Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (VOTE NOW!)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 1 day, 4 hours, 58 minutes, 49 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Get Ready for LD!) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) ]


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    The Lodge - BleuLlama - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    The Lodge is a Twin Peaks-themed text adventure.

    You are in The Lodge. You do not want to be here. You have 10 seconds before you will die. The problem is that it will take you longer than 10 seconds to go through the right curtain-exits to leave...

    View BleuLlama's journal. | View all entries by BleuLlama

    Ratings

    #1906Coolness10%

    Comments

    BleuLlama says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:13am

    I had made this text engine for a previous LD project (MiniLD 42), but never was able to finish it. I had about 5 hours of time over the wekend to write this... most of that time was spent improving the engine. It's a LPC-MUD inspired engine that uses Lua instead of LPC, and is single player. I had fun, and I know it wont score well, but I don't care about that. Enjoy and have fun!

    Endurion says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:35am

    Aww, dang. A Windows version would be great.

    BleuLlama says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:16pm

    Windows version is on its way, and will be up later today. (Need to get my mingw environment sorted out)

    BleuLlama says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:46pm

    Windows version now available. Note that the text interface will have some functions not yet implemented (if you type 'help' it will list some things I didn't get to implement yet. Sorry about that.

    soerensen3 says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:58pm

    wow, i will try this on my pi tomorrow!

    HD408 says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:59pm

    Tried the Windows version, but couldn't go anywhere. Used the device, it worked (if the watch was right). But that game says there are no curtains when I want to look at them. Couldn't figure out what to do, but nice to see a text game in LD, check out mine.

    Endurion says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:23pm

    Thanks for the Windows version!

    I wonder how you're supposed to think of that particular move combo?
    Finished it!

    BleuLlama says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:03pm

    HD408 - the exits go in the cardinal directions.

    Endurion - understood. I didn't have time to add in the hints for the "code" for the "movement"... ;)

    koe415 says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:24am

    Cool submission. The game kinda freaked out when I entered just 'me' and 'move' with no destination. I guess my gripe with this game would be that it's too hard to figure out what I can and cannot do with the world. The majority of the combinations I tried turned over no results and so it turned into a guessing game. Then again I never play text adventures so ignore me if there are more understood rules at play here. Too bad because I wanted to explore this world.

    BleuLlama says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:52pm

    No. your concerns are valid. The "world" consists of two rooms. ;)

    Codexus says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:07pm

    The game wants way too specific input so it's annoying to have to try every possible synonym.

    Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:15pm

    It's really cool that you made the engine yourself. There's quite a bit of mood here, and I like the idea of the device, but unfortunately I have no idea how to complete the game. I figured out what the device does, but I don't know which way to go.

    Implementing more verbs might be a good idea for the future. Once more, I'm impressed by anyone who develops a homebrew text adventure engine.

    porglezomp says ...
    Sep 7, 2013 @ 10:47pm

    Awesome that you have a raspberry pi version! I'll be playing this on mine!

    schnerble says ...
    Sep 8, 2013 @ 3:06am

    I found this a bit confusing, and wasn't really sure what I was supposed to do... nice to see a text adventure here, though, and maybe with some more time it could turn out well with some more options of things to do, and maybe some more hints. I couldn't tell when I'd done something that worked or not :) Also I found a couple of bugs - e.g., try typing "me" or "use music".

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]