Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 7 days, 19 hours, 10 minutes, 10 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 7 days, 19 hours, 10 minutes, 11 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    <-Saccade-> - Rave Radbury - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    How long do 10 seconds feel?

    "A saccade is a fast movement of an eye, head or other part of an animal's body or of a device. It can also be a fast shift in frequency of an emitted signal or other quick change. Saccades are quick, simultaneous movements of both eyes in the same direction." -Wikipedia

    Applying lessons from the study of time perception to game design, <-Saccade-> is a game that reaches beyond its digital cage to warp the very fabric of the reality that you occupy. Through use of temporal illusions such as the Kappa Effect and the Stopped Clock Illusion you will soon find that each increasingly-hectic 10-second level stretches on into infinity. However, it's all in your head, as <-Saccade-> has sent you into your own personal bullet-time Hell.

    The purpose of <-Saccade-> is to induce subjective time dilation in the player. In this regard, the game plays you.

    Don't fret, though. You can seek revenge on the program for its demonic reality obscuring abilities by running it through an overstressed CPU so that it becomes choppy and slow. Turnabout is fair play!

    TIP: Shoot the red ones. Don't shoot the blue ones.

    View Rave Radbury's journal. | View all entries by Rave Radbury

    Ratings

    Coolness69%
    #380Audio2.85
    #489Overall3.12
    #521Innovation3.00
    #550Fun2.93
    #626Graphics2.77
    #781Mood2.45
    #806Theme2.88
    #811Humor1.81

    Comments

    Sebastian says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:22am

    Gets flipping difficult! Nice game, really addictive.

    Brassawiking says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:27am

    Trying to wrap my head around the concept and it goes strangely meta in order to fit the theme. Not sure if that works out alright. Nice work with really making you look left and right all the time

    ratalaika says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:25am

    I like it!! Quite hard for me thought, nice work!

    fdevant says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:52am

    Peripheral vision training haha.

    dekart says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:38am

    Quite challenging and interesting. I love the retro style :)

    vvolis says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:38am

    Very nice sound choice, as it really grasps the times of arcades and is not just a "8bit mess".
    The gameplay was not particulary interesting, but the idea of implementation of the concept is EXCELLENT! Good job! :)

    Rick Hoppmann says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:07pm

    *reads comment on his game: "That was a lot of clicking. Could have used some variety."* *tries out the authors game*
    Oh, you made a clicking game, too. Bleh :P

    Vasileiadis says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:04am

    Overall a nice - and very addictive!! - game but (unless I missed something) quite off theme :P

    Jimanzium says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:07am

    Nice idea for a simple game that you could end up playing for a long time

    Rave Radbury says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:10am

    Each level is 10 seconds long, but the game is designed to make them feel longer. It's very on theme.

    Sinuath says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:34am

    I like what you were trying to do but the game but i'm not entirely sure what i'm doing inside the game.

    aschearer says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:35pm

    Very innovative take on the theme! Overall quite well put together. Gameplay isn't something I would come back for on its own, though.

    Pinktreeleaf says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:37pm

    MY EYES!!!!
    innovative game

    Gus says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:32am

    Hello thear, fancy reviewer!
    After seeing your face in so many comments I was pretty damn curious to check out your 48hour piece of art, and wow, can't say i'm darn impressed.
    This is some genious work, implementate time dilating illusion was something that I would never think being included on a game before, you really should start working in a full release, I would buy that gem without thinking twice. Hope you make to the top.

    psychomonster says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:50pm

    Tank hero! Nice Idea...

    Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:44am

    The time perception illusion sounded very interesting, but I seem to always lose before I could experience the effect. It got way too hard for me around level 5. If the game could continue despite me losing maybe it would be easier to achieve the illusion.
    The game mechanic is solid and feels very complete. Very nice!

    Volute says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:41pm

    Cool concept, kept me playing for a while

    Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:05am

    Nice game, sort of hard but very fun. I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 compilation series if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=biBzDWmV3kc

    Gabriel says ...
    Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:09am

    I really liked your approach to the theme! Indeed, your perception of what 10 seconds means is totally different depending on the context. The later levels really feel like 1 minute or so. hahaha

    I kinda got the same impression of time stretching / compression in my game. I made a shooter where every 10 seconds you are subject to a special rule, out of several options. It really is amazing how 10 seconds go blazingly fast when it's something to your benefit, and how it takes ages when you're at gunpoint. Never had heard of the Kappa and Stopped Clock effects though, this was enlightening! :)

    Congrats on your game!

    Zap says ...
    Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:13am

    Really awesome interpretation of the theme and aim for your game! Unfortunately, I too wasn't able to last long enough to fall under the illusion. Does the difficulty of the game help to create the effect / would it be possible to have an easier version of the game and still achieve the same effect?

    Rave Radbury says ...
    Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:16pm

    The effects are all a matter of contrast. If the difficulty and speed increase too slowly, then the illusion is lost. At least this is as far as I can tell.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]