Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 28 days, 16 hours, 35 minutes, 4 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    GLITCH - TravisChen - Jam Entry

    .ed"""" """$$$$be.
    -" ^""**$$$e.
    ." '$$$c
    / "4$$b
    d 3 $$$$
    $ * .$$$$$$
    .$ ^c $$$$$e$$$$$$$$.
    d$L 4. 4$$$$$$$$$$$$$$b
    $$$$b ^ceeeee. 4$$ECL.F*$$$$$$$
    e$""=. $$$$P d$$$$F $ $$$$$$$$$- $$$$$$
    z$$b. ^c 3$$$F "$$$$b $"$$$$$$$ $$$$*" .=""$c
    4$$$$L $$P" "$$b .$ $$$$$...e$$ .= e$$$.
    ^*$$$$$c %.. *c .. $$ 3$$$$$$$$$$eF zP d$$$$$
    "**$$$ec " %ce"" $$$ $$$$$$$$$$* .r" =$$$$P""
    "*$b. "c *$e. *** d$$$$$"L$$ .d" e$$***"
    ^*$$c ^$c $$$ 4J$$$$$% $$$ .e*".eeP"
    "$$$$$$"'$=e....$*$$**$cz$$" "..d$*"
    "*$$$ *=%4.$ L L$ P3$$$F $$$P"
    "$ "%*ebJLzb$e$$$$$b $P"
    %.. 4$$$$$$$$$$ "
    $$$e z$$$$$$$$$$%
    "*$c "$$$$$$$P"
    ."""*$$$$$$$$bc
    .-" .$***$$$"""*e.
    .-" .e$" "*$c ^*b.
    .=*"""" .e$*" "*bc "*$e..
    .$" .z*" ^*$e. "*****e.
    $$ee$c .d" "*$. 3.
    ^*$E")$..$" * .ee==d%
    $.d$$$* * J$$$e*
    """"" "$$$"

    View TravisChen's journal. | View all entries by TravisChen

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #9Innovation(Jam)4.07
    #57Mood(Jam)3.67
    #67Graphics(Jam)4.19
    #81Overall(Jam)3.60
    #216Fun(Jam)3.09
    #243Audio(Jam)2.98
    #280Theme(Jam)3.10
    #374Humor(Jam)2.09

    Comments

    Epiphane says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:19am

    404 Error on the webpage

    hlink says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:17am

    Awesome stuff, dude! The more I played, the more comfortable I felt with each variation.

    daOyster says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:30am

    Very cool effect. The first where change every 10 seconds was actually cool. Very fun.

    Darklotus says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:32am

    Very trippy, you want to keep playing to see what the next effect will be.

    Anachron says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:32am

    aarh you totally hacked my brain brah

    Richard Matey says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:32am

    Wow I really loved playing with this. Very innovative idea on changing the perspective every 10 seconds. HOW DID YOU DO THE DOT MATRIX STYLE. Love that part, please give me a comment back to let me know how you did that. :)

    Erhune says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:33am

    So that's what taking drugs is like, huuuuhh? :)

    Nice ambiance and effects!

    rylgh says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:34am

    Damn, dude. Such cool effects. Wish this was part of the compo so I could look through your source and play with your shaders.

    BloodJohn says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:37am

    nice puzzle for vision

    barcode says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:37am

    Such a neat idea - definitely one of the most stylish games I've played in LD27 so far. I got lost and fell quite a few times but was motivated to play again to figure out how to get around the structure.

    Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:38am

    This is super impressive. I'm going to have to check out some more of your games :)

    Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:40am

    5 out of 5 stars this is a amazing Game and really good execution. just a amazing game!!!

    3beards says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:42am

    Whoa. Really cool concept and execution!

    oxysoft says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:10am

    Astounding shader work you got there dude. I absolutely could not do with the first one though :(

    Cthulhu says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:10am

    Man your game has a bug.

    moonmagic says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:11am

    WOW. Beautiful.

    Nerlin says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:35am

    Great game, but I think that theme Glitch is the theme of this game, not "10 seconds" theme, but it looks cool.

    Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:37am

    An unconventional idea! I like the switching-channel-sounds and the overall look and feel of the game. It took me a moment to get it :D, but then it was quite funny. I have to confess, I also didn't make it off the island and/or reached the goal of the game (is there any? :D).

    Nick Weihs says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:38am

    Terrifying. But I liked it.

    lalanl says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:54am

    I don't really know which way I'm supposed to be going, but I hope I can figure it out because this style is super cool.

    Zephyr89 says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:19am

    Nice feeling you've got there. But where's the gameplay?

    Vaughn says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:20am

    Great, moody and visually disorientating. Love this stuff. Nice exploration with a surprise "DEATH" ending ;)

    Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:01am

    Somebody was hoping for a different theme, eh? ;)

    Great effects, but I wasn't sure what I was supposed to do. Seemed like an obstacle course maybe? Dunno. I kept dying b/c I couldn't tell where I should go next.

    TravisChen says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:11am

    g̦eÍ̦ÍÍÌ©Ì°tÍ̺ÌÌ Ì¯ÌÍÌÌ­Ít̡̬ÍÍÌ Ì̱ÌoÌÍÌ» Í̤̩Ị̱̀Ít̻̪̫hÌ̠̱̪̰̯̯eÍÍ ÌeÍ̬̺Íá¹Ì®d̪ÌÍÌ«Ì°Ì̲

    GrooveMan says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:14am

    I eventually got super lost, and some of the glitches are straight-up blinding rather than just trippy but DANG that was cool.

    ChrisPugh says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:26am

    Slick looking game, the effects made it fun-hard and I kept replaying until I got to the end.

    Flai says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:42am

    Great game :) ! Really like the mood and the graphics!

    Tgwizman says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:00am

    Loved the effect, but some of those effects were hard to deal with. I would constantly look down to see my footing, but I would still fall through certain gaps that I could see in other effects.

    I really loved the rasterbation effect :)

    Valerien says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:04am

    The concept is nice, however the controls aren't very responsive : the camera moves too fast while the character has much inertia and is very slow. I think you have something that visually works, one effect aside (the first one hurts the eyes a bit, at least for me) though, there's a nice ambience.

    DaVince says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:22am

    Ahh, I was looking forward to playing this, but Linux has no Unity Web Player! Standalone version, please?

    infernet89 says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:27am

    Really nice exploration game in a weird geometric world when perspection change every 10 seconds.. Too bad the theme wasn't Glitch, that could be a winner.

    ashdnazg says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:52am

    I haven't finished it, but I can already say it's pure madness (that's good!).

    Bekokstover says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:18am

    Great game, Travis. I got pretty far on my 3rd try, all the way to the top somewhere. But then it's hard! I would love to get some more reward then just not dying, but overall this looks very very cool.

    Xgor says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:50am

    Ok that was freaky... but in a good way. Really cool game. I found myself waiting a bit for other variations when I couldn't see where I would go but I didn't get that bored of that.

    lcarpentier says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:50am

    This is a good idea well executed. Kudos.

    kristof says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:53pm

    Very cool effects. But I went up some kind of tower and could not find out where to go next.

    Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:06pm

    Nice shaders! Amazing game!

    Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:15pm

    Dayum man! This is AMAZING! <o>

    So simple and so immersive and fun! Pretty challenging too!

    I loved your game! <3

    danielmult says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:16pm

    Que game otimo! sons e shaders fantasticos.

    Latency says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:19pm

    Effects were cool, but they made my head hurt a bit, cool game though

    DoubleS says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:03pm

    Very creative.

    ratalaika says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:57pm

    good job

    Diogo Muller says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:14pm

    Whoa. Great concept, execution, effects... Good game!

    TravisChen says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:16pm

    OCULUS BUILD INCOMING.

    TravisChen says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:32pm

    OCULUS RIFT SUPPORT ADDED.

    sittaman says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:58pm

    Pretty cool concept! Very trippy.

    JD557 says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:46pm

    Nice concept, really trippy.

    Have you actually tried this with the rift, though? I'm already feeling a little bit nauseous from playing this on my PC, can't imagine how it would feel to play it with the rift.

    zeh says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:57pm

    Shaders of gray.

    Incredible entry.

    sebb says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:40pm

    I do not see hwo the 10 seconds apply, but this is a really awesome game, i loved the changing graphics, the mood is awesome and the game is adequetly challenging :) GJ!

    arezita says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:44pm

    Very nice game! Congrats!

    zlowrance says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:19am

    Pretty great idea. I was a little bummed when the effects started to loop, but I was enthralled until then! Had to see what was next haha, great entry

    dancingflame says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:47am

    Awesome shaders! This game concept has some potential. Good work. :)

    DanHayesGamer says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:39pm

    5/5for innnovation, is this done by dynamically changing shaders?

    pereubu says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:21pm

    holy crap, my eyes burnt D:

    Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:53pm

    I love the glitch, but the game concept is a bit too short. (it seems nothing happens when you're on the top)

    Clavus says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:42pm

    Tried it with my Rift. All except for one of the shaders is really bad for Rift users, really messes up the immersion and your orientation. As for the game itself, it's quite simple but not too interesting.

    flamecow says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:22pm

    Very, very unique game. Awesome effects and style.

    klianc09 says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:43pm

    You really must hate my eyes and my brain. I touched a skeleton and then I restarted. Did I finish it, or did it kill me? And now I'm confused what I should rate on graphics, because they are really bad, but they are intentionally bad, and they are really good at being bad, so are they now good or are they bad?... ough, so many questions, so little time...

    Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:11am

    Awesome experimet

    namrog84 says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:41am

    great music/audio, voiceover was beautiful.

    Great story/mood

    Loved the dove scene!!

    Although the story is the primary goodthing. The gameplay does complement it nicely, but i think the gameplay aspect of it could be reworked slightly.

    Just finished and overall it was simply brilliant

    namrog84 says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:44am

    That was one trippy game.

    As cool as the effects were, I would have preferred them turned down. Definitely hurt my eyes on some of them.

    wintermute says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:26pm

    Very well done, although it is difficult to understand the goal. But still, great.

    BenWhi says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:25pm

    WHOA!

    TheCze says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:49pm

    Played this on the rift, very trippy experience. I had trouble controlling the character because my movement direction was not bound to my viewing direction, other then that, a great game.

    blackotus says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:09pm

    Awesome!
    I really like the shifting graphics and soudn effects!
    Really nice work :)

    hbocao says ...
    Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:19pm

    Very cool and trippy experiment!

    mcc says ...
    Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:33am

    q'(2=6 2=/1$338=&..#I=f=&4$22K=f=&.3=%14231 3$#=6(3'=(3=$ 1+8=.-=6'$-=f=1$ +(9$#=3'(2=36(3"'8I=#(%%("4+3=3'(-&=6 2=&.(-&=3.=' 5$=?1$23 13= ++=3'$=6 8=%1.,=!$&(--(-&?= 2=3'$=% (+41$=/$- +38= -#=3' 3=%14231 3(.-=-$5$1=3.3 ++8=6$-3= 6 8K=_43=f=+(*$#=3'$=*(-#=.%=2+$$/J/ 1 +82(2=%$$+(-&=.%=,.5(-&=!43=-.3=1$ ++8=!$(-&= !+$=3.=3$++=(%=(D,=,.5(-&=.1=1$ ++8=!$(-&= !+$=3.=,.5$I= -#=f=+(*$#=3'$=2$-2$=.%=/ -("=3' 3=3'$=6'.+$=2(34 3(.-=$-&$-#$1$#K=f=+(*$#=3'$=#$"(2(.-=3.=, *$= ++=2"$-$18=/41$=!+ "*K=q'$=,$"' -("2= -#=2(34 3(.-2=1$5$ +$#= =+.3=,.1$=#$/3'=3' -=f=$7/$"3$#=3'$,=3.=6'$-=3'$=& ,$=!$& -K''q'$=%4998=#(3'$1=2' #$1=6 2=,8=% 5.1(3$K''a.$2=(3=1$ ++8=)423=G1$23 13G=6'$-=8.4=3.4"'=3'$=2*$+$3.-\'

    Capro says ...
    Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:43am

    I love this! Great game. :)

    Mironix says ...
    Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:20pm

    What a uni121212121`221426409871642012 game

    ENDESGA says ...
    Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:24pm

    very cool! I love the concept :D

    -ENDESGA

    Soundless_dev says ...
    Sep 8, 2013 @ 2:50am

    I dig it

    raarlac says ...
    Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:58am

    I wish I had an Oculus to play this. Awesome game ^^

    ratking says ...
    Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:19am

    Great idea. I love the visuals, although I have no idea what I see exactly. I think I would have preferred an exploration game more than a platformer.

    lesterpig says ...
    Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:40am

    Wooohh... WTF ?!

    Xaychru04 says ...
    Sep 8, 2013 @ 1:59pm

    I like the effects, some are harder to deal with than others, but I really enjoyed the game! Maybe more colors would have been great.

    manuq says ...
    Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:16pm

    I love GLITCH! I wanted a game like this since I saw the effects in "experiment 12".

    megashroom says ...
    Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:00pm

    Nice idea and implementation! Some of the visual effects were completely impossible to decipher, but I suppose that fit with the game perfectly.
    Genuinely difficult and enjoyable!

    alts says ...
    Sep 9, 2013 @ 7:39am

    This is the first game to ever give me the sensation of motion sickness. And I didn't even play it on the oculus. I think I "won" insofar as the game is "winnable". Nice work.

    GFM says ...
    Sep 9, 2013 @ 4:09pm

    Amazing concept and incredible graphics! This was really unique.

    Cosr says ...
    Sep 10, 2013 @ 3:31pm

    I loved this. There's some really sweet glitchy stuff this compo (which gets to be extra unique since it wasn't the theme). Visuals and audio were both great.

    Found a skelington thing, and it...killed me? Or was me? But it doesn't matter, cause it was a cool experience.

    I wish I had an oculus rift so I could damage my everything playing this.

    Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:49am

    The different transitions are cool and unique. reminds me of tron for some reason

    dudsen says ...
    Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:57am

    Crazy, stuff. Thankfully i dont have a Oculus, otherwise my brain would have melted :D

    Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:40pm

    Absolutely great idea, and the graphics are perfect. It gave me the same horrified fascination as an actual broken game. A great mood: just wandering around this glitched world with no idea what I'm supposed to be doing.

    Unfortunately, the graphics make the jumps very hard to gauge. I didn't play to the end, but I very much enjoy what I've seen.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]