Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 24 days, 6 hours, 9 minutes, 14 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Hyperborea: The Secret of the North - Cake_Catastrophe - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Your long journey has brought you here. To the North. To the lost city of Hyberborea. The gates of the city stand shut, undisturbed since ancient times. The legends tell that they are shut by a powerful magic, and can only be opened again by one who can reclaim the city's lost treasures.

    The treasures, looted in eons past, must still lie somewhere in these lands, guarded by the elements and the ghosts of the past.

    Controls: Numpad or arrow keys for movement.


    Coded in Lua, using Love2d.
    Art finger-painted on a touchpad, in Paint.NET.
    Sound effects created with SFXR.
    Music from freesounds.org: http://www.freesound.org/people/Setuniman/sounds/155784/

    The mac and linux versions are actually the same .LOVE file, which will require Love2D to run. If you have issues with the game on 32bit windows, you may also want to try using the .LOVE. Love2d is avaliable at: https://love2d.org/

    View Cake_Catastrophe's journal. | View all entries by Cake_Catastrophe

    Ratings

    Coolness57%
    #215Mood3.34
    #435Audio2.90
    #711Fun2.81
    #721Overall3.00
    #758Graphics2.76
    #863Theme3.21
    #936Humor1.71
    #1014Innovation2.44

    Comments

    techmonkey says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:56am

    I liked the attention to detail with the footsteps, and the general feel of the game but I feel like there was room for improvement with player movement and I sometimes lost my point of reference.

    HelkeGames says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:06pm

    I love this game, well done!

    josefnpat says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:17pm

    Very nice. Collision and movement could have been cleaned up, but other than that, a nice little puzzle!

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:32pm

    @techmonkey: I toyed with the idea of putting in markers for the various gate or gem locations. But in the end, I didn't want to clutter the UI. Would a single pointer to the Red Gate have been enough to keep you from getting lost?

    @HelkeGames: I'm glad you enjoyed it!

    @josefnpat: Glad you liked it. Yeah, I could have given the movement a little polish, and the monster's attack code was hacked in before I wrote the hitbox code, so they reach a little further than it looks like they should be able to.

    Ragzouken says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:32pm

    Minimalist graphics and sound used to very good effect! It really looks great.

    Agree about movement and collision being a bit clunky.

    Macroz says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:59pm

    Good job! There was a very good mood in the game and the graphics fit it. There was also some mystery. I would have liked diagonal movement. And perhaps interesting fights :)

    ddionisio says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:18pm

    I like the feel of the game, really conveys what it's like to trudge across a snowy fields with nothing but shadowy things to keep you company. The foot tracks across the snow indicates danger and is more than just aesthetics. The red and blue circles feel out-of-place in the world though.

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:25pm

    i too love the footsteps and mood and dislike the collision mob detection hehe..good job man :)

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:44pm

    Very cool and scary music, also interesting concept :D

    TenTonToon says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:54am

    You had me at "Hyperborea" :)
    I like all the little details that you put in there, and the way that you bothered to create a save system. But, on the other hand, I'd liked to know why I was walking around, looking for brightly colored spheres in the middle of that barren land. Not that it matters, but it would help me as a player to keep pushing forward.

    Do the "monsters" track you using the footsteps the PC leaves on the snow?

    Congratulations! :)

    fullmontis says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:05am

    Very creepy mood. Nice sound and music! Wish I could say the same for the graphics.

    Kalakian says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:04pm

    Nice game. As others have said, movement and collision could do with a bit of work. A little text (either in game or here) about how to play the game (controls) wouldn't go amiss. The character looks as though he's holding a sword, but I bashed a few buttons and there doesn't seem to be an attack

    Jyrkface says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 5:26am

    Is there a 32Bit windows version?

    Ryusui says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 5:31am

    Loved the "negative-world" effect when you enter the blue doors (little warning - there's a spot where the effect kicks in outside the northwest corner of the southmost one). I just wish the ending were a little less abrupt - like one final dungeon sequence. Also, am I the only one who instinctively reached for an "attack" button?

    May 2, 2013 @ 9:49pm

    @TenTonToon
    I've put a little bit of intro story up with the description now. I considered working some story into the game itself, but I'm a poor writer and I think on the whole it would have detracted from the experience.

    The monster movement in based on where you were a couple of seconds ago, but not specifically on the footsteps. I was more thinking of this from the reverse perspective - using the footprints as a warning of nearby monsters. Very nice idea though. =)

    @Kalakian
    It's meant to be a traveller's walking stick, but you're not the only person to see it as a sword.

    @Ryusui
    I would have loved to have a short ending sequence or final area, if I'd had the time left.

    @Jyrkface
    Ah, I didn't realise there would be issues with the exe on 32bit windows. The version I've put up as the mac/linux version is actually a multi-platform .LOVE file - if you get love2D (if you don't have it already) you should be able to run that: https://love2d.org/

    lasergans says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 11:25am

    Like the minimalistic graphics and the footpath. Good job :)

    May 4, 2013 @ 10:11am

    Controls were wonky - if you hold down one direction, and then a second (e.g. up+left) and then release the second, the first isn't resumed, the player simply stops.

    nuprahtor says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 10:28am

    Collisions seems to be a bit inaccurate, but the overall, especially mood, is just great.

    alts says ...
    May 18, 2013 @ 8:54am

    Very pleasant experience. The addition and implementation of checkpoints felt very nice. Reduced some of the frustration due to the movement and collision detection. Those two issues are really the only things that mar this. Otherwise it's quite enjoyable. Good work.

    paulmcgg says ...
    May 18, 2013 @ 1:38pm

    Good mood, liked the footsteps in the snow. I feel like I didn't quite solve it (finished with 2 blue, 2 red) and was missing something with the negative land (I noticed how it always red there, so felt like there must be some kind of way to switch). Music added a lot.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]