Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 73 days, 6 hours, 22 minutes, 48 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Flipcrusher - Royal Railway - Jam Entry

    GAMESPOT PLAYED THIS ON INDIE HOUR. :D Watch at 36 minutes into the clip:
    http://www.gamespot.com/shows/indie-hour/

    You play as the captain of a spaceship and you are just about to find what you have been seeking for so long. The source of the mastery of space.

    Unfortunately we only had time to make two levels! The physics for the first one took almost a day (12 hours) alone.

    View Royal Railway's journal. | View all entries by Royal Railway

    Ratings

    #75Fun(Jam)3.54
    #78Audio(Jam)3.63
    #84Overall(Jam)3.65
    #91Innovation(Jam)3.54
    #150Humor(Jam)2.70
    #169Theme(Jam)3.56
    #249Mood(Jam)3.05
    #392Graphics(Jam)2.76
    #1564Coolness39%

    Comments

    Diventurer says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:12am

    Awesome game! :D

    finefin says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:04am

    very nice game. and also quite hard - I didn't make it through the first level :( but still a good game.

    stevejohnson says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:18am

    Wonderful intro, and an actual game! Who'd have thought?

    Korda says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:23am

    Really well done and great execution

    Royal Railway says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:57am

    Thank you all!
    @finefin: There are only two levels, and if you do beat them, you'll get an outro too!

    finefin says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:30am

    okay. I'll try again ;)

    HelkeGames says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:46am

    Awesome game, well done ;)

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:00am

    TOO TRICKY

    erdos says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:13am

    Wow, 5 for mood in this one, very cool. I couldn't past the fire though, I thought maybe getting all the coins would do it but there's one coin about half way down the first level I can't seem to get and keep going. Great game though!

    ananasblau says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:50am

    i'm impressed by the level of detail. multi-platform, an intro, the game ticks all the boxes. great game.

    Alphonsus says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:45pm

    I love the mechanic. Fun gameplay but kinda tough. Great work!

    glbs says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:36pm

    Nice game, the mechanics are fun and intuitive, and the music makes it pretty immersive.
    It's just a bit too punishing to retry from the beginning at the least error/ especially when you have to wait for the player to stop against a wall... Apart from that, well done!

    Royal Railway says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:17pm

    Thanks everybody!

    Soundtrack is available for free on Bandcamp (just enter 0 as amount): http://royalrailway.bandcamp.com/album/flipcrusher-original-soundtrack

    stqn says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 9:05pm

    Having to quit the game and restart from the beginning and watch the intro after each failure is really annoying. Great music though.

    Royal Railway says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 11:43pm

    Wait for the ball to stop, it will automatically reset!

    Thanks!

    Dietrich Epp says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 7:10am

    Took me a couple tries to figure out that I could get past the first level by collecting all the coins. It would be nice to have a "warm up" level or two that demonstrates that you need the coins, and how some of the tricks work. I couldn't quite beat the second level though. In response to your question, my IRC nick is "depp".

    Royal Railway says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 2:21pm

    Well, each level was meant to be different, so there would be no more ball rolling coin collecting levels anyhow.

    metaldemon says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 2:26pm

    Awesome little game! I like the concept. but I am not very good at it. shame on me :D

    Beerman says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 6:04pm

    Way too hard for me. Good fun though.

    stqn says ...
    May 17, 2013 @ 11:10pm

    @Royal Railway: the ball didn't stop, or at least it didn't look like it would.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]