Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 22 days, 19 hours, 36 minutes, 9 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    TenSeconds - HeroesGrave - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Who you are, where you are, or how you got here is irrelevant.
    You have 10 seconds to do whatever you can to find the lost Shield of Awesomeness.

    Then you start again.

    But...

    As you pull levers and collect powerups, they carry over after you've died.
    The goal is to advance more and more until you can finally reach the goal.

    This is more of a puzzle game, so some parts will be challenging.

    Work out what levers activate what lasers/doors, and check for any newly accessible powerups. If you do that, you should be fine.

    If you get stuck, leave a comment.
    I'll reply as soon as possible.

    View HeroesGrave's journal. | View all entries by HeroesGrave

    Ratings

    #260Theme3.48
    #430Innovation3.14
    #480Graphics3.00
    #732Overall2.89
    #777Fun2.67
    #829Humor1.79
    #875Mood2.29
    #1281Coolness45%

    Comments

    tomsik68 says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:51am

    Nice game! It's however too hard, requires more time to complete. This is really great concept, but it's missing time bonuses in my opinion, as it's too hard ;)

    namrog84 says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:58am

    Would have been nice knowing what my powerups were or reminder of what keys did what, i didn't hear any sounds?

    Couldn't get too far, I got stuck after the right click mouse powerup thing, didn't know what to do after that point.
    1 wall I couldnt jump over, 1 red laser blocking to right, and a switch I couldnt reach

    HeroesGrave says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:00am

    Try using sprint more.

    HeroesGrave says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:01am

    Use the walkthrough if you get stuck

    HeroesGrave says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:02am

    Ths right mouse click is basically a more powerful, aimed jump, which should get you over two-block high walls if you put it under the player.

    HeroesGrave says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:06am

    No sounds sorry.

    I was limited with time.

    anserran says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:40am

    Kind of hard, but cool idea. "What I do in my current life, will affect my next life", it's like an Hindu-Christian interpretation of the theme (yeah, I know, not really...)

    graytest says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:06am

    I was missing sounds and music. The game looks nice. It is a good concept, but quite difficult.

    donan says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:16am

    Really hard :/
    With sounds would have been better :)

    pl0xz0rz says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:51am

    Nice game. A bit too hard, and sprint seems to sometimes deactivate randomly, usually killing me.

    sunnysmiles says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:23am

    A little too hard, and frustrating since there is no way of telling what each lever will do, so there is too much trial&error

    mollrow says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:15pm

    I uploaded the Linux build of Fortris. Will try to play yours sometime today (first day back at Uni)

    Drabiter says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:10pm

    Wow really hard one. The controls could be tricky too. I like the idea.

    mollrow says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:46pm

    I would just suggest you using double buffering since I was getting a lot of screen tearing.

    ratalaika says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:11pm

    A little bit hard... But really great idea for the concept!

    HeroesGrave says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:09am

    Sorry about the difficulty.

    It is hard for me to judge as I played it as I added to the level bit-by-bit, and so am quite skilled at it.

    Maybe in a post-compo version I'll make it better.

    As for the sprint randomly stopping. That is a feature, but I forgot to mention it or give a indication. You have a 2-second sprint timer. While not sprinting, it fills up. If you use it all up, you have to wait until it fills up to one second before sprinting again.

    lcass says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:49pm

    very very hard

    siat says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:27am

    I couldn't get past the first section :(

    acro says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:55am

    Compelling, great fun, and well polished. A shame there's no sound, but I liked this very much. As a puzzle game, it works well. I lost track of time playing it. The 10-sec reset was quite a bold and risky move, but in fact it works remarkably well - it makes every single section into a tight race. The only thing I would want to see changed is the lack of visual indication that Low-gravity is active (it was annoying that it reset after every 10 seconds - but would've been fine it I could SEE that it had switched back off). Also, the controls are weirdly mapped, and only explained once. After I got the gloves the first time, I had to quit the game, write the title screen into a notepad document, then replay.
    ...and after writing this I only just realised this was a 48h compo entry, not a jam entry. Well done indeed!

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]