Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (VOTE NOW!)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 1 day, 1 hour, 1 minute, 26 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Get Ready for LD!) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) ]


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Omnidirectional Chaos - Martze - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Omnidirectional Chaos is a game about survival.

    You can move with WASD and arrow keys, and jump with W, Up, J or X. Givin' ya lots of options here.

    CHANGELOG:

    Now that the judging is over, I have taken down the Competition version of the game, leaving only the latest and greatest version.

    Jam Version 1.2:
    Uploaded simultaneously with Compo Version 1.2.
    Fixes jumping bug introduced in Compo Version 1.1.

    Compo Version 1.2:
    Uploaded a few hours after deadline, under the "last minute changes" rule.
    Fixed jumping bug introduced in Compo Version 1.1. Also pulled in some of the title screen changes from Jam Version 1.1.

    Jam Version 1.1:
    Uploaded a few hours later.
    Branched from Compo Version 1.1. Added music, improved title screen. Retains jumping bug from 1.1.

    Compo Version 1.1:
    Uploaded about an hour after deadline, containing more control options, under the "last minute changes" rule. Introduced bug where holding down the jump button would make you jump again immediately upon landing.

    Compo Version 1.0:
    Initial release. Uploaded before compo deadline.

    ---

    The only difference between the Compo version and the Jam version is that the Jam version has music (and an option to turn it off.) Play either version you like, and then rate based on the Jam version, which has no music.

    If your computer runs Windows: The Flash release and the Windows release of the game are mostly the same, with a few minor differences. The Windows version will likely have better performance. Also, there's an annoying graphical bug in the Flash version where the player character oscillates up and down when standing on certain platforms; this is harmless, but it may break your concentration if you are not expecting it. I can't figure out why the bug is occurring. I'll try to track it down and fix it in a future version of the game.

    View Martze's journal. | View all entries by Martze

    Ratings

    #45Theme3.95
    #101Humor3.39
    #174Overall3.51
    #192Fun3.41
    #325Innovation3.30
    #518Audio2.62
    #522Mood2.77
    #626Graphics2.77
    #1156Coolness48%

    Comments

    Zuige says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:26am

    Brilliant little game! There's just absolutely no way to finish it without playing it less than a 100 times. I dare you to try!

    wolfadex says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:33am

    Absolutely amazing!

    Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:59am

    Ha, this is great. And punishing. And fun!

    KHANanaphone says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:10am

    i done did it

    DanHayesGamer says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:11am

    5/5 for Fun. Reminds me of inching through levels of super meat boy...

    ix says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:44am

    Well, after as much twitching as I can manager, 2.32 is my best. I want a Rktcr-like mode...

    Snail_Man says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:28am

    Really fun little game. It's really a memory game more than anything.
    Very fun!

    borden says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:28am

    Man, this is brutal! Should be called worker's comp: the game.

    Good use of the theme, and really nice sounds!

    Ghandhi says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:32am

    I give up... That is a good game. Pretty hard even for experienced players.

    Feysoura says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:33am

    Spectacular.

    Ghandhi says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:33am

    I give up... That is a good game. Pretty hard even for experienced players. I felt like playing old uncle Mario. Everything was in harmony. Very polished!

    fferro234 says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:49am

    Wow, I give up. It definitely helps to play it in twice the size mode, but it is still way to hard for me to get through.

    Rave Radbury says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:57pm

    It's like the first half of Quickman's stage and Kaizo Mario World had a child and failed to raise it properly so it became vicious and cruel (even by their standards.) Great job!

    codifeye says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:59am

    Man that's tough, great game though!

    qrunchmonkey says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:13am

    Well, I played this 50(!) times. Holy **** is this thing unforgiving. And awesome. And unforgiving.

    After 50 tries, my best time was 1.4 seconds. I just couldn't figure out how to beat the 4th obstacle (beam from the top of the block) 20+ times I either jumped too high and hit it, or too low/slow and got hit by the spikes mid-jump.

    aschearer says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:38pm

    IMO gameplay relies too much on memorization. Nevertheless the game is well put together. Really like the sound for example. I could see this being expanded on to include a series of levels with increasing difficulty, multiple solutions per a level, and maybe an in-game help system.

    mrcdk says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:57pm

    Ok, I'm done :_ 60 tries and only 1.70s :_ Good game :_

    angrygeometry says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:59pm

    this is so cruel. i think i got 1.62 after 80 tries. i like how quick it is to get back up and going. fun game.

    alvivar says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:59am

    hardcore + fun.

    L says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:44am

    Possible bug - you can skip the first 1.8 seconds of chaos with one timed jump: http://i.imgur.com/aoPYrJQ.gif

    Capro says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:22am

    Brutally awesome! :)

    fgielow says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:06pm

    damn, that kind of impossible game can me pretty adicting sometimes! nice title, really hard though

    lettuce says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:14am

    AAHHHH this game is amazing and I played it for far too long and now I can start it up and beat it without dying. I feel pretty great, thanks!

    http://i5.minus.com/i9CJhfmlqgHZT.png

    HD408 says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:12pm

    Pure hardcore, like I Wanna Be The Guy, but without shooting and other insanity. Took like a hundred of tries to beat. Nice!

    After beating the Compo version, I've found a music file in the game's subdirectory, and thought - "But it doesn't play in the game?..". Listened to it like it's a reward for beating the game, heh.

    The Jam version seems to be different just for the music. After you've learned the way to evade everything, that's only a single try to beat it all. Nice music (sounds too), suits the gameplay.

    By the way, game window scaling goes wrong on widescreen resolutions like 1366x768 - couldn't read the lowest text in the intro screen without a resolution change. Encountered no other bugs.

    Martze says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:19am

    The Windows version is hardlocked at 1280x960 because I didn't have the time to change it. The Flash version should automatically pick the right scaling factor for the window it's in. I'll add "more screen size options" to my to-do list for the post-compo version.

    BNeutral says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:15am

    Took me 160 tries but I won!

    Zerkruemler says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:33pm

    This is a really good idea. So punishing, but motivating at the same time! I got to 2.3 seconds, but probably only by the bug meintioned by L

    kristof says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:15pm

    Haha, great! Would have liked an immediate restart after each death though.

    manuq says ...
    Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:29am

    HAHA! How annoying :)

    xhunterko says ...
    Sep 11, 2013 @ 3:14am

    Could not figure out how to start the game and just hit space to see if it would work. Then everything began to happen much, much, much too quickly and not too much fun.

    vikingpotato says ...
    Sep 12, 2013 @ 5:44am

    14th try, am still awful :P but some people love such games..

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]