Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 4 days, 17 hours, 53 minutes, 42 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 4 days, 17 hours, 53 minutes, 43 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Two minute mayhem - bvanschooten - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Shoot all monsters on screen within 10 seconds, using 7 different weapons of mass destruction! A complete tournament takes a little over 2 minutes total.

    Control using the mouse. Hold mouse button to fire. Your turret is stationary.

    Note that the applet may play slower than the Jar. Run the Jar for best performance.

    This LD, I had less time than usual, so I cut some corners on graphics and sound, which are mostly procedurally generated using my usual tools. The sound is a little loud, turning down the volume may make it sound better. Also the performance is not optimized, especially the scoreboard may lag.

    The game also plays well on Android, I'll release it on Google Play soon.

    NOTE: it seems the game won't run on some Macs. Can any Mac user please tell me what error they get? Run "java -jar TwoMinuteMayhem.jar" in the command line to see errors.

    View bvanschooten's journal. | View all entries by bvanschooten

    Ratings

    Coolness61%
    #144Fun3.50
    #489Overall3.12
    #501Mood2.80
    #521Graphics2.94
    #531Humor2.26
    #587Innovation2.91
    #640Audio2.39
    #959Theme2.65

    Comments

    gikdew says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:18pm

    omg! those graphics are really great!

    doonay21 says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:19pm

    I like your graphics and I think mechanics is really original. God job!

    fferro234 says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:22pm

    Fun game. I really liked the backgrounds that you created and the explosion effects were very nice.

    anserran says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:24pm

    My favorite weapon: the zombie virus. Quite funny.

    urth says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:39pm

    The jar did not work on the Mac and the applet did not work also.

    immanuela says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:55pm

    Hardest game of all I've played! But fun, like the variety :)

    tigers says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:56pm

    Really great idea, interesting weapons and great execution. Really well done!

    infernet89 says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:00am

    I felt a lot the urge of move myself, but all keys i've tried won't worked.. After that, i loved how each weapon has it's own behaviour. The zombie virus is for sure my favorite one.

    kristof says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:26pm

    Nice weapon concepts and particle effects. I especially liked the zombie virus :)
    By the way, works fine on Mac OS X 10.8

    Linusson says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:36pm

    Fun game, I especially liked all the different weapons. :) Thankfully, I realized after a while, you could just hold the mouse button down instead of clicking like crazy. :D

    onzephyr says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:38pm

    nice effects loads of trippy color. fun weapons. enjoyable play. great job

    Kragnir says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:37am

    Nice effects and weapon, the gameplay is lacking a bit.

    Diventurer says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:05pm

    The game has some lag issues, but I like the different weapons. Nice work on those!

    Darien says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:32am

    I really like this! The different weapons are great fun, and I love the graphics. Good work!

    flarb says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:43pm

    Pretty neat idea--this was similar to an idea I had before I decided to do a thruster game.

    Alexander says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:43pm

    The sound is terrible, can't play it with sound.

    HD408 says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:23pm

    Not bad. Poison Darts and Sticky Bombs are excessively hard to master, in my opinion. Nice shining letters.

    Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:17pm

    Fun fun fun! Really like this. Sounds good, looks good, gameplay is heaps fun. Well done!

    Almax27 says ...
    Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:51pm

    Some really nice idea of weapon here, loved the sonic wave one :D

    Larzan says ...
    Sep 8, 2013 @ 12:18pm

    Wow, absolutely addictive, had a lot of fun playing it through :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]