Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 – 9 PM EST — Theme: ??? (VOTE NOW!)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 1 hour, 23 minutes, 58 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    Join us on Twitter and IRC (#ludumdare on afternet.org) for the Theme Announcement!

    FYI: This website becomes unusable for +/- 20 minutes at Theme Announcement time, because you’re awesome :D


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    xhon - savethejets1 - Jam Entry

    Xhon is a 10 second platformer where you play as an alien plant species that has to pollinate other plants with your spores that you spawn. The catch is they only live for 10 seconds!

    Controls:
    Arrow Keys - Move
    Space - Jump
    Y - Suicide
    ESC - Pause

    View savethejets1's journal. | View all entries by savethejets1

    Ratings

    Coolness71%
    #46Theme(Jam)3.73
    #51Overall(Jam)3.77
    #71Fun(Jam)3.54
    #77Mood(Jam)3.57
    #103Innovation(Jam)3.46
    #135Graphics(Jam)3.84
    #164Audio(Jam)3.21
    #276Humor(Jam)2.46

    Comments

    tchem says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:44am

    awesome man,,, the graphics are fantastics,, the atmosphere is very cool!! great job

    EvilObjective says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:28am

    Excellent game! The graphics and sound are amazing and the atmosphere is fantastic. Very good job.

    pfaulty says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:32am

    Great game. I loved the use of gravity and the different power ups that switched up the game play. Also that time my character got to be blue. I like blue.

    Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:08am

    This is the best game here. 5 out of 5 stars

    Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:30am

    Solid platformer!

    ddionisio says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:56am

    Really cool game, interesting use of checkpoints as part of the game mechanic. Graphics is great as well, solid game overall!

    Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:20am

    Whoooaaa really great game, the level design is simply amazing!
    Good implementation of the theme too! I think you should try to expand it and refine the handling after the jam and go for a Greenlight entry! Definitely worth a handful of bucks :D

    Thanks, I had a great time playing it through :)

    7heSAMA says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:19am

    I wasn't impressed at first, then the gravity flipped and things got interesting...

    however it's not enough to save it, there were a few problems
    -on the first level with the water, how the pod ejects you much more forcefully to boost you up doesn't make sense, and is frankly quite unintuitive and frustrating
    -the sound is pretty grating and repetitive
    -personally I didn't like the art, but I guess that's just me
    -there was some significant lag (granted, my PC is very old), and I personally felt that your player character moved far too slowly

    still, it was fairly engaging, so nice job

    The Evil Cult says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:53pm

    Cute little game. Felt compelled to press through to the end and was happy I did. Love the introduction of new mechanics through the levels. Very atmospheric.

    Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:13am

    Nice to see another cocos2d-html game :0) Great job on the art. A solid game. Well done!

    KevinZuhn says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:10am

    I thought it was clever how the plants were both a checkpoint and a property-shifting mechanic. I feel like the collision and falling speed both needed work, as they unjustly stalled me at times, but the level designs were interesting and had some good tricks. I wish I had seen more of those enemies, they were neat.

    Angrycrow says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:29am

    I'm quite impressed! Good take on the theme! Please rate my game! http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=5288

    panurge says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:40am

    This is a definite favourite. An effective lack of hand-holding, together with great visuals and music, make the world seem nicely alien. The level design is excellent. I really enjoyed playing.

    bytegrove says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:06am

    Interesting little game. You took a simple concept of checkpoints and made it interesting. Nice element swapping as well. The platforming felt a bit off though. The jumping was pretty unresponsive and parts of the levels felt kinda cramped. I digged most tunes but one of them was a little monotonous(the second or third tune I think).
    Impressive amount of levels, really nice!
    Solid entry all in all!

    wallmasterr says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:13pm

    nice little game, glad ur working on an OUYA build too :D cant wait to see it in sandbox, they shoudln hvae a ludum section around this contest time to encourage OUYA development

    MinionStudios says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:03pm

    Overall, well-polished and great design.

    wintermute says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:12pm

    Very solid levels, and overall, good game. But performances on my PC were not great even with the scaled down version - why is cocos2d-html5 so slow?
    But still, good job!

    jplur says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:40pm

    This is a solid game, very cool that you're porting it to ouya!

    Ithildin says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:21pm

    Great game! It starts a bit slow and typical, but then you spawn heads down...and then...and then...! Clever use of the theme, combined with interesting mechanics and a very good level layout.

    Awesome entry!! :D

    Suese says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:57am

    I see a few other top themes such as "Death is good" were in your heart.

    psychomonster says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:39pm

    Cool idea. I love this! good graphics... love that style :D Level design is fantastic... checkpoint system is innovative. good polished :D

    klianc09 says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:03pm

    I wish my character would walk faster... The music was fitting to the graphics, although it sounded almost too... scratchy? Or however you might call it. Besides that, it feels pretty polished.

    Joror says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:58pm

    Cool mechanics, nice difficulty curve, music that made me look forward to the next level, and a cute lil guy. Well done! :)

    blackotus says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:26pm

    Nice graphics and level design :)

    Gabriel says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:51pm

    Good job! I'm a total sucker for cute pixel art! I had some trouble with the gravity flipping thing (I guess it's just me, apparently I'm unable to play games like VVVVVV or the vertigo characters in Rogue Legacy), but pressed through anyway and found it pretty fun. Congrats!

    BNeutral says ...
    Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:32am

    Quite interesting mechanics. I was quite surprised the first time I died and sprouted back.

    superfoonly says ...
    Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:23pm

    Nice job! very fun, and great graphics

    wally2069 says ...
    Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:17pm

    Nice idea but the graphics lagged down the game while playing

    Antidote says ...
    Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:41pm

    Really good entry, love the graphics (Except I think the character should be brighter to separate more from the BG). Felt the movement was kind of slow at first, but got used to it. Like the mechanics :)

    TheMaster99 says ...
    Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:58pm

    Great game.. great graphics as well. You're level introducing the key/doors mechanic, though, was EXTREMELY repetitive. It wasn't a bad level in general, but I'd refrain from doing repetitive levels like that. Otherwise, nice game!

    jomomomo says ...
    Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:19pm

    Nicely done! Really enjoyed playing it, especially the gravity switching powerups.

    Zer0Kelvin says ...
    Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:25pm

    I only got a few stages in...time limits are cutting it very close on almost all of them. I'd like it a little more relaxed so more people would see the whole thing. Nice use of ten seconds lives concept! :)

    SnoringFrog says ...
    Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:42am

    One minor glitch: I touched an endpoint as I was dying. The dying animation played, then the endpoint opened/closed like I had reached it, then the game started to respawn me as if I'd died, then took me to the next level. Not a big issue, since it didn't force me to reply anything, just looked odd.

    Aside from that, the game was great. Loved the music/sfx, and though the checkpoint/grav-flipping mechanic was great. Also feels like this idea must have been a "death is useful" + "10 seconds" idea.

    Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:30am

    This is an all around well-rounded entry. The aesthetics are nicely done. The mechanics are interesting and they evolve at a good pace throughout the game. It almost seems like you had some ideas for the "death is useful" theme and just couldn't resist getting them out, am I right? Good stuff, high marks all around.

    Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:09am

    It's just amazing how unique and complete this game is!
    The suicidal immortality concept is simply brilliant and kept me playing to the end.
    I would suggest making jumps once per key press instead of auto jumping while space is down in order to prevent unintentional jumping. But that's the only problem I've had.
    Awesome job!!

    Crowbeak says ...
    Sep 11, 2013 @ 9:08am

    I read your postmortem. Ditching the other mechanic was a good idea, because this game is fantastic.

    cwkx says ...
    Sep 11, 2013 @ 10:44am

    Amazing you created such a long game in such a short space of time, really awesome :)

    withoutpillow says ...
    Sep 11, 2013 @ 3:41pm

    solid gameplay, beautiful presentation!

    Esenti says ...
    Sep 12, 2013 @ 6:56pm

    Really, really nice game!

    nthird says ...
    Sep 13, 2013 @ 6:29am

    Relentlessly entertaining. Very original. I really liked the different things that the plants did and how obvious it was simply based on color that they were going to do that. Other than the narrative explanation of why only 10 seconds was allowed the game needed almost no explanation.

    Levels were well balanced to me at least. Slightly challenging but I never felt lost. I think one of the biggest strengths of this is that the plants acts as a constant autosave. So even if a particular series of jumps or whatever was hard I only had to get them right for a maximum of 10 seconds. You could easily amp up the difficulty close to super meat boy levels without being anywhere near as frustrating. I'd much rather die and lose 10 seconds than die and lose more. That being said if you were to go that route shorter overall levels might help.

    Seriously fantastic overall. Really enjoyed it and hope to see more of it.

    Sebby says ...
    Sep 14, 2013 @ 9:15am

    Awh this is so cool! First off, I love the main characters walk cycle, so cute haha. Second, as I was playing I was sure where it was going to go, and then I got to the gravity switch with checkpoint thing and I thought it was /awesome/ and I was not expecting that at all! All of the level design is great, too! I loved it :D

    Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:52am

    Solid entry. Nice art and sound. Didn't like auto jump when holding the button down, but easy fix :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]