Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 16 days, 22 hours, 46 minutes, 25 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Shoot (AAA_FPS_GOTY) - quill18 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Just one gun, no ammo, and no complex terrain. "Shoot (AAA_FPS_GOTY)" only contains the elements that are absolutely required for a fun PEW PEW PEW experience:

    - Multiplayer, with automatic server assignment and room joining. (Up to 16 players!)
    - Bots to fill empty slots.
    - Health/Armor pickups for strategic movement and map control.
    - A metric ton of death sounds.

    Shoot can be played offline vs bots, but for the best experience you should play online...with friends to frag!

    ******

    The creation of "Shoot." was livestreamed from start to finish in front of ~8,000 unique viewers. Ludum Dare just wouldn't be the same without you guys!

    Looking for people to play with? Jump into this Raidcall channel -- there's probably someone online!

    Raidcall Channel ID: 6104517
    http://raidcall.com/

    Twitter: @quill18
    Email: quill18@quill18.com
    YouTube: http://youtube.com/quill18
    Livestream: http://twitch.tv/quill18

    Tools: Unity 3d/C#, Photon Unity Networking, A* Pathfinding Project Free. Blender, Photoshop. All sounds were made using a my voice, plus some Audacity filters.

    -------

    UPDATES:
    - Accidentally included the server auth info in the original source upload. New version uploaded with new auth info.
    - Mac version

    View quill18's journal. | View all entries by quill18

    Ratings

    Coolness58%
    #34Humor3.78
    #48Fun3.81
    #82Overall3.82
    #108Audio3.56
    #353Mood3.15
    #397Graphics3.26
    #732Theme3.36
    #964Innovation2.54

    Comments

    adamfrye says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:57am

    its pretty sick... i saw the whole Live stream of it

    longcatlover says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:58am

    I saw the livestream too. nice game!

    ps3master72 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:03am

    Awesome game, loved the livestream

    xgeovanni says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:20am

    Brilliant game. Once again one of the best entries in the compo.

    HeyChinaski says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:24am

    Love the sounds. Sometimes I wish that there was a voting metric for technical accomplishment because this is quite impressive. Network code and Bot AI in a Ludum Dare Entry. It was fun to duck out of mayhem of coding my own entry to watch quill18's livestream every once in a while.

    ecool377 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:48am

    Awesommmmmeeeeee

    TrentSterling says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:40am

    The voices are what turned this game around for me! I watched the stream on and off and wasn't that into it, but the final product is pretty good!

    SkyWolf says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:15am

    Quill, SkyWolf (or @akaSkyWolf) here. I couldn't be there 'till the end of the stream, but congrats on the great accomplishment. :)

    Diventurer says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:33am

    This game is so awesome. :D
    Loved the livestream!

    martijn says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:31am

    Pretty good game. Added dialog was a nice touch.

    Livestream was awesome

    raoz says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:37am

    It was fun, watched the livestream.

    EdoMiyamoto says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:32pm

    Played it just after submitting, very relaxing !

    Moromann says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:18pm

    Another amazing game by you! Love all the death sounds, they really gave me a good laugh! Especially the Kittenzilla reference :D

    bummzack says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:25pm

    Impressive game. I like the top-down view before you respawn. The sound-effects are awesome too.

    ElScootro says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:43pm

    Wow, impressive!

    daredevildave says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:49pm

    Impressive stuff. Love the audio.

    Frib says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:43pm

    GOTY material

    DalsGames says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:15pm

    Awesome little game! Sick that you could pull that of in 48 hours!

    Brassawiking says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:43pm

    The quick version of 7DaysFPS =)

    Blinked says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:15pm

    This is brilliant! I love the voices :D Really well made game!!!

    LionelJitro says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:31pm

    An amazing game. I'm in awe that you got that done in 48 hours. The voices are hilarious, and it feels great to play. Well done * 20.

    BradleySmith says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:33pm

    Really really fun!

    Jellycakes says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:33pm

    Really fun playing in multiplayer and the characters make you laugh. Definitely worth playing!

    Canobie says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:11pm

    very cool!

    cmayhem says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:21pm

    I can't believe he made a networked multiplayer game in just 48 hours. Amazing and awesome. The voices and sounds make it.

    One nitpick: you can get stuck quite easily on the center structure.

    free_napalm says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:46pm

    Definitely impressive work.

    TheMightyComp says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:40pm

    I gave this one a near-perfect score, and with good reason. It's super ambitious, executed perfectly, in tune with the theme, and (most importantly) incredibly fun. Easily the best LD game that I have reviewed so far!

    TobiasL says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:20pm

    The bots are really talkative :)

    Michael Hall says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:50am

    This is game is really fun to play, I like the simplicity of it. Voiceovers are pretty hilarious as well.

    ddionisio says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:33am

    Definitely gives the feel of a shooter game with the random banters! Very humorous, I had a good laugh! All it needs now is the quake-style-banter in the chat log, e.g. "player 1 just ate player 2's explosive banana bomb", etc. then this game would be AAAA_FPS_GOTY

    ilo says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:46am

    This is a crazy accomplishment for 48 hours.

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:03am

    Impressive. The death cries were a nice touch.

    AirRider3 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:44am

    Best LD game so far. The death cries... :')

    gilmore606 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:45am

    Incredible.

    simvig says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:57am

    For always saying that you "don't art", you sure have a good sense of what ends up looking good. And your sound effects are awesome!

    Hejsamanful says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:44pm

    Best game so far i have seen!

    gr33d says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:05pm

    This is fantastic--very impressive for just 48 hours.

    Prelucid says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:43pm

    Nice, I wish I knew anything about making a multiplayer game.

    jhice says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:38pm

    Nice remake of Shootmania :) Correct gameplay !

    JustinMullin says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:56pm

    Nice use of simple graphics, fun game. Amazing what you can do in such a short time.

    guestcheap says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:01pm

    Pretty clear you didn't sleep. Great game!

    stromchin says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:07pm

    Very awesome game, thanks for making it.

    Khaldrin says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:14pm

    Really, really awsome! The gameplay is fast-paced, the character models are fun and the death sounds are just hilarious! Incredible that you pulled that off in 48 hours. I´m impressed. Great work!

    MinionStudios says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:16pm

    Quill, you mad man! I watch quite a bit of your twitch, the game came out amazing! I PWNED many many times. FUN

    pereubu says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:21pm

    hahahahaha that was a lot of fun :D

    SenorDiablo says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:24pm

    nice

    nilstastic says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:58pm

    Pros: Insane! Great work using free tools to create something like this in the amount of time we had. Just awesome =)
    Cons: Hard to control, was bouncing all around the place and had no idea why.

    klianc09 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:03pm

    Well, not the most innovative game. I didn't have too much fun with it... Maybe it's because I don't like FPS that much?
    Sure it's polished and everything and impressive that they accomplished this within a weekend, but somehow it's not really interesting. (Except for the death sounds, which are really great, they are basically the only reason to keep playing.)

    Dir3kt says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:20pm

    Nice. Technically impressive. When I played we were 4 players.

    I like the idea of 'minimalist AAA game' :)

    juaxix says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:02pm

    Lego men killing each other...could we build something together? :)

    multitude says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:37pm

    Great to see a multiplayer game on LD. i wish there would be more players online. but the bots are fun too. thanks for the nice game

    HybridMind says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:06am

    Had a good bit of fun with this. There were a few folks playing on and off when I was. Glad there were bots too. Great work creating this in a weekend!

    May 1, 2013 @ 2:12am

    Bravo!

    bb_buster says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:58am

    Pretty awesome game, very impressed with how well it all works together. Good job =3

    Mase says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 5:05am

    Nice banter. Tragically nobody was online when I played but it was still pretty fun.

    Uhfgood says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 6:21am

    I didn't see the live stream. It was interesting, but I was never any good at multiplayer games.

    Thijsku says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 9:41am

    Too bad there was no one online in the multiplayer, so I had to fight against bots. But it was fun anyway! I loved the references to annoyed gamers. :p

    Good job!

    Ismei says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 9:44am

    I can't believe you made this in 48 hours. I loved the voices.

    gre says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 12:02pm

    Good job! nice voice and lego style :)

    Cheers

    entrusC says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 12:37pm

    Nice Quake clone - but sadly gets boring very quick. Still very impressive that you did this in 48h and funny voices! :)

    bytegrove says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:27pm

    Really impressive work for 48 hours! The gray graphics were a little boring, I think you could've tweaked them a little for a pretty cool Tron-esque style. The voiceovers were a really nice touch! Nice work!

    lightsoda says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 3:57pm

    Pretty fun, good job.

    May 1, 2013 @ 6:15pm

    Amazing. Just to have multiplayer working not to mention it being playable.

    d_durham says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 7:44pm

    Really impressive work! I thought the 'skycam' overview during respawn was a really nice touch, and the gameplay was solid.

    theomnis says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:02pm

    Awesome game! I just wish some people were online to play it when I was.

    TheSarcastic says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 9:54pm

    Wow! Really awesome :)

    TheBenjaneer says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 11:23pm

    Nice Game. Pretty fun, good Humor & audio.

    May 2, 2013 @ 5:29pm

    Wow, impressive work! Bots are very hard, though

    Love the sound-effects, they make this a lot more fun :)

    Alucard J says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 9:51pm

    Was totally amazed watching this game being developed, on the live stream it was being play tested after only 8 hours. An incredible achievement, and I challenge anyone to be able to play this and keep a straight face. Well done =]

    PAMVllo says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 12:18am

    Really funny I like it! I follow your stream while I was doing my game

    PsenFilip says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 1:28am

    I watched a bit of the live stream as well. Actually I was watching your channel right when the theme was announced.

    I played the game and had a great time a couple times. Pretty funny.

    Congratz on the dev side of things as well as getting thousands of people to at least interact with creation and game development process.

    mrx says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 3:03pm

    pretty darn funny! pitch shifted voices are awesome!
    Well done on getting it out in such a short amount of time.

    MetroidMan347 says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 12:43pm

    I love how much the bots look like LEGO figures.

    ZYXer says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 7:23pm

    Technically perfect and full of humor. Nothing else to be expected from quill18 ;)
    I do miss an element which would make it more than just another FPS.

    Nick Cash says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 6:20pm

    Played in multiplayer just after the submission and had some fun. Very impressive work for 48 hours. I love the sound effects :)

    voxel says ...
    May 20, 2013 @ 10:07pm

    Does exactly what it says on the tin. Cool stuff

    CoMMoN says ...
    Sep 28, 2013 @ 7:43am

    Thanks for the source code, but I'm having errors with version 4.2 unity3d large number of errors that I can not fix it, tell me where is there for this version? Thanks in advance for timely and quick response.

    Aug 2, 2014 @ 4:39am

    Pretty cool ! I love it ! :D

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]