Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 78 days, 17 hours, 9 minutes, 55 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon)


    Ludum Dare 27

    August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

    Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Gravity Spy - PaidGEEK - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    A game where you have to reach a goal without getting spotted by sensors. Green sensors will not hurt you, however
    they switch to kill-on-sight mode every 10 seconds for 10 seconds.
    Gravity for objects works in the direction of the closest surface.
    Every level can be completed very quickly if you plan your path wisely.

    Controls:
    -WASD or arrow keys
    -Space to jump

    Timelapse: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lJnx3XB117I

    View PaidGEEK's journal. | View all entries by PaidGEEK

    Ratings

    Coolness86%
    #32Overall3.94
    #60Graphics4.06
    #77Mood3.62
    #80Fun3.64
    #144Innovation3.64
    #158Audio3.28
    #593Theme3.14
    #778Humor1.88

    Comments

    Cherno says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:15am

    Really nice looking game, feels quite polished. Love the gravity as well; you can create some pretty awesome orbits with it. Only thing is, levels don't have much diversity, and what's up with the 10 second time that restarts? Not sure why it's there (apart from because of the theme). So yeah. Apart from that though, really sleek game.

    TaleLore says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:44am

    Feels really nice. At one point I went whirling off into orbit haha.

    Ravetcofx says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:51am

    I love this game! it has great gravity functions! good job with java my brother! The only thing is I donr see how it fits with the theme.

    lcass says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:07am

    Very nice.

    PaidGEEK says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:10am

    Thanks! The thing with the theme is that original idea was to have 10 seconds grace period and 10 seconds state when you can die. So your job would be to sneak by. But then I got carried away like with everything I do.

    Rabbits... says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:14am

    Loved the intro music but it got stuck on the tutorial for me.

    Yaguar says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21am

    Fantastic. Was absolutely beautiful. The gravity added a whole new level to it and it was tense with the music and watching for the moment the timer switched them back to green.

    The Jahn says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:25am

    didn't seem to work with the theme much, but it's still a pretty great game. definitely some fun controls and the graphics are spectacular.

    Falcon says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:36am

    Highly polished, I like it. :)

    raincole says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:12am

    It feels like magnetic force, not gravity. I'm always surprised by these well polished games.

    Tork says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:36am

    Great game, simple and fun!

    Ravetcofx says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:00am

    I cant stress how much I love this game....

    Andrio says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:40am

    Ahhh :)

    PTSnoop says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:50am

    Very nicely done. The gravity-switching mechanic takes a little while to get used to, but I love the way you gradually introduce it. And the music and graphical style both really help create the mood.

    Xera says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:50am

    Really fun, except the controls. The fact that your directions change all the time takes a lot of getting used to. Otherwise, great entry!

    josefnpat says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:46am

    Very cool game! The controls are really clean, and movement is awesome, even with the gravity changing! Great job!

    SmudgedCat says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:46pm

    Awesome game! It's really well polished.

    It took me a while to figure out I had to get into an orbit to complete the second. Once I did that it made me realise what the possibilities were.

    I'd suggest making the points where the sensors change color more obvious, have them flash in the last second or something. And at times I wasn't sure where the source for a sensor was, might be nice to have a graphic for the sensor to remove any doubt.

    PaidGEEK says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:18pm

    Thanks all! P.S. I inlcuded a broken file for one of the maps by mistake. It's fixed now.

    MadcoreTom says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:28pm

    Awesome stuff!

    Friday says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:31pm

    Really nice and polished!

    flamecow says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:12pm

    Wow, this game looks brilliant. It's rather interesting and the gravity manipulation is really wicked.

    Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:54pm

    Wow, this is great! Controls should be more responsive, but the gameplay is quite unique.

    Sh1rogane says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:26pm

    Fun and good game, like the lightning alot

    oajfh says ...
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:16pm

    Nice lighting. Gravitation manipulation is slick, although the way the character jumped caught me out on occasion (just me, I suppose). Nice game, but long levels though.

    Vavassor says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:01am

    Very nice how polished this game is. Found it really difficult to wrap my head around the controls until I figured pressing left and right corresponded to clockwise and and counter-clockwise around the surface. Once I got the hang of it, it got much more fun.

    PapyGaragos says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:39am

    First game I really enjoyed, so first game to get 5 stars for me :)

    PaidGEEK says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:21am

    Thanks a lot!

    juaxix says ...
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:50pm

    Nice physics, lights and shadows :)

    Prudiiarca says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:52am

    It's one of the games I will keep and play several times... So nice!

    SaintHeiser says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:30pm

    Great idea but awful controls. Can't understand the direction when I landed on the wall. It's often fatal...

    GlennBrann says ...
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:22pm

    I really like it, controls are great, also love the gravity

    rincewind_cz says ...
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:29pm

    Really nice work! Good choice of colors, really good implementation of base idea and that subtle audio fits the overall atmosphere well. My only complaint are the controls.. I can't really tell why but I can't get used to them.

    Sergey Mohov says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:46am

    Unfortunately, the jar doesn't work on my Mac. I've got Lion if that helps.

    Diptoman says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:44pm

    I loved the level progression. The art style of the game is very interesting and polished! The music definitely adds to the experience. :)
    Great job on this!

    kristof says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:34pm

    Cool concept and looks great. The controls are a bit difficult in my opinion as the ball is not always moving in the same direction as the key would make you think. The music produces a great atmosphere.

    johntheperson says ...
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:54pm

    Really nice game. Very polished. The level design could probably use a little work, sometimes it's pretty unpredictable what will happen when you get fling out of one orbit into another. One of the most complete entries I've seen so far.

    Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:34pm

    Interesting, very well polished and fun game. I enjoyed it loads! I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 video compilation series, if you'd like to check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MGdyZZ8iT10

    emveyh says ...
    Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:08pm

    Cool graphics, great gameplay and fitting audio. Awesome job!

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]