Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 79 days, 23 hours, 29 minutes, 56 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon)


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Second's Showdown - aschearer - Jam Entry

    Do you yearn for a simpler time free of the constant interruptions and pressures of modern life? Then look no further! Grab your favorite pistol, a friend or enemy, and join us on a journey to a world of dueling.

    In a city where every little problem is resolved with a fight to the death, it's up to you, the dueler's second, to keep heads on shoulders and bodies hole-free. Bring your guile and skill to the table and outsmart your opponent in a battle for the ages!

    This is a local multiplayer game. Grab a friend and enjoy!

    Note that there is no sound.

    Requires a modern browser. I've tested the game using IE10 and Chrome 29. If you encounter an error please let me know!

    Written with TypeScript. The game's source code is available under the MIT license from GitHub: https://github.com/aschearer/LudumDare27

    Thanks for playing!

    View aschearer's journal. | View all entries by aschearer

    Ratings

    Coolness58%
    #125Innovation(Jam)3.39
    #127Humor(Jam)3.06
    #138Graphics(Jam)3.83
    #236Mood(Jam)3.07
    #308Overall(Jam)3.08
    #402Fun(Jam)2.64
    #552Theme(Jam)2.31

    Comments

    SasoriDama says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:05pm

    That was fun. I like the setting and graphics style a lot. It's pretty silly too!

    Hitonagashi says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:34pm

    I quite liked it. Found it was quite hard to win, even with a friend, we kept drawing each other. Interesting game though!

    Paul Sinnett says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:39pm

    I love the graphical style.

    frankbsad says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:42pm

    It felt really cool, but I didn't have anyone to play against :( I'll give it another shot later.

    gravyhands says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:48pm

    Ever since the Pokemon Trading Card Game on Game Boy Color, I've always had a soft spot for games with flipping coins...

    Zer0Kelvin says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:07am

    Love the look of it and the silly characters! Would like to see a single player mode, could just randomize the enemy's choice?

    Rave Radbury says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:12am

    Great game! A lower health bar or a larger item pool might make draws less frequent. The strategy aspect leads to a sort of stalemate, so more luck may be needed to break that up.

    wulfdesign says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:45am

    I like the old style wood cut prints and trap iconography.. be good to see this in a phone/tablet game you can play against someone on another device...

    fgielow says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:42am

    the looks are very clear and direct. very different gameplay too!

    flavio says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:16am

    Easy to get after the first coin :)
    Nice design
    I did not get the theme here?
    Anyway, fun to play a couple of parties with a friend ! :)

    KeithE. says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:49pm

    love the style.

    tigerj says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:36am

    really crazy fun. the images and icons are great.

    Capro says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:36am

    Great graphics here. The board/card game mechanics are awesome. :)

    SneManden says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:43am

    The graphics are really great; nice to see a different artstyle. It's a bid sad that you got to have friends (around;)) to play it. Solid game mechanic although I found a tad boring - sorry, but too many draws.

    However, a great entry.

    Will Edwards says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:57am

    Really gorgeous artwork!

    mutilator says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:32am

    requires a second person at the pc to properly have fun but otherwise was alrite

    blackotus says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:43am

    Interesting take on the theme, also nice to see something you can play with a friend.

    Great visuals too! Well done!

    Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:47am

    hmm interesting strategy and good game with other people. 5 stars

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]