Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 21 days, 23 hours, 14 minutes, 41 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Test Subject 13B - maxking1234 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    A Challenging Survival Game, Survive against Zombies and Sand Warriors for 10 seconds and then get 10 seconds in the safe zone! Buy swords and shields to aid your survival! See how many stages / levels you can survive! Let me know how far you get. Made with LibGDX

    View maxking1234's journal. | View all entries by maxking1234

    Ratings

    Coolness54%
    #289Theme3.45
    #307Graphics3.32
    #352Audio2.91
    #367Humor2.61
    #371Mood2.97
    #518Overall3.09
    #538Fun2.94
    #549Innovation2.97

    Comments

    megashroom says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:59am

    Pretty good, especially the graphics, however, a lack of monster AI made it quite easy after the purchase of a sword.

    sgehlich says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:55pm

    Nice game, animations would be nice :)

    voltorben says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:51pm

    Lovely graphics :)
    And a cool concept.

    What i think is off is the balance.
    You should introduce weapons in the game earlier, or make it easier to survive without. The first two times i tried, i didn't get to buy anything, because i just spawned on top of monsters..
    Could have been pretty cool, as megashroom has mentioned, to introduce some enemy AI. Then you could also introduce some more battle, making it a little more about fighting than just avoiding. but yeah, 48 hours isn't that long :)
    I enjoyed it!

    SmudgedCat says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:26am

    You should definitely start off with some kind of a weapon. I did manage to survive and buy a weapon at first but it feels very unfair to be dumped into the room right on top of a load of monsters. Nice idea though!

    brogrammers says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:30am

    I think you perfectly know how upgrades can be addicting... (:

    Erhune says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:33am

    Interesting concept, but popping inside monsters make for a quite fast game over which doesn't feel deserved. Otherwise, pretty solid concept, and nice realization (I liked the pixel graphics and the small animations are a nice touch).

    Sh1rogane says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:33am

    Good game, liked the graphics and the concept but wish there was a attack animation

    AdamHarte says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:34am

    Graphics a really nice. Love the chunky pixel look.

    Gaspard_ says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:35am

    Could you make it playable with arrow keys?
    Kinda got a french keyboard...
    Would like to try your game.

    Latcarf says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:36am

    Nice addictive game, a little hard at the beginning and a little easy in the end. I managed to get the golden shield and the golden sword at which point it's easy to kill all monsters everytime.

    Mekuri says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:38am

    Nice game, I really liked the idea.
    The buy menu confused me a bit, since I got no response from the menu when I bought stuff, so initially I thought it didn't work, until I noticed that my gold (which is hidden behind the buy menu) was decreased, and my guy was holding a shield.
    I liked the graphics, and the sound. Also, as the others pointed out, it would be cool, with somekind of AI.
    The difficulty was a bit random, based on whether or not you spawned on top of zombies.
    If you decided to continue developing on this game, I might very well become a player of your game :-)

    frogcheese says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:39am

    Good game! I think the balance is good as it is - keeps you on your toes. Though it was a bit irksome to sometimes be spawned right into the middle of a zombie mosh pit. Really nice graphics, and the music helped set the dungeon ambience.

    maxking1234 says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:43am

    Gaspard_ - Just done it, if you re download it should work :)

    dkilford says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:51am

    Cool game! I got up to level 6-4 before I quit.

    It took me a few playthroughs to understand what was happening but here's my feedback:

    Some kind of animation or visual indicator showing what your attack hitbox is would be good. On my first couple of playthroughs I was unsure it was hitting until I learned what the sound to look for is.

    Spawning the player ontop of the zombies is one of the biggest problems, and caused most of my early deaths. Once I learned to clear the right side and stand to the right of the shop it was fine.

    The game definitely gets easier as you get more powerups, almost allowing me to walk into enemies purposely to mow them down.

    I really liked the concept, and I think with some more work you can make it something pretty entertaining. I managed to unlock all of the items and have a lot of excess gold afterwards. Great work!

    maxking1234 says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:55am

    Thanks for all your comments guys :)

    ratalaika says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:18am

    Really good, great graphics :)

    autlos says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:45pm

    Hey, another libGDXer here!

    I like your game, that screen-switch each 10 seconds is a great idea for this theme. Funny graphics, good tutorial and decent sounds.

    There is only one thing: I think I have to wait 5 rounds before I can purchase a sword. You could give something like "apprentice club" at the start, you know.

    I will study your code and learn a lot, I'm sure ;).

    GNecro1 says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:34pm

    Good game but it is too short after i got all the gold stuff i was op and zombie AI is not good but overall it is cool game

    Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:20am

    I liked the room switching mechanic.

    Tegu says ...
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:32pm

    Nice idea, but definitely needs some kind of AI especially when the spawning isn't random but can be used as a tactic instead (for example, stay at the lower left corner and you'll spawn to corresponding position in the other room). Having realized that, getting a golden sword and shield was easy and then killing even easier. And the shop should be more responsive as mentioned here.

    maxking1234 says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:45am

    @Tegu - The spawning already works like that i.e Bottom left corner, will go to bottom left corner.

    blackotus says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:06pm

    The graphics are simple and work very well :)

    You should have a weapon sooner in the game, I think. The hand-to-hand attack you start of with is kinda hard to measure your reach.

    Nice concept :)

    Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:15pm

    I sometimes spawned inside of zombies, which would kill me instantly. The combat felt a bit boring because it was just about smashing the spacebar really often. The tutorial was definitely a nice thing. The game can be improved by fixing these things and adding things like more unique rooms.

    parrotlord says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:17pm

    Liked the graphics! 10 seconds in the safe room felt kinda long though since there wasn't much to buy- maybe buy health instead of having it regen?

    foumart says ...
    Sep 13, 2013 @ 9:04am

    I like that gladiator scheme but the enemy is too beatable.. I left when I got the best equipmemnt. Quick fix will be to make less the regeneration. There must be assassins of some kind there otherwise the zombies have chance only if you spawn just in their swarm (and you left finger off spacebar to rest for a while). Also need at least an attacking animation but considering the compo timeframe it's nicely done!

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]