Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 80 days, 7 hours, 31 minutes, 7 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon)


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Emily Escape! - avaki - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    This is a Rougelike (randomly generated rooms) Shooter!

    Kill off all the enemies in the room under 10 seconds to keep the door from closing and progress to the next room.

    You are Emily, a Japanese school girl (ofcourse)!
    Angry at the Evil Forces that Captured you,
    You take your shotgun in your hands,
    start the music and and get ready to blast em' away!

    How many rooms can you clear??!
    GET READY TO BLAST EM!!

    Known bugs -------------------------------
    Sometimes Emily stops moving.
    If you get stuck in a wall, walk backwards first.

    View avaki's journal. | View all entries by avaki

    Ratings

    Graphics4.87
    Coolness68%
    #4Audio4.41
    #23Overall4.00
    #24Mood3.95
    #82Fun3.63
    #145Theme3.67
    #226Humor2.94
    #633Innovation2.85

    Comments

    ethankennerly says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:12am

    The animations and audio gripped me! If you continue to develop this have you considered adding enemies that move in a pattern, like old school Legend of Zelda, and clarifying where the collision is for bullets and boxes?

    Ghandhi says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:42am

    Shaders~! They've completed mood with graphics.

    JQCoding says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:43am

    Graphics are amazing and smooth gameplay. Didn't like the pause on shoot though.

    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:43am

    Very very good with the audio, graphics, and animations!

    GrimGary says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:47am

    Sweet! A little gem of a game here! More of this! The only downside was the feeling of loss of control when Emily Fires. The feeling of helplessness especially in crowded rooms is crushing ;)

    Sakuyan says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:50am

    So cute >w<!

    jay griffin says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:52am

    Wow, this looks and sounds fantastic. Simple mechanics but very nicely executed.

    Jayjay says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:52am

    Wow, this is an amazing game, great job! =D

    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:53am

    You've got some great visuals and some very nice music. Unfortunately the gameplay felt really repetitive to me. The EXTREMELY long shooting animation seemed to mean that even if I shot at the same time as a guard, I couldn't move out of the way of the bullet to dodge it. Whether or not I got hit seemed due completely to luck.

    The art of the game is really good though!

    avaki says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:56am

    @TheSambassador. The Shotgun has that slow reloading animation. I was thinking of adding a handgun which let you run and shoot, and a grenade too. And ofcourse more enemies and obstacles.. but was running short on time :)

    fferro234 says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:58am

    Great art. At first I was confused why the second room was so much harder than the 3rd and 4th and then I remembered that it was a rouge like and had randomly generated rooms. Cool game, sometimes the timer would freeze on nine though.

    Kortuga says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:58am

    Really good game, although if I had one complaint I would say that it's paced rather slowly given the aesthetic.

    bonsairobo says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:58am

    The aesthetics are really something. Very polished. I can see why people wouldn't like the pause on shoot, but I think it adds to the tactical difficulty of the game. Do you mind if I ask what software was used to make this (not sure what geam.cap is)?

    avaki says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:00am

    @bonsairobo It was made in Construct Classic. (not the newer C2)

    Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:04am

    The sound and graphics are beautiful. I'm amazed at how you created this in 48 hours. The animations are nice and the gameplay is pretty fun as well. Fantastic job.

    leafo says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:08am

    wow this game is awesome, you're really talented

    SteveSalmond says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:17am

    Gorgeous! Wish I could rate it 6 for graphics!

    josefnpat says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:09am

    Very nice job! Fantastic music and fab pixel art. On top of that, you use some nifty shaders.

    Some more sound effects, and a little stronger movement control might have made this a better game.

    Great job!

    tobbez says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:53pm

    Really nice overall. There were a few issues though - it seemed like the controls stopped working after a while, and getting stuck while moving close to the boxes. Would also have been nice to be able to see which room you reached on the Game Over screen.

    Other than that, the game felt really polished.

    skolskoly says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:37pm

    This looks awesome! Sadly I can't play it very well on my computer. Do think you could release a build where you can disable special effects? You know, if you have time :p

    Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:00am

    Hah, you did well on this one! Congratulations, and thank's for this entry!)

    Diogo Muller says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:15pm

    Nice! Pretty fun and addicting game, the graphics and effects are really nice.

    Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:38pm

    First of all, the presentation is FANTASTIC. Secondly it is pretty god damn fun. My only gripe is its easy to get stuck in things when moving around. A bit of tightening up on the controls and this game would be spot on.

    lightsoda says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:17pm

    Love the graphics, especially how nonchalant she looks while this is all going on.

    blackotus says ...
    Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:44am

    Amazing graphics and presentation!

    Two minor problems I had: I seemingly got stuck for no reason two times, and once there were too many boxes in a room, blocking my exit.

    Amazing entry!!! :)

    mamoniem says ...
    Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:15am

    Nice game, art, music choice but bad collisions :P

    Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:13pm

    Really fun game! I got stuck in a box and its a tiny laggy (Just for me :P) and not the mention the sound and graphics is awesome! Overall a great game! Dunno how it fit the theme though.

    brgarnet17 says ...
    Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:31pm

    The whole thing is so well put together, from the music to the graphics. My favorite thing has to be the recording screen being so realistic in a unrealistic, pixelated world. Good job!

    LegacyCrono says ...
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 11:42pm

    Sorry, my keyboard has no Right Ctrl =(

    mortus says ...
    Sep 18, 2013 @ 5:46am

    I don't want to sound like an asshole but come on! 4th place in Audio for a game with sounds taken from Doom 2? In Compo category? Seriously?

    Anyway, cool game and a pretty one.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]