Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo Begins: in 9 days, 8 hours, 11 minutes, 52 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam Begins: in 9 days, 8 hours, 11 minutes, 53 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Logic Bomb - entrusC - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Do you have what it needs to disable logic bombs within 10 seconds?

    Note: All levels are randomly generated! Only the difficulty increases over time.

    === POST MORTEM VERSION for Windows/OSX/Linux/Android/Web ===
    http://logicbomb.lastdigitofpi.com

    View entrusC's journal. | View all entries by entrusC

    Ratings

    Coolness55%
    #70Innovation3.85
    #233Theme3.51
    #459Overall3.15
    #489Mood2.81
    #580Fun2.90
    #589Graphics2.82
    #785Audio2.08
    #837Humor1.77

    Comments

    Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:52am

    Nice idea!

    Taffaz says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:41pm

    Enjoyed it and I'm glad I'm not in the bomb disposal business because I couldn't handle that sort of pressure.

    sxaktosxafo says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:44pm

    Really nice! But it is possible to win just by cutting everything.
    Chips' led going on and off are awesome!

    coeoliver says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:56pm

    love it !!!!!!

    Joxno says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:44pm

    This is really cool although trying to remember and solve all of the logic in under 10 seconds is a pain, but incredibly fun!

    mollymus says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:55am

    Kept getting "OR-chips" at the end every round, just cut the input to those and kept passing the levels:/ With some more level variation I think it could be a pretty cool game, maybe for touchscreens?:)

    alts says ...
    Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:10am

    I really enjoyed this. I haven't seen logic circuits "gamified" before, and this really nails it. I made it about 12 bombs in before I messed up on a NOT gate. Very well done. The only problems I had were with regards to precision of cutting. I wasn't sure how to best input those actions. Great work.

    Colapsydo says ...
    Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:27am

    I liked the idea of the logic puzzle and you did a good job on cables animation.
    Until Level 10 I just had to cut all the cable between the two rows of logic connectors. It could have been interesting to replay the last level where one dies, instead of starting again at 0.

    Kotstulle says ...
    Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:06am

    I think it was pretty hard to understand :D when I played it first I didnt know what to do :D After some tries the game really drew me in :D Very good use of the theme! Please keep working on it! I think with some variation in level design it has a lot of potential! In addition, this will work fine on tablets and smartphones ;) well done

    foumart says ...
    Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:06pm

    This is nicely done. Good Job. The game only needs some predefined levels to properly put the player in place. And a Select Level option of course.

    Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:01pm

    That is awesome! Lovely concept!

    MrBlade says ...
    Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:14pm

    Very nice work! I defused about five bombs before giving up. I loved your take on the theme. The visuals were pretty nice, and I am glad you added sound. AND X0R etc was a bit confusing, but a sort of get it. Keep it up!

    someone says ...
    Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:23pm

    Nice idea, the levels were far too easy though.

    jsmars says ...
    Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:11pm

    Really nice idea! Can't believe I haven't played a game like this before. I think done right this could be a real hit, if there is a proper challange and decent learning curve.
    Some problems tho. I didn't quite get the logic at first, so I just randomly pressed cables and turns out I beat 13 levels in a row just spamming the cables along the center line and didnt loose once and eventually got bored. Also the beep sound was quite annoying.

    darkshadow says ...
    Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:31pm

    Love the tangle of wires. Quite a mix of challenges from very simple (ands and ors where just cut everything) to very hard (nots and xors where you need to be more careful) Really fun and good use of logic circuits :)

    Did somehow manage to get a glitch where I cut the right wires at the last second and managed to win as well set the bomb off!?

    Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:54pm

    Sounded a bit tricky, until I just found out that I could cut the wires in the middle of both rows of gates...

    Zerkruemler says ...
    Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:36am

    The idea is brilliant, but I had no real fun, since it is possible to cut all wires and solve at least 10 levels without thinking before you suddenly die and have to start over again due to an error. The 10 seconds is too short to really thnik about the correct solution.
    The challange and reward cycle of the game is not working properly.
    You could limit the ammount of cuts, reduce complexity and do the 10 second limit for a part (one vertical gap between elements), give better feedback what is correct and what wrong, make more puzzles which punish cutting the 'wrong' wire and please don't let the player start at level one when failed.
    Very nice work keep on improving it!

    klianc09 says ...
    Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:43am

    I really like the idea, but there are some things that should be improved (maybe you already have in you post-compo version, but I have no Android tablet to test it....).
    It would be nice if the actual logical gateway-function was written on the chips "AND", "OR", "NOT" and "XOR" is much easier to understand than some made up symbols by you (maybe you could make it optional to display the correct text on the chips). The levels need much more NOT and XOR gates as they actually give the levels some difficulty instead of "cut all the wires". The batteries that don't provide power are unnecessary, except that they add to the mess of wires (maybe that's the intention, but I don't like it). I know 10 seconds was the theme, but it would be much better if the time available would scale with the complexity of the level. And finally, give the player some lives, or unlimited retries on a level, as I think at the moment it can be too punishing having to restart and doing all the easy levels over again.
    Having said that, I really would like to play an improved version of this (one not for android). So overall, really good job :D

    Katamori says ...
    Sep 6, 2013 @ 1:50pm

    Amazing concept, but it dies when you realize that you can cut all wires in the middle, absolutely isolating the C4 from the source.

    schnerble says ...
    Sep 7, 2013 @ 10:47pm

    Nice idea :) As others mentioned, though, you quickly find an easy-win tactic (just disconnect the last row before the C4) - and after that I was slowed down more by the performance with large numbers of wires than anything. Very original, though, so good work!

    Antidote says ...
    Sep 9, 2013 @ 8:10pm

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gpoP0JDjhAg - My first impressions on your game.

    Komradus says ...
    Sep 13, 2013 @ 8:48am

    Really cool idea, I figure people that play a lot of minecraft will have no trouble with this :P

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]