Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 2 days, 2 hours, 22 minutes, 5 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 2 days, 2 hours, 22 minutes, 6 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    LOOP - vandriver - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    A very simple story game. It's dark, but it has a potato.



    Made in game maker studio. I started by recording music, and this is where the game ended up. Light on actual gaming and more atmospheric. Needless to say I was pretty much adrift when it came to this theme. It was not a good guide!

    There is a hidden ending in there that I didn't quite get the chance to flesh out. I kind of had a change of heart regarding the darkness in the story on Sunday and threw it together. I blame the darkness on my not liking the theme, and now regret hating on potato.

    View vandriver's journal. | View all entries by vandriver

    Ratings

    Mood4.54
    Coolness55%
    #4Audio4.34
    #4Overall4.25
    #16Graphics4.32
    #34Fun3.88
    #185Innovation3.63
    #325Theme3.77
    #402Humor2.48

    Comments

    SonnyBone says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:46pm

    As always, you did an amazing job. Good to see that you got sound this time! Your approach to the theme was perfect. The game doesn't say much but it says SO MUCH, which is the entire point. You nailed it. Seeing the extra gravestones was a nice touch, and the progression of abilities kept things fresh when the game is already SO unique to start with. Nice effects with the leaves and clouds, and the ending with the particles was a very nice surprise. My favorite part is how the animation of the bird is affected by the speed of movement.

    The audio is VERY WELL DONE. You totally nailed the mood and atmosphere.

    Keep it up!

    TenTonToon says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:07am

    Awesome little jewel of a game! Had me thinking about it for a while after I played it.

    I liked the mood, strengthened by every little detail you put in there. And there was a lot of those.
    Graphics-wise, I loved it: from the NES-like pixel art to every effect to pulled out of your hat - the leaves, the particles, the change of scenery.
    The music is also great, and the feeling of flying around is very, very nice.

    My only complaint, if I had to name one, is the potato thing, that to me detracted from the overall experience.

    Other than that, the best LD26 game I've played thus far. Hands down.

    If this is what you can come up with with a theme you hate, I can't wait to play whatever comes out of a theme you actually like! :D

    Congratulations! :)

    Robert says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:13am

    The controls were amazing. Landing on things felt very birdlike. Fantastic mood.

    Kix says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:16am

    That was absolutely fantastic! Amazing atmosphere. took me a while to work out what was happening but then at the end. I loved it

    GertJohnny says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:22am

    Oh no, I could have gotten that heart a different way! It didn't need to end like that! Super enjoyable to just fly around through the forest. Excellent work !

    ilo says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:53am

    This is how story in games should be done. There is something very satisfying in playing it, just taking pleasure in the scene, its sounds, the movement of the bird and being able to caw, even though it didn't appear to have a consequence in the game. Thank you.

    reverso13 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:21pm

    Very nice game ! Love the concept

    minibutmany says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 12:25am

    Gee whiz, now I have to think about what it means! Great game, great wordless storytelling. The audio really enhanced the whole experience. Bravo.

    Kitch says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 12:28am

    wow... beautiful.

    wolfadex says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 12:45am

    Astounding! I'd definitely play more of this.

    kazukishida says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 3:09am

    cool thing you did there where the elements react to the player especially the leaves when you pass through them! i enjoyed the music too! game play is fine for me but im most curious on the story. i'm still not finished but i will soon enough :D Great game!

    LPGhatguy says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 3:16am

    That was amazing.

    Ryusui says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 6:07am

    Amazing. I just wish I could figure out how to get that hidden ending!

    Beerman says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 6:27am

    Wow, that was really quite impressive. Love the attention to detail in, well, everything. The leaves, the animation of the bird - everything feels really polished.

    May 1, 2013 @ 8:47am

    Lovely and interesting (if sad) story.

    stqn says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 10:15am

    Pretty cool. Worked fine under Wine (apart from the blatant absence of vsync). Couldn't find the hidden ending...

    vandriver says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 10:26am

    Thanks guys! Yeah I couldn't make the hidden ending easy enough to get, adding it so late. Its pretty simple though: don't rip the little girl's hair. Sit quietly at her feet. I wanted you to just be able to perch anywhere near her to trigger it but fucked up the hit box. Ah well.

    klianc09 says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 11:02am

    Thank you, now I'm afraid of crows....

    "I'm just a crow sitting on a branch, going up in flames. Really chilly day, isn't it?" - had a great time playing this game.

    caranha says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:12pm

    This game is very, very good. As others mentioned before, I love the mood, the music, and all the little details - like the family on the first scene (so easy to miss!)

    If I would change one thing, it would be to somehow remove the invisible wall to the left - instead of a wall, maybe make a mini scene of the master calling, and the crow moving back?

    Thanks for the experience!

    hissssssssss says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:41pm

    The mood in this is wonderful. You got all the little details right, like approaching something to perch on it. This feels good to play.

    The night sky background was glitching for me, but other than that, it was gorgeous.

    vandriver says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:54pm

    @caranha oh man that's a good idea, how did I not think of that. I threw the borders there hoping to make something of them later, but couldn't think of anything good, except for the ground of course. The ground is always a good border!

    multitude says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 11:02pm

    very sad game - but good to see a game that does not have a happy ending. ;)

    My Milked Eek says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 11:08am

    Brilliant game.

    axcho says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 5:36am

    I couldn't figure out how to get the heart and gave up. :/ The guy's voice sound was funny though.

    SonnyBone says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 6:51pm

    Saw the alternate ending finally. REALLY AWESOME!

    QXD-me says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 5:36pm

    Really good game, I especially like the bird-like feel of the movement.

    I didn't really like the android port - virtual buttons? Really? (I rated based on the windows version.)

    vandriver says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 5:43pm

    Ah yeah, I made the android port after the compo and wanted to keep the exact control scheme. I think reformatting control for touchscreens might be beyond the scope of porting, though I'm not certain. Just played it safe.

    Jan Marcano says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 9:00pm

    Simply amazing, the atmosphere was way too good.

    I liked the details of the family story and how it kept evolving and changing after every "fetch". I had to do a second run to see the dead dad with the mother and the daughter there.

    Man, you gotta teach me how to do particles, they were really good. You managed to do lots of really cool effects.

    The audio was really moody and added a lot to the overall experience. Flying like a bird was a really sublime experience and landing on branches and other stuff really amped that up.

    Can't praise you enough, want to see more stuff coming from you!

    Hayawi says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 10:49pm

    WOW, really nice game, and I love how theres an alternate ending

    Jellycakes says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 10:49pm

    That was pretty cool. I liked that it had an alternate ending, was fun to find that out. Was a pretty good story, from what I get it's to do with a guy getting stuff to turn young or something. Nice job!

    sP0CkEr2 says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 3:50am

    that was awesome!!! i had to finish it -- great job!

    ethankennerly says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 4:41am

    Clever story! The animations and graphics evoke the magical feeling and slowly reveal the sinister cycle of sorcery.

    Misael.K says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 5:35am

    So gorgeous. Such a simple way to tell a story and succeed.

    dansludumdare says ...
    May 10, 2013 @ 6:47pm

    /: I didn't know I was going to rip out the little girl's hair, and I didn't realize z was deadly when I was on fire.

    I wish there was more variety in gameplay. Maybe that's tied to so easily accidentally being mean to the girl. Scavenger hunt is kind of boring, but scavenger hunt where you think morally about the items you collect is cool.

    I'm only going into specifics on what I didn't find said anywhere else. This game is awesome.

    Drabiter says ...
    May 11, 2013 @ 1:42pm

    I have no Windows so I use the Android version, it has no sound. Overall it works well so I can still play.

    mildmojo says ...
    May 20, 2013 @ 5:35pm

    Nicely done. I didn't find the hidden ending, but I liked the progression of time a lot. The snow, in particular, was an unexpected surprise. The fire effects looked great within your aesthetic, too. And the music & sound sounded perfect.

    The details, like lighting on gravestones and vocalizing, were really nice touches.

    Purplescape says ...
    May 20, 2013 @ 10:56pm

    This is one of my favorite entries, it's awesome. Excellent mood. I wish there was more to play. I love it!

    SonnyBone says ...
    May 21, 2013 @ 2:00am

    HELL YES! LOOK AT THOSE SCORES! Congrats on the gold medal and the really solid audio score. For your first time using audio, that's gotta feel great! AND 4TH OVERALL? YESSS!

    vandriver says ...
    May 21, 2013 @ 9:15pm

    Hah thanks, though I'm not sure this deserved where it got perhaps except for mood. I do feel pretty stoked regardless!

    fabman59 says ...
    May 31, 2013 @ 2:59am

    Could someone please tell me how to get the secret ending. It's just killing me trying to figure it out and I just can't seem to. :(

    Jun 23, 2013 @ 5:21pm

    Great work. Great design, programming, graphics, music, sound... The only con is the limited (maybe inexistent) adequation to the theme.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]