Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 7 days, 11 hours, 50 minutes, 1 second
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 7 days, 11 hours, 50 minutes, 2 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Flooded Dungeons - ripatti - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    FLOODED DUNGEONS
    Ripatti Software (c) 2013
    specially for LudumDare27
    48 hour compo

    Game folders: bin/ gfx/ sfx/
    Sources: core/ dungeon/ game_win/

    For play launch
    Windows: "bin/flooded.exe"
    Mac: "FloodedDungeons.app" or "FloodedDungeons.app/Contents/MacOS/flooded"
    Linux: for 32bit Linux "bin/flooded_x86", for 64bit Linux "bin/flooded_x64"

    Fixed versions were changed! See about it in changes section.
    There are only technical changes, no new features.


    REQUIREMENTS

    for Windows:
    OpenGL,
    OpenAL (the official site is down, but you can download it here: http://rghost.ru/private/48399546/25f8d17f10b7dd134e00e04b0b868e51),
    MSVS2008 Redist,
    any videocard with 3d support

    for Mac:
    MacOSX 10.6+
    any videocard with 3d support

    for Linux:
    OpenGL, OpenAL
    any videocard with 3d support


    HOW TO PLAY

    You are in dungeon.
    Your goal is go down as low as possible.

    You have only 10 seconds on every floor.
    After that the water flow floods
    the floor, so you should hasten.

    Use ARROWS to move, Z for slash,
    X to use potion, C to put bomb. // (A,S,D for fixed version)

    Collect gold. You can buy items in shop.

    Break boxes. Improve equipment.
    Use bombs to crush walls and monsters.

    Good luck and have fun!


    CONTROLS

    ARROWS, Z, X, C, (A, S, D for Fixed version) Space
    F1 for help on title screen
    ESC for quit


    CREDITS

    design, code, art, sound and music
    by Artem Ripatti


    CHANGELOG

    Aug 26 2013 - The first entry.
    Aug 30 2013 - Added Fixed versions for Windows and Mac.
    Changes:
    - new fps counter
    - showing fps in top of screen
    - Z/X/C -> A/S/D because of german keyboards
    Sep 08 2013 - Added Fixed version for Linux.

    View ripatti's journal. | View all entries by ripatti

    Ratings

    Coolness81%
    #10Fun4.05
    #12Overall4.11
    #22Theme4.06
    #25Graphics4.28
    #48Mood3.75
    #141Audio3.33
    #243Innovation3.44
    #295Humor2.74

    Comments

    mantis says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:24am

    Waiting for the Mac build, from the video, game seems brilliant. Great job!

    Drachlen says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:14am

    Wow. I'm really impressed with the polish you managed to achieve. The game looks beautiful, not just the tiles but the entire layout of the screen, I love it. The Idea itself is great, very fitting. The water flowing in is awesome, I love how it fills up. Overall I think you did a great job.

    Ludipe says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:19am

    Simple,challenging and with beautiful graphics. I like the concept of the fast rogue-like game.

    Well done!

    HippyJonYo says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:51pm

    This is really clever and fun. I love how you almost don't have time to think!

    rylgh says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:59pm

    Fantastic. Really well balanced, got to floor 32 on my 3rd try then accidentally bombed myself.

    Been playing Spelunky lately? Reminds me of it with the crates, spiderwebs, bombs, shops, and soft time limit. Not that that's a bad thing at all!

    Looking forward to the mac version so I can play on my main computer. If you do an updated build with some polish (main area I think could use some is enemy attacks, tough to know when they are able to hit you and isn't any feedback besides the floating numbers), all the better.

    Meep says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:46pm

    Very fun and aesthetically pleasing game. :) The graphics are beautiful, on top of a great idea. Felt like a top-down Spelunky. :D Great work!

    @TeddyNashor says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:47pm

    Wow, impressive game for a 48hr submission! good stuff! 5/5

    wally2069 says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:47pm

    Some the the level spawned impossible situations, one time spawned trapped in a corner where a bomb killed me, and a shop floor I couldnt reach the exit, otherwise nice game =)

    Tifu says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:51pm

    This is pretty cool, very hard, I like how you didn't just put in an instant death when the time runs out and you have a tiny chance to escape if you are close enough to the exit. The water flow looks really cool. I think if the game somehow highlighted where you are when you spawn, that would be a huge improvement, it can sometimes take a little bit of time to find the dude on the map, time I don't have! :P (Alternatively, if the spawn point was at the same point on the screen as the exit was on the previous map, this would also be good)

    TobiasW says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:15pm

    Woah, that's pretty cool! And pretty! It looks really polished - do you have a time machine or something similar? I really like the graphics and sound effects! The music is nice.

    It was fun running madly through the dungeon, slashing crates and for once totally ignoring monsters because THE WATER IS COMING I CAN ALREADY HEAR IT AAAH.

    At first I thought that you lose when you come in contact with water; that would've been a nice touch. You only lose when the whole level is flooded is fine too though.

    The shop - I was never sure what to buy. Did I already have some of the items? Is that even possible? I don't know; I guess I'd have to delve deeper into the game for that. (Sorry, couldn't resist the pun.)

    By the way, Z/X/C is a pretty awful scheme for us with german keyboards. I wish that never became so popular.

    Anyway - well done! Superb graphics and nice gameplay, there's not much more you could wish for in 48 hours.

    ripatti says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:02pm

    2rylgh: I didn't play Spelunky, but I seen some walkthroughs on YouTube. And yes, my game is similar to Spelunky but I understood it when half of the game was already done. After that I tried to make some things not similar to Spelunky, but anyway the game reminds it. May be it means that I implessed be Spelunky and should try it by myself...

    2wally2069: On early levels (befor 15th) you always can reach the exit without using bomb. Also you always can reach the exit on the shop levels. And you never can be trapped becaise blocking wall is generated on some distance from your start position. May be you don't know that you can break crates just hitting them?

    2Tifu Good idea. I think in update I'll add some bright arrows to show the start and the exit in the beginning of every level.

    2TobiasW I just didn't sleep about twenty-four hours to have time to make all that I planned. In the shop you can buy potions and bombs (you can see amount of them you have in the rigth part of screen) and equipment (increases attack and defence; you can see your equipment on main hero). And sorry about Z/X/C, I forgot about germans =_= I'll add into update switching the controls.

    Mclogenog says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:05pm

    The amount of content here is really impressive. I was going to suggest easier and faster combat (more like zelda) but then I started running into shops and started leveling up. It's a pretty clever game!

    goyal says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:24am

    Awesome. Love the audio. Hope the Mac build is available soon.

    KevinZuhn says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:47am

    The flooding sent me into panic mode! Thankfully a few playthroughs got me into the game's rhythm, and I finally started collecting gold, fighting enemies, and buying items. I'm surprised at the amount of detours I can take in that ten seconds.

    Vaughn says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:57am

    Probably one of the most polished and fun games I've played so far. Great design work and gameplay here. Very impressive depth too!

    designatius says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:02am

    Awesome game. Our entry 'Dungeon Escape' is about the same issue more or less. :) Graphics are impressive, as well as music and game design. Brilliant work!

    KhaoTom says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:04am

    Risk vs Reward balancing is top-notch. Super stressful game. I kinda wish that I could actually gain time on the next level for leaving the previous early, but that would probably unbalance the game way too much. Visual and audio are perfect. Really well done.

    Darien says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:06am

    Really fun stuff here. I love how the water gradually floods in when you run out of time, instead of just being an instant-lose. It would be nice maybe if you don't automatically take the stairs whenever you step on them, since sometimes there's money on the other side. :-)

    igleyy says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:12am

    Any ideas what is wrong? http://pastebin.com/De9RrwSj

    ripatti says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:48am

    2igleyy: Looks like you didn't have installed OpenAL.
    The official site is down, so I uploaded installer on RGHost for you: http://rghost.ru/private/48399546/25f8d17f10b7dd134e00e04b0b868e51

    paradoxa says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:29am

    Great :DDD

    Katamori says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:44pm

    Does it have an end? Magnificent game by the way!

    psychomonster says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:15pm

    really it is a great job. I love it so much...

    rezoner says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:37pm

    CUTE!

    Neil says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:41pm

    I loved this! It is a innovative idea and feels very polished! My favourite game so far...

    I would have loved a little pause before the level begins to plan my approach and sometimes the keys does not feel very responsive, but I will definitely play this again!

    paulmcgg says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:57pm

    I love that the 10 seconds is until instantly drowning but until the flooding starts. Really well polished game, well done.

    Venturelli says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:43pm

    Dungeon-crawling never gets old :D

    SiENcE says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:17am

    Nice game, but never use 'Z' in your games! Only on english keyboard this keys are together in one row.

    Zerkruemler says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:36pm

    Really cool game. First I had some trouble, but once I understood the mechanics it is quite entertaining... and also frustrating when I die with all the progress made so far.
    Very nice graphics and sound! I had also trouble with the controls with my german keyboard, but it is playable quite well with this layout.

    ripatti says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:53pm

    Hey, people with german keyboards! Try the fixed version!

    scriptorum says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:02pm

    Nice work. Really enjoyable roguelike. I'd like it more if there were audio cues when certain events happen: specifically low health and bomb can't be used here. Well done and a good application of the theme.

    MinionStudios says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:44pm

    I love It! Not sure why the level above you floods. Also not sure why the shopkeepers have to die. LOL!

    Dir3kt says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:47pm

    Great entry! Was a lot of fun to play.

    Little remark (not rating related): When packing the game in an archive, please put all folders/file in a main folder. Makes it much easier to unzip (we just have to drag the folder to desktop).

    withoutpillow says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:36pm

    great work, very polished, and there's some very clever game design here; for example, i love it that when time runs out you just don't die, instead you can see the water coming after you as you run for the exit.

    the music, graphic style and level design is also very good.

    panurge says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:44pm

    A very cool little game, an RPG pared down to it's bare essentials. Lovely effective pixel art and sounds. Great fun.

    neekobus says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:38pm

    Very nice pixel arts !
    Sometimes, controls seems to be less responsive (turn while go up).

    Diogo Muller says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:46pm

    Really nice idea, execution, graphics, music... Flawless game. :)

    Erhune says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:12pm

    Very fun and I keep wanting to go back to it after playing!

    timtipgames says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:16pm

    It's amazing how polished this is and how many features you got in there in just 48hours. Great job!

    MuciojadPL says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:12pm

    Very interesting concept and solid execute! But some of levels are very difficult for me :D

    Sink says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:39pm

    This game was very cool! I see a future for it if you feel like elaborating on the idea. The GUI was a bit cluttered but despite that a great experience.

    Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:01am

    Surprisingly fun. Love the pixel art style. Feels like an old DOS game for some reason, in a good nostalgic way I mean. Enjoyed the shops and the levelling up.

    gritfish says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:37am

    couldn't run - openAL32.dll missing...

    PixlWalkr says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:54am

    Very solid entry. great gameplay and graphics.

    Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:11am

    Fun game!

    ripatti says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:49am

    2gritfish You need install OpenAL. You can find link to install package in requirements section.

    manofdoom says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:30am

    Really fun, and the flooding mechanic is super intense when it catches up to you. The music is pretty funky and I'm impressed at how good the dungeons design and artwork are too.
    Great stuff.

    Jellycakes says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:35pm

    Really nicely done. Looks well polished, it's addictive to play and the concept is great. Really well done, although the difficulty curve could use maybe some work since I got insta slap'd by a snake. Good job anyway though.

    DreamTeam says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:37pm

    AWESOME! Really well done for the time frame, but honestly... it's just really well done even without the compo time limit. Wonderful spriting and you packed a really entertaining experience into this relatively simple mechanic. Very polished and a great, innovative approach to the theme. Congrats!

    deepnight says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:51pm

    Very cool roguelike with a nice theme connection! The randomness of the levels felt a little bit frustrating though. I would have greatly preferred level designed floors with more interesting puzzles & situations.

    Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:03pm

    Great entry! Reminds me of Desktop Dungeons, only more fast-paced :)
    Excellent replayability, great graphics!

    Only complain: maybe you should have the character blink when entering a level, so that you don't have to look for him and waste precious time just to know where you are.

    rylgh says ...
    Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:00am

    Thanks for the mac version! My best run so far, level 91: http://i.imgur.com/7pkQhKE.png
    Killed myself with a bomb when a monster blocked my path.

    Thoughts:
    - agree with everyone else that i hate wasting 1-2 seconds each level trying to find where my character is
    - i don't like how you have to be standing still to drink a potion or place a bomb, i think it should work while you're moving too
    - can we hide the FPS display?
    - still think combat could use more feedback, maybe just have you/enemies flash red when you get hit, that would help a lot, i'd say

    rylgh says ...
    Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:31am

    - and bombs are a bit too hard to see on the ground

    shard123 says ...
    Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:34pm

    Simply amazing! Extremely well polished and addicting! You really have a great entry here!

    ripatti says ...
    Sep 8, 2013 @ 12:38am

    2rylgh wow, looks like you spent a lot of time to get 91th floor!

    2all: thanks for found faults! unfortunately now i have no spare time to fix it. but i think i'll make more improved big version of this game in near future...

    rylgh says ...
    Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:00pm

    Cool, will definitely play some more whenever you get around to updating it. I think I've mastered the current version... http://i.imgur.com/FTOt3Sq.png

    - i think spiders are invisible if they are on the same square as a snake corpse (maybe happens with other enemies too)
    - obviously you didn't have time to balance late-game difficulty during the jam, but after awhile it stops getting any harder, money is no longer worth picking up, and there are enough potions and bombs that you'll never run out
    - you could make items break after awhile so you need to purchase more
    - it'd be cool if you took another page from spelunky's book and made it so you could bomb shopkeepers to kill them (and steal their items), but from then on, shopkeepers are strong enemies

    ripatti says ...
    Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:07pm

    2rylgh Incredible! But you are right, on last floors the game becomes easier. After about 50th level the game generates floors with same parameters whereas you still get level up's and increase ATK and HP.

    I think I'll make small fixes (bugfixes, more smooth controls and may be a bit polished balance) in the current version when I'll have enough of spare time.

    But for new features I want fully rewrite the game (of course, main gameplay will be same). I have many ideas what to add into game. For example, different types of background, branched system of dungeons and Hell levels after 100th floor with boss that you should kill during several floors. But before that I want to see result of the contest)

    foumart says ...
    Sep 9, 2013 @ 9:54am

    This game is truly awesome. I suggest to keep the same character position(xy) in the transition to next dungeon, otherwise its too confusing to spawn you in the "third" corner. Also on level complete scrn why not enable use of potions?

    rylgh says ...
    Sep 9, 2013 @ 4:12pm

    Well, no matter the results, this is my favorite game of LD27 for sure.

    @foumart: keeping the same position while starting the next level is a good idea. Makes more sense thematically too.

    Nezzhil says ...
    Sep 16, 2013 @ 3:28pm

    Very solid game, really impressive! Cool graphics and theme ;)
    But I think that in a puzzle game like that could be better if the levels where fixed and not randomized.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]