Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 4 days, 22 hours, 24 minutes, 33 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 4 days, 22 hours, 24 minutes, 34 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Minimalismism - tayl1r - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    My take on the Minimalism theme was to create a platformer consisting of a single screen. As you progress the environment shifts providing new obstacles. Tools of choice were: C#, XNA, Photoshop, sfxr and pxtone.

    Requires NET and XNA. The latter's redistributable is in the zip as it's probably less common.

    View tayl1r's journal. | View all entries by tayl1r

    Ratings

    Overall4.26
    #4Theme4.56
    #5Fun4.10
    #75Innovation3.88
    #75Graphics4.04
    #102Mood3.62
    #368Audio3.02
    #690Humor2.05
    #1775Coolness26%

    Comments

    Cybearg says ...
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:01pm

    Hm... It doesn't seem to work for me. I run the executable, but nothing seems to happen. Too bad--the screenshots look like the game has lots of visceral fun!

    tayl1r says ...
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:16pm

    If it's not running you'll need the redistributables. Sorry about that.

    tayl1r says ...
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:25pm

    Actually, I will put the XNA one in the zip as it's pretty uncommon.

    TheColorMan says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:27pm

    Very interesting! I love the fact that the levels shifts and the levels are interesting! good work

    Baknik says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:36pm

    It was interesting to be able to play different "levels" without having to load or go through a level selection screen. Particle effects were great. I just wish you could do more than jump.

    tayl1r says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:55pm

    Thanks for your comments!

    Re: More to do.
    I wanted to keep this as streamlined as possible. More player functionality, or at least a more interesting array of obstacles, would be definite goals if I was aiming for a more ambitious project!

    qdowngames says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:01pm

    What the! favorite game by far. Of all the platformers, this has the smoothest controls and coolest effects - nice work!

    HeyZeus says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:12pm

    Awesome!!

    Kashi says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:18pm

    Very cool game idea! I enjoyed playing it a lot. The sound was annoyingly loud tho... :x

    Jools64 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:22pm

    This game is super cool!

    The level transition animations are awesome, I'm really impressed you managed to put together so many in the time given.

    I really like the graphics too, very minimalistic but also very stylish.

    My only minor complaint is that it was a bit too easy to breeze through. Only one jump ever gave me any trouble.

    Great game, nice work!

    AnTiCamPr says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:22pm

    Simply Amazing! (wish it had more levels though)

    Ryusui says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:25pm

    That was amazing. I only had two issues - one, the "long jump over the lava pit" sequences were a little on the unforgiving/trial-and-error-y side, and two, some background music would have been an awesome touch. Other than that? I loved how the map kept transforming every time I touched the flashing icon, complete with awesome particle effects. Heck, watching the whole screen disintegrate as I found my way out was a more satisfying ending than some full games I've played. XD

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:26pm

    Wow that was awesome, I loved it! Really satisfying victory screen. It was perfect how you kept it simple to fit the theme but you should expand on it more now. This would work great as a cell phone game.

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:28pm

    Yeah, I'm on a mac so I can't play this. I did see your gameplay video though, and it was beautiful!

    I've seen the whole morphing room concept done before, but the explosions and particle effects really bring flair to the proposition.

    saguaro says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:38pm

    This is one of my favorites! So simple, so addictive, so minimalist. Lovely.

    3.14 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:45pm

    You totally nailed the effect of changing the level. The particle and sound fest is amazing. I loved the ending!

    zkenshin says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 12:53am

    Nicely done. :)

    tayl1r says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 10:56am

    Thanks again. Ambient music, 'live transforming' and some moving platforms for harder/interesting jumps are definitely features I wanted! I’ve never finished a LD before and wanted to keep it bite-size. :)

    Webravenz says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:53pm

    awesome transitions ! and great amounts of levels good job

    Aron says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:56pm

    Wow, even if it's not that hard or long it is a very polished and well thought through game. I really liked the idea of playing in one screen the whole time and changing the levels without leaving them.

    Rex Peppers says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 3:25pm

    Can't play windows games :-(

    geepit says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 5:50pm

    Awesome, cool idea and the transition as the levels shift to form the new ones looks really nice

    jackspinoza says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 6:49pm

    enjoyed this, concise, succinct and fun. Nice length that left me wanting more (totally interested if you make more). good work, thanks.

    QXD-me says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:16pm

    That was good, I really liked how the levels readjusted themselves during gameplay. My criticisms would be that it took a little too long (in my opinion) to get to the challenging parts and also the audio was really grating by the end. Maybe you could randomise the pitch slightly to avoid this?

    pereubu says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 11:01pm

    waw, just ... damn addictive, great job, it's one of my favs :D

    Felix20 says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 11:13pm

    That was pretty awesome, the effects were cool, and the "level" design was really good. Especially with the minimal amount of stuff. In fact this is one of the best entries I've played as far as the theme is concerned.
    Also I like how at the end it just closes ;)

    jwolf says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 2:31am

    Wow, that was really neat. It's interesting how you've portrayed a progression of different levels just by rearranging things.

    lekochen says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 9:04am

    PERFECT.

    blackmagic says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 11:51am

    Super entry !

    bbrown2 says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 7:20pm

    Cool beans. Most true to the minimalism theme of all the games I've played.

    BNeutral says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 4:35am

    Awesome~

    Alphonsus says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 4:49pm

    Very simple and enjoyable! Love the level transitions. :D

    JigxorAndy says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 10:15am

    A really awesome game with a very cool take on the theme and platforming. Nice ending too! Great work!

    brxtr says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 11:26am

    Fun, quick and flowing to play, with an interesting gimmick, though perhaps not used to its full potential, gameplay-wise.

    Husky says ...
    May 15, 2013 @ 1:11pm

    Pretty cool!
    I like the particle effect and your concept!
    Great work! :p

    Haette says ...
    May 21, 2013 @ 12:16am

    Please sir, may I have some more?

    Orni says ...
    May 23, 2013 @ 10:07pm

    where's the source though ?

    tayl1r says ...
    May 25, 2013 @ 12:30am

    It's in the same download in the src directory.

    Jun 23, 2013 @ 4:00pm

    I'm a Linux user and can't run the game. Even wine couldn't make it run. Please use some multiplatform tool next time! When you develop a windows-only software, you obligate your user to purchase the windows thing. And the money is not the problem, the goal is about freedom and break the chains of the microsoft slavery.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]