Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 19 days, 16 hours, 8 minutes, 57 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    TIME SHIFTER - Split82 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    This is my first FPS-like game ever and I had tons of fun creating it.

    Engine: Unity
    Language: C#
    Graphics: Blender, Photoshop
    Music and Sound: Logic Pro

    You got 10 seconds long interval and you can make time flow forward or backwards.

    View Split82's journal. | View all entries by Split82

    Ratings

    Coolness60%
    #4Overall4.29
    #9Innovation4.24
    #12Theme4.25
    #22Graphics4.32
    #50Fun3.78
    #57Mood3.71
    #70Audio3.59
    #728Humor1.98

    Comments

    skarab says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:06pm

    Nice ideas, design and graphics. Will surely retry it later.

    hdon says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:29pm

    Thanks for specifying "Web Unity," instead of just "Web." I will be able to try it on another system later (no Unity on this one!)

    aquilicoco says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:45pm

    Great game!!

    gameXcore says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:47pm

    I'm amazed, I think this is probably going to end up being one of the best, you need to get this turned into a full game. It has a massive feeling of Portal about it.

    pcmccull says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:56pm

    Awesome game! Feels like Portal with time manipulation.

    as3boyan says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:02pm

    Wow, this one is very good!

    carlsommer says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:09pm

    Great design! This is definitely something you could continue to build off of to create a very neat puzzle game!

    Zephyr89 says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:15pm

    A very good title, the only problem ... I suck at puzzle games. However one thing I can see is that this is going to go far.The place really has the sense of a place to collect your thoughts and think.

    timtipgames says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:33pm

    Very nice. The time you spent to create the wall texture was definitely worth it :)

    intripoon says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:54pm

    Very good game for 48h!

    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:58pm

    Really astonishing desing! congrats for your game!!

    xXweeguyXx says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:07pm

    Really awesome game! Amazing for 48 hours

    3ndo says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:30pm

    Exceptional. Well done.

    Zerkruemler says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:15pm

    Very cool. It is a lot of fun to find out how to solve the puzzles. It is however not so much fun to start from the beginning when you did an failure ate the end of the level. Some kind of checkpoint system would really be nice.

    Split82 says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:23pm

    Thanks :) You are right. Didn't have time to do that. WIll definitely ad checkpoints in post compo version.

    Xaychru04 says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:27pm

    Another innovative concept! Very fun to play, the levels are well designed, and the time shifting mechanic is excellent! Remind me of Portal and QUBE...

    31eee384 says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:37pm

    Wow, this is great! I wish it were longer. When I was going into the final level, I expected to only get 1/3 of the way to the exit on that platform, and have to freeze it, turn back time, and resume forwards. Or at least some sort of false summit. Alas, the limitations of 48 hours. Thanks for including a mouse sensitivity slider, too, it's usually way too high for me on Unity games.

    Fantastic use of the theme. These are my favorite sorts of games, and you did it very well.

    Split82 says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:22pm

    Oh man! That's awesome idea for that last level :D Going to implement it right now. Thanks!

    BradleySmith says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:41pm

    Really nice music, and highly polished 3D graphics are nice. One of the better looking 3D games I've played. Nice game mechanic with the time too, excellent for 48 hours.

    bytegrove says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:39pm

    Nice and clean graphics, and an interesting use of the theme. Awesome work! :)

    immanuela says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:40pm

    The most unique interpretation of the theme I've seen so far. I really like this idea and hope you continue with it.

    Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:08am

    This is a really neat idea. I could totally see this being expanded into a larger experience. Looking forward to the post compo version.

    Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:13am

    Oh yeah: for the post compo version, it'd be cool if you had some sort of audio feedback for time moving forward and backwards, especially with a little pitch ramp up/down. (Your music is beautiful though, so you probably wouldn't want to interrupt that.) The third area (World 4?) in Braid had a sort of music-box track that played forwards and backwards when time was moving, and a wonderful "sound of 0-time" rumble when time was stopped.

    tacograveyard says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:26am

    The music, concept, and execution are really solid. Great work!

    Glockenspiel says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:17am

    pretty cool and challenging. The only thing i dislike is when the player collides with a block you die

    IHateATMFees says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:28am

    Great job! Graphics look nice and have a good mechanic

    KevinZuhn says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:51am

    Well that was clever and fun!
    I had some trouble on the beginning of level 3, but after coming back a few hours later the solution leapt out at me! It's probably worth exploring what other puzzles could be wrung out of this mechanic!

    dom2d says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:48pm

    Great puzzle design!

    Ghostik says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:54pm

    Really nice work man!

    torvik88 says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:50pm

    Wonderful game, reminds me of when i played the first Portal. Well done mate :)

    SneManden says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:28pm

    Very Fine game! Challenging and interesting gameplay.

    Linux: the mouse sensivity was a bit creazy, and the setting in game did not help out.

    Split82 says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:02pm

    Thanks for linux feedback. I will probably set the default sensitivity to super low and enlarge the range of the slider.

    Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:44pm

    graphics and design! Like mentioned before, it's like Portal but with time manipulation.

    Great puzzling, but there should have definitely been checkpoints, it's surprisingly easy to get crushed and having to restart the whole level because of that got very frustrating.

    Travis Irby says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:58pm

    Wow this game blew me away! Awesome concept that fits the theme perfectly, and its really fun. nice work

    Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:00pm

    Great use of theme and really well implemented. A bit frustrating at times but amazing work for a 48 hour game jam game!

    Hypnohustla says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:10pm

    Love it. The puzzles had some very good ideas behind them and I always felt so damn smart solving them. :) Beautiful game. Top drawer indeed!

    Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:15pm

    Beautiful. Simple. Thoughtful. Engaging. Original. Fantastic work, folks, will be back here soon to finish this game. My only criticism is that it could do with a little more personality - some kind of break or reward for solving puzzles. It's hardly a problem for work made in 48 hours, though! Congrats!

    Quick question - any chance you could point me towards information on locking and hiding the cursor while in Unity Webplayer?

    Again, great work!

    Split82 says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:36am

    Thanks :) Locking and hiding cursor http://docs.unity3d.com/Documentation/ScriptReference/Screen-lockCursor.html

    jglrxavpok says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:54pm

    Looks like Portal... without the portal gun, and the portals...
    Portal-related stuff aside, this game is just beautiful and has a good idea!

    dekart says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:23pm

    Good game, i like it

    ratking says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:31am

    Interesting art and nice overall execution.

    kazukishida says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:06am

    Oh my goodness. Oh my goodness. Oh my goodness.
    This was so amazingly well done to the highest level. Everything from the atmosphere, the ambience, the amazing music, the lighting, texturing, mechanics, controls, feel --- oh my goodness man. This is the best entry I've played so far, and it even bests many of the Jam entries I've seen. Dude. Dude. Man this is just so epic. You have to continue this!

    marccspro says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:47am

    Best game I have seen for the moment :D

    SaintHeiser says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:50am

    Incredible game!
    Puzzles are awesome. Theme is well presented =)
    Well done, man!

    neocrey says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:01pm

    Wow! Awesome game! Nice graphics and gameplay!

    Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:02pm

    Cross my heart this is fantastic game!

    Codexus says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:07pm

    Awesome first person puzzler. I wish there were more levels!

    zzForrest says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:30pm

    Beautiful game, with very interesting mechanics. I love grand piano music in games, and this game took full advantage of it. I love how every level feels grand. My only complaints are that the character and the time mechanic both share an issue with acceleration where they accelerate very slowly for half a second, and speed off faster than you can tell.

    Xgor says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:01pm

    Awesome game, Can see this becoming a full blown game with that cool mechanic.
    I do feel that the music didn't fit in the atmosphere of the game and that kinda killed the mood for me.

    Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:02pm

    This is very well done, great entry for 48 hours, it's almost incredible.
    I just have to ask: Did you buy a license for Unity PRO for this, or did you get those shadows to work some other way?!?

    Capro says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:03pm

    Original and very well made. :)

    Larzan says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:29pm

    Nice idea with the time control! Good grafix.

    klianc09 says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:31pm

    At first I thought, this is gonna be like braid, but it isn't, it's something completely different.
    The puzzles were great, although I'm not sure why the last level worked as it did.

    moomoo112 says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:39pm

    Great puzzle game, and a nice use of the theme!

    Jellycakes says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:02pm

    That was really cool to play. The concept and gameplay was really interesting, it was well polished and I definitely had a good time playing this game. Really nicely done.

    sergilazaro says ...
    Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:10am

    So cool, looks amazing and the mechanics are great :)

    darkshadow says ...
    Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:37pm

    Did it! :D Loved the puzzles, brilliant little game you could do loads of things with the time shift idea, 3D braid why hasn't anyone done it already!?

    Sascha says ...
    Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:11am

    Great concept and execution. Love the clean graphic style and lighting!

    Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:45am

    Solid puzzler! Nice work with the light. Mechanics lend themselves for a good puzzler too :)

    Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:49am

    Amazing! Great mechanics, very good presentation. Probably the best game I've played so far.
    Sadly I didn't get very far though, since it completely overstrained my laptop. :D But I'll try to play it trough once I'm back at my PC.

    Katamori says ...
    Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:53pm

    Amazing in every aspects! The idea is absolutely original, the fun factor is so high that I can't stop playing (even though it' the type of game that is f*ckin' hard for me), the use of the theme is outstanding, the graphics is magnificent but also moderate, background ambient music is great for its purpose, and the mood is absolute Portal-esque!

    The first perfect game between those I've tried so far. Congratulations!

    PS.: I can remember you from Twitter when you posted a shot about the first map. I asked that "Unity?", if you can remember too ;P

    Split82 says ...
    Sep 6, 2013 @ 6:43pm

    :) thanks a lot. Sure I remember you.

    Lokarunith says ...
    Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:37pm

    First of all, thanks for including an option to adjust mouse sensivity as many unity games make my head hurt because of too much sensivity and this one was fine.

    Overall it was very enjoyable, the puzzles were really well designed and the graphics were also quite good. The theme was very well incorporated into the game mechanics making this a great entry.

    withoutpillow says ...
    Sep 11, 2013 @ 4:04pm

    amazing and innovative puzzles, great graphics, and that gentle music in the background was really good for the atmosphere. good work!

    Sep 12, 2013 @ 2:27am

    Wow! I don't know how you did this in just 48 hours. Not just impressive from an audio/visual perspective but with well-designed puzzle mechanics too. One of the best LD entries this time, I'd say.

    recursor says ...
    Sep 12, 2013 @ 9:33pm

    Very nice graphics and game play. The game feels nice and polished, and I really like the piano music in the background.

    Jacob123 says ...
    Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:30pm

    Cool game. Liked how much it felt like Portal. Also, congratulations you are the last game I will rate this LD!

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]