretty funny. I really enjoyed playing it.

    jay griffin says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:41am

    This is definitely something special. Beautiful graphics and atmosphere, simple mechanics nicely executed, and all finished off with an impressive degree of polish. Loved it.

    Feysoura says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:43am

    Being a fan of poultry I am awarding this game 5/5 on every category.
    With that said, I got a bug not even 5 seconds into the game:

    "ERROR in
    action number 1
    of Other Event: Animation End
    for object ob_wolf1:

    Error in code at line 14:
    global.CornPercentage = global.CornGot/global.CornTotal*100
    ^
    at position 48: Division by 0."


    You may now check on your exploding-of-the-universe-due-to-game-maker-trying-to-divide-by-zero-saved-at-last-minute-by-awesome-poultry

    Fireblend says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:46am

    Really, really digging this one. The concept is really neat and the execution is brilliant, not to mention it's seriously polished. Really nice game!

    hbocao says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:48am

    This is so cool, so beautiful and calming... until I slept in the sun. Poor chickens. Loved it!

    Clurect says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:50am

    I loved the music. Really weird though, every time I died I got put in a world with no shade.

    mrcdk says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:50am

    Lovely game (and a bit gore-ish :D)
    The concept is nice, graphics are awesome and music is beautiful.

    There are a few bugs :(

    Lianne Booton says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:05am

    Thanks for the bug reports guys, checking them out now. Looks like Game MAker is playing a bit naughty with resetting ;)

    Lianne Booton says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:24am

    Ok, new version uploaded. Problem should be fixed, or at least most of the way fixed! :)

    SaintHeiser says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:37am

    Good work =)
    It's interesting game mechanics.
    Only audio is terrible for me, sorry =(

    tony.pe says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:39am

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE that there is different music that plays each time it launches/when you play again.

    This is absolutely gorgeous, the mood here is great. Well done.

    Teejay5 says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:40am

    Flawless music, and a brilliant concept! Love the art, too.

    oh and i don't love baby chicken death as much as it may seem

    link2x101 says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:08am

    Fantastic job!
    A solid game with a simple idea and wonderful execution.
    The only off-putting thing is the mix of older-style sounds with newer-style music.

    Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:17am

    It's.. it's beautiful...
    The dreams are really cute. There's carnage and death all around but the chicken sleeps sound...
    It's NOT OK to punch baby chicken to death though.

    Crowbeak says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:23am

    I love the graphics, but feel like the blood on the happy thoughts instructions was a unnecessary. I like the game a lot, but felt its hold on the theme is pretty tenuous.

    Crowbeak says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:24am

    Oh, and the music is lovely. <3

    deammer says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:03am

    Loved the death screen :D Tight concept and great execution!

    Lianne Booton says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:17am

    @link2x101 it was probably around the time I held the 4th broken body of a dead chicken in my tight fist that I realised it's actually really difficult to record realistic noises of a chicken having its skeleton punched through its body. Also expensive. Very very expensive.

    @Crowbeak luckily there's at least 300 games about the end of the world to satiate the blaring obvious unimaginative interpretation of Ludum Dare themes to play, for those users with a more discerning taste :)

    SteveSalmond says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:44am

    A. Awesome game name, B. Awesome music, C. Awesome art. D: Awesome awesomeness. I especially liked the artful juxtaposition of cherry blossom petals floating over a sea of blood and gore!

    SteveSalmond says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:45am

    PS: I found the wolf nipple ring highly disturbing!

    ratalaika says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:03am

    Nice concept! Great music :)

    MegaMasterX says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:58pm

    Cute graphics, interesting concept, and a great music/SFX setup makes for a very fun time. Loved it!

    killmonday says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:15pm

    Wow and awesome, really nice! Super sweet :(

    nico2111 says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:34pm

    Just beautiful.

    Travis Irby says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:36pm

    Great job! Love the unique concept and the art is hilarious and top-notch :)

    ramoncb says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:00am

    very impressive!
    well polished and with an interesting approach about the theme
    nice graphics, audio and presentation! congratulations!

    pereubu says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:18pm

    My screen is vomiting cuteness.
    I love the idea, the game have a really good pacing (even if death was painful because the game had to reload everything)

    PS : I love the art <3

    flyingbear says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:14pm

    I love the theming on this! Surprising amount of strategy to it, too. Awesome job!

    pighead10 says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:43pm

    Fantastic audio and graphics. The z to wake up was a little odd. You might want to consider turning the audio down, it is extremely loud compared to other appliations.

    psychomonster says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:59pm

    Nice Idea... but I'm dying all the time... have to stop kill all these cute little chickens :) Love the game art and the controlls. Enjoyed playing the game. Thanks for submitting :D

    psychomonster says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:00pm

    Nice Idea... but I'm dying all the time... I have to stop playing and killing all these cute little chickens :) Love the game art and the controlls. Enjoyed playing the game. Thanks for submitting :D

    rogueNoodle says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:47pm

    Really great entry - a little darker than I was expecting (though not sure what I was expecting looking back on the screenshots). The level of polish in such a short amount of time is pretty amazing :)

    Diogo Muller says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:57am

    So... sad... ;_;

    mochalematazi says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:16am

    Was a fun game, really enjoyed playing it. The music felt so sad, it really created a mood. The restart button was annoying slow. Also is it even possible to get all the corn in some levels, it just doesn't seem possible to get some and then get back in a shadow. Also ran into an error on the Wolf Wolf Wolf Wolf level, when 2 of the wolves would notice me, it would error and I'd have to abort the game. Also is that level even possible, there doesn't seem a way to get behind the bush or the haystack, and no exit, where do I go? Are you just trying to make a hopeless statement with that level?

    Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:39am

    Super well polished game, holy crap. Excellent design all around, with a touch of gruesome horrible imagery. Dang buddy, well done.

    Zathalos says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:41am

    Create mood and sweet art. There was a few bugs and I wish there was an immediate restart room button. Barring those two things, the game was great. Good job.

    Ravetcofx says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:07am

    A poop on a popcical stick, there is no Linux Version <:*(

    bitserum says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:59am

    Really awesome game. I liked every aspect of it and had fun playing it.

    panurge says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:32pm

    Great game. Superb art style and music. Poor chicken kid...

    GarethIW says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:07pm

    Exceedingly well polished, lovely art and all-round mood.

    wally2069 says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:48pm

    Not sure I like this interpretation of theme

    EdoMiyamoto says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:05pm

    Excellent as always !

    Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:11am

    Very very beautiful. Seconds used to measure distance, that's a good take on the theme!

    The graphics are *adorable*, they really shine.
    Music rocks as well.
    And the demon wolf is so scary.

    Kudos!

    codifeye says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:01am

    Nice job, great idea with the theme and lovely music/graphics. Well done!

    Erhune says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:23pm

    Interesting concept and very nice realization!

    GreyShock says ...
    Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:28am

    Very nice game!! Is there a way to pass the WWWW level? I get stuck in that one and I want to keep playing :D

    S0larCode says ...
    Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:25pm

    Is there anyway to get a hold of the soundtrack? I really like it :D

    bassarisse says ...
    Sep 9, 2013 @ 3:54am

    Amazing game, but... OMG, that poor chicken, I let it dieeee! =(

    Cosr says ...
    Sep 12, 2013 @ 2:53am

    Beautiful game, just wonderful all around. I especially love that wonderful contrast between the cute and the gruesome.

    Noticed a few bugs. If you press the arrow keys fast enough, you can do extra moves (and if one of those extra moves takes you into a wall, your used time will go down leaving you with an unused move when you shouldn't have one). Also, if you continue (password) on the wolf only level (which I assume is the last level, and if so I love the bleakness there), you get a divide by zero error when you inevitably lose (presumably because you've collected 0 out of 0 corn?).

    Also, I think the music/audio might be mixed a bit too loud. The audio kept clipping on certain songs (more so when other sounds were layered on top).

    Josh Riley says ...
    Sep 12, 2013 @ 4:29am

    Wow, this is absolutely gorgeous. Probably my favorite looking game so far. I thought the game was too easy at first, but it picks up a bit as you go along. It's really sad/funny when you're in the shadow a turn early. Nothing you can do but press the button and watch the inevitable blood bath.

    I like the music, too, but I can't decide if it fits or not. Not really a complaint, just an observation, I guess.

    Great job!

    jerombd says ...
    Sep 14, 2013 @ 2:06pm

    Pretty funny!

    Sep 14, 2013 @ 11:52pm

    This game is brilliant I really love the detail! 5/5

    Towanime says ...
    Sep 15, 2013 @ 4:46am

    Pretty fun and lovely graphics!

    withoutpillow says ...
    Sep 15, 2013 @ 2:47pm

    fantastic graphics, sound and concept, but it gets a little tedious having to restart the game over and over as this takes a while.

    5outh says ...
    Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:32pm

    I just now got around to playing this, but I love it! At first I wasn't sure how to not get murdered but quickly learned. It's an interesting strategy game wrapped in a nice art style / story, which is cool!

    xhunterko says ...
    Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:22pm

    Not a fan of the blood and gore. Music was fantastic. Very good on the mood. Well done!

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]