Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 31 days, 4 hours, 17 minutes, 41 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 66 days, 5 hours, 5 minutes, 41 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!) | October Challenge 2014!


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Ten Seconds of Thrust! - wulfdesign - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    For Ludum Dare 27
    Theme: 10 Seconds

    Game Idea
    you are on a space mining mission and discover there is a coronal mass ejection
    (Solar Flare) headed your way...

    your ship only has 10 seconds of main thruster fuel and the flare will be here in 60 seconds!

    fly the ship to safety inside the cave...
    the deeper the better (if you plan on having kids)...
    otherwise say hello to grizzly irradiated death!

    Controls: Thrust - left/right/up/down.

    Good Luck!

    P.S.
    unfortunately only had about 8hrs time make my first game so no ship/crew death... death from collision, or timer/fuel running out. but still playable.
    (you'll need to refresh to restart level)

    hope to add later after the Ludem Dare 24hr solo comp challenge.

    todo...
    add timer out, scene reset, fuel out, ground/cave collision damage, passenger pickup.. , sound, music, etc..

    also have better rocket graphics.. (Done)

    IDE: Stencyl
    Graphics: Inkscape

    View wulfdesign's journal. | View all entries by wulfdesign

    Ratings

    Coolness66%
    #681Graphics2.69
    #700Theme3.00
    #938Humor1.48
    #946Innovation2.40
    #955Audio1.35
    #956Fun2.40
    #986Mood2.06
    #1097Overall2.36

    Comments

    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:43am

    Yay for usable negative fuel. :-D

    wulfdesign says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:17am

    think the fuel gauge just must have been stuck...! ;)

    wulfdesign says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:18am

    hmmm... Stencyl site (and Arcade) seems to be down.. trying to get it to host from my dropbox account as well...

    wulfdesign says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:22am

    ok, must have been just an site update... working now.

    jay griffin says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:21am

    Cool, I always enjoy these thrust-style games.

    greysphere says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:22am

    Heh, the soft failure was actually pretty nice for my first time. Then replayed and did it 'legit'!

    kantieno says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:37pm

    Though you ran out of time and didn't get to add a lot of the stuff, I liked the concept and some of the bugs were entertaining!

    Sergey Mohov says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:54pm

    Oh man, I'm bad at this. Nice idea though :-)

    MegaMasterX says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:57pm

    Given the timeframe, not bad!

    ahm99 says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:00pm

    If I were you, I would quit game development and start working on a jet engine that works without fuel XD. Nice concept though. Next time you'll do better :)

    kristof says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:01pm

    Although a lot of the game is still missing, one can definitely see where this is going. Nice graphical stile. I especially like that you can see the thrusters burning ;)

    elementz123 says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:10am

    Nice game mechanic going on. I can see this becoming a great game!

    Unept says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:14am

    Fun. I got nervous when I realized I had 20 seconds left and I wasn't even close. Well don!

    Photon says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:05am

    Well, its a nice start. Good idea... just a bit of a skeleton, obviously. Not to mention the humorous bugs. The solar flare will be here in -15 seconds? Well, keep at it!

    Satyre says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:28am

    Nice concept. When fully polished, would definitely become a neat game.
    I missed some damage or an instant kill, when the rocket hits the ground and not in landing position.

    Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:16am

    Sad face, made it into the deepest part of the cave first try, with fuel and time to spare, alas no win condition.
    Great game, first spaceship I've controlled that handles like a glacier.

    Tipyx says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:19pm

    Negative fuel, ah ah ah ^^

    flarb says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:36pm

    Same title as mine, great minds think alike! :)

    tombsar says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:06pm

    Well done on achieving what you did; I look forward to seeing if you make it into a more complete game. I liked the art style, and the rocket physics.

    Kramin42 says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:03am

    I managed to do it legit, I think the difficulty should be about right when the timers run out and crashing is implemented. Funny that you chose the same name for your game as I did for mine!

    zillix says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:15am

    nicely done! I'd love to see it with more features. I was amused that I could navigate the whole thing using my reverse thrusters, which used no fuel!

    Jacob123 says ...
    Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:46am

    Would've been a nice game if both timers didn't go into the negative. We can always pretend though!

    Connors says ...
    Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:16am

    The pages seem to be down at the moment. I might try again later. ;)

    mamoniem says ...
    Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:02am

    Little hard to control. But i though i will get exploded when i hit the walls !

    vikingpotato says ...
    Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:13pm

    The game looked and played well.. Some more interesting levels would be nice

    manuq says ...
    Sep 11, 2013 @ 10:16pm

    In only 8 hours?! Nice!

    Crowbeak says ...
    Sep 12, 2013 @ 11:41am

    Not bad for a first time. Not bad at all. Keep it up.

    LpSamuelm says ...
    Sep 15, 2013 @ 5:04pm

    The time is going negative, my thrust is going negative, I can fly through some walls and nothing is happening. I think a few bugs might need fixing.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]