Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 29 days, 7 hours, 15 minutes, 29 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    ASTEROIDS! (the side-scroller) - Custard Games - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    You play as a rather unfortunate test pilot aboard a "minimalistic" rocket ship (no unnecessary features such as slowing down or landing), who has to attempt to navigate his way through a field of asteroids without getting smashed to a billion pieces!

    My first Ludum Dare entry, and the second game I've ever made! I've decided to go for a game with very simple mechanics, but is difficult as hell to win. While most people chose to go for a minimalistic art style, I've decided to keep the controls (only up/w and down/s) and actual gameplay minimalistic instead. It seems extremely impossible initially, but after awhile you get the hang of it.

    I programmed the game from scratch in Java, using ecplipse for code, and paint.net for all the textures. I will be posting a post-mortem either on LD or on my website. (www.custardgames.com)

    If anyone actually manages to beat the game, post a screenshot with a timestamp next to the winning page!

    View Custard Games's journal. | View all entries by Custard Games

    Ratings

    Coolness62%
    #100Humor3.40
    #310Fun3.26
    #416Overall3.30
    #443Graphics3.19
    #455Mood3.00
    #537Audio2.74
    #790Theme3.30
    #1169Innovation2.17

    Comments

    DdlyHeadshot says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:09pm

    Really quite a fun game, not that I've managed to get very far...

    psychopsam says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:12am

    Great game, and I only got to 52 seconds. Nice and simple and easier to learn. Hard to master. Nice thing about the 'tader too. Well done!

    karlin says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:04pm

    I really enjoyed this and the art was great. Best I managed was 28s.

    Andrei Barsan says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:33pm

    It's quite fun, but a tad difficult, even after getting used to it. It would be more fun to progress through (shorter) levels, with each being a tad harder than the next.

    Galvesmash says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:47pm

    Great Game man! Too difficult D: My best time was 43s (btw the first asteroid was the best! XD)

    hardycore says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:47pm

    Great little game! I think you got teh difficulty just right! Its amazing how much that background sound does for teh mood of the game! Good art too!

    ericlass says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:48pm

    Cool game, but I'm not fast enough.

    ComicSans says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:49pm

    Rocket # should go up every time you restart. ;)

    smealum says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:54pm

    neat little game ! nice art, funny intro (also loved the easter egg when you get "mashed" into the potato :P) and minimalistic gameplay that fits the theme pretty well. good job !

    orange08 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:47pm

    Rather difficult. I would have liked to be able to shoot at incoming asteroids to clear my path. Pretty nice, anyway.

    Gravity Games says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:45pm

    Wow, I really liked this one, but I wasn't able to beat it. Funny alternate message when you hit the potato BTW...

    Purplescape says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:00pm

    Fast paced and fits the theme well. It's also really difficult. Nice space potato

    dalbinblue says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 4:25am

    Fun! Reminds me a lot of the iOS Hypership out of Control.

    ilovepixel says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 5:59am

    The movement was really fast, I think the best I did was 42s. It's still a nice game and kept playing for a few rounds.

    powstrike says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 6:25am

    Lawl this game is too easy, have completed it 4 times already on my 3rd hour of trying. P.S I'm asian.

    Proof! http://imgur.com/NKKHxdh

    patrickward says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 3:07pm

    Holy space potatoes, that's fast! It's quick, but fun. Kudos to whoever beats it. Nice job on the graphics, humor, and sounds.

    Ernyz says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 3:18pm

    Woah, that was pretty difficult O.o still, the game fits the theme perfectly :)

    TheBenjaneer says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 8:59pm

    Lol, I wonder who else found that easter egg?
    ( for the record, i thought there might be one there, and wondered what would happen, I'm not actually that bad at the game xD )

    Nice game. Pretty Challenging

    sudorossy says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 12:05am

    Fun game. Love the 3D effect the asteroids give.

    S0larCode says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 6:15pm

    So difficult, but in a good way!

    messiano says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 6:17pm

    Loved the humour and gameplay! Quite addictive.

    lightsoda says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 6:34pm

    Hard, 60 seconds seem way longer. The prize is totally worth it though!

    loxo says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 6:34pm

    Fun to play, but quite hard. The story is really good too. Though, I don't like that the asteroid field is different every time.

    Jellycakes says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 6:34pm

    Really fun game. Definitely minimalist and kept me interested even though I kept dying. The end prize was definitely worth the pain though. Nice job!

    GranaDa says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 12:13pm

    Good game. Really hard to master. Loved the graphics and colors. Good job!

    Skoggy says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 2:01pm

    Very simple yet fun and challenging. Kind of like a bullet hell shooter with no bullets.

    Dietrich Epp says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 8:32am

    Cmon, give me some shields. Controls are solid and it's fun, but too hard.

    May 18, 2013 @ 11:25pm

    Bah! Ignore anyone who says the game is too hard! It's a video game challenge at it's finest! Hard, but fair and rewarding! Nothing ground breaking, but very well executed.

    May 20, 2013 @ 7:44pm

    I really dig the art style. I never got very far but I think you could polish this up to be quite fun.

    shawn42 says ...
    May 21, 2013 @ 12:49am

    Very fun.. and HARD. Got mashed right away! 43 seconds was about my best. Fun game and I love your style of art.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]