Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 31 days, 8 hours, 18 minutes, 25 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 66 days, 9 hours, 6 minutes, 25 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!) | October Challenge 2014!


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Jetpack Nemesis - Aaants - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Jetpack Nemesis! Avoid the souls and the Nemesis itself for as long as you can. Use the Arrows or WAD to run and jump. The down arrow or spacebar will activate your Jetpack - but use it sparingly, as it takes time to recharge!

    I hope you enjoy it!

    View Aaants's journal. | View all entries by Aaants

    Ratings

    Coolness86%
    #58Audio3.62
    #64Graphics4.02
    #87Mood3.57
    #96Overall3.67
    #144Fun3.50
    #226Theme3.52
    #587Innovation2.91
    #652Humor2.07

    Comments

    xhunterko says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:06am

    Great atmosphere! Nice touch on the monsters coming out of the monster. Still nice!

    zerebruin says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:50am

    Great visuals & fitting sound.
    I think the 10-second jetpack time is a bit too short, but of course it fits the theme... maybe jetpack-extending pickups? This way I can't help but to feel a little frustrated that I loose so quickly (although 238m is probably not bad).

    Hypnohustla says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:08am

    Smooth as ass :) I like it. Great take on the runner genre. The audio was a huge plus also.

    bonsairobo says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:08am

    I'm a sucker for the limbo art style. Cool game. Jump height was a little high for my taste.

    magicdweedoo says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:12am

    that was pretty fun, I got 880m and I liked that I could use the jetpack to get back up from under the level

    Andrewves says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:12am

    Hard to play at first but rewarding once you get going. The contrast from the blurred background really works well with the flat black foreground.

    lambomang says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:30am

    The jetpack felt a little too fast. Would've been good if it was a litle less powerful, or if the player moved faster. Just feels a little unbalanced.

    Grafter says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:33am

    Great fun to play, love the audio and graphics! Good all rounder!

    gamepopper says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:41pm

    I like the dark atmosphere, and the limited use of the jetpac. Although I didn't realise there was a jump button until later on in my playthrough, and the repeating level can get tiring at times.

    SamC says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:45pm

    Great, awesome visuals

    tony.pe says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:47pm

    This is wonderful, loved playing it. The whole space vibe combined with the alien planet theme made me think of Capsized. This is essentially the aesthetics of Capsized applied to an autorunner, and it's great! Well done.

    Split82 says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:50pm

    Very nice mood and music. The gameplay was cool too.

    Vico says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:50pm

    Wow! Very nice game! Congrats!

    SasoriDama says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:51pm

    The visuals are nice and I like how you jump AND use the jetpack. It makes it so it sort of like a helicopter platformer.

    elementz123 says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:20pm

    Awesome setting which makes it very immersive. It feels like the gravity is a little too fast, but very cool game overall!

    ModestArcade says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:28pm

    Once I figured out what was going on, it was really fun. It's got a really good, moody vibe.

    Tainted_Code says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:17pm

    Ran 924M xD I liked the graphics, and the 'nemesis' effect, it was great!

    Magdev says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:23pm

    This looks pretty cool aesthetically, but to be honest, the ten-second theme seems tacked on. The only thing relating to the ten seconds theme is that jetpack fuel is measured in seconds, which could just as much be renamed as "units" or "gallons" or something, plus the fuel refills automatically, which makes it even less ten-secondsy.

    That said though, it looks/sounds/feels nice.

    Aaants says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:27pm

    Thanks everyone!

    The theme was sort of bolted on (it didn't completely inspire me, to be honest) but it's not just the jetpack - you have a 10 second headstart on the nemesis, too

    Larzan says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:51pm

    Great grafix, very playable.

    Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:05pm

    Nice job with this. You did a good job establishing a dark mood with the presentation. The controls felt a bit finicky and sensitive at times but pretty fun overall and a cool idea.

    vikingpotato says ...
    Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:28am

    Played it for quite sometime! its a good game! i loved the art style

    ratalaika says ...
    Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:06pm

    Nice game, quite funny to play!!

    Taiters says ...
    Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:58pm

    This is awesome! Well done. Loved the music and the art style.

    Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:22am

    Nice style and fun to play.

    Sep 8, 2013 @ 5:12pm

    Looks, sounds and plays great! One of my favourites this LD!

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]