Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 1 day, 13 hours, 18 minutes, 35 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 1 day, 13 hours, 18 minutes, 36 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    10 Floors - goyal - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    In 10Floors, the player needs to reach the floor exit within 10 seconds. Collect as much as gold as possible on the way while avoiding bumping into those red abstract creatures. Those red creatures can throw you off the floor.

    Submit your score to the Online Leaderboard once you finish the game.

    W-A-S-D to move and SPACE for speeding.

    Made entirely in Unity3D (free version). I am also using iTween library for few small animations.

    THANKS for PLAYING!!!

    twitter: @goyalanshul

    View goyal's journal. | View all entries by goyal

    Ratings

    Coolness77%
    #286Audio3.00
    #444Mood2.86
    #476Fun3.00
    #479Theme3.26
    #495Graphics2.98
    #610Overall3.00
    #896Humor1.63
    #1000Innovation2.28

    Comments

    Hitonagashi says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:37pm

    Fun! I'm sure I clipped the red things too closely on occasion without dying, but it was interesting to try and decide whether to go for a coin or not..

    Canobie says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:38pm

    It looks beautiful, and the audio was catchy. I couldn't quite get the hang of it, but understand your pain of making sure it's not too easy or too hard. Overall, I aprove.

    Latcarf says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:40pm

    The Linux binary doesn't work, it seems that you forgot to include the data folder:

    Set current directory to /home/fractal/LD27/ld27
    Found path: /home/fractal/LD27/ld27/10floors.x86
    There is no data folder

    olafurw says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:41pm

    Great job man! The level design is great and the enemies made me panic like no other. A few critiques. You can't complete it without sprinting, so it was always on for me and I wonder why have it. And I wish I could slide along the sides. But otherwise good job!

    flyingbear says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:42pm

    The between-level transitions are really cool! I didn't feel like there was ever a reason to not hold down spacebar though, so perhaps you could've just had the player "always run"

    Tork says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:45am

    Exactly what I thought people might code but first I see!

    john_conder9 says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:46am

    Nice little game. At one point it glitched out on me (I got knocked off and died at the same time ish as I ran out of time, so the screen just sat there saying "YOU ARE DEAD" and I couldn't move when I respawned. I let the time run out again but it didn't change anything, still "YOU ARE DEAD" and unable to move. Besides that, and the slightly annoying wall movement (I want to SLIDDE) it was pretty good! Nice work:D

    shohs says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:46am

    Pretty good game! My only suggestion would be if you are moving diagonally into a wall, the player shouldn't completely stop (that got me a few times). Other than that, it looked nice, it played well, and the enemy were definitely a threat.

    Sergey Mohov says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:47am

    Had some good fun playing this one. A few comments: I felt like Score as an additional resource was superfluous, like you could make do with just time, adding and expanding it. Also, maybe you should try making it bigger and letting the player fall off the level. That could add some interesting gameplay possibilities.

    recursor says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:48am

    Simple concept but it was still pretty fun.

    goyal says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:27am

    @Latcarf: oops. updated the linux build. thanks for pointing it out!

    @john_conder9: Interesting glitch, looks like you encountered a race condition.


    Yes. I agree about always holding down the space bar. I guess I left it there in order to have the possibility to slow down around corners and when you are very close to enemies. But yeah, if removed it'll hardly make any difference.

    Thanks for playing, everyone!

    rylgh says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:09am

    Nice job!

    LittleThor says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:01am

    Classic gameplay but well built game and good level design. A "dash" button should me more interesting than a "run" one.

    Dir3kt says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:07pm

    Nice, very well done. Liked the art style.

    RadJor says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:52am

    I like the simple concept. It was pretty tough to beat even the early levels in 10 seconds. Also, I got hung up on corners a bit. Nice job though.

    BlackBulletIV says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:29am

    It was hard to tell when I going to run into those red things. It's a bit too hard overall I think. And many times when it restarted, it would glitch out, saying "you are dead" are not letting me move. The graphics and audio are nice though.

    bytegrove says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:33am

    Neat game, I like patterns on the floors. The collision felt a little weird though, sometimes I got stuck on the floor.

    I'm not sure how to rate this game as you've written that you didn't use your own sounds. I'll leave audio rating blank for now, please make it clear if you did create some of the sound assets.

    Supercannon says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:05am

    Seemed to get difficult very quickly. I was always either overwhelmed with the red things or I didn't make it in time avoiding them.

    Ossi says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:03am

    Very simple very fun. Love the espionage feel to it and the graphical style was pretty nice. I really had to speed run those levels to get to the end in time, so there was a pretty good challenge there. There is a slight issue with the way you get pushed off the edge by the red creatures, sometimes it doesn't push me all the way off and I have to wait out the timer to restart. Great job!

    nathanhoffer says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:57am

    Nice job. I enjoyed it :)

    frankbsad says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:01am

    I got stuck on walls but overall pretty good.

    PaperBlurt says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:05pm

    Simple but fully functional! Great job..

    Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:45am

    Simple game, love the look of it, solid entry! I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UVlJsYHr1MU

    rujo says ...
    Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:24am

    nice idea. maybe it needed a little more time for tweaking and improving graphics but I like it.

    grayhaze says ...
    Sep 14, 2013 @ 1:42pm

    Really good game with a real sense of urgency and claustrophobia. Well done!

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]