Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 29 days, 9 hours, 43 minutes, 19 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 64 days, 10 hours, 31 minutes, 19 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Dream Fishing - Sophie Houlden - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    The dreamiest of fishing experiences.

    Timelapse here: http://youtu.be/f__WJvRVu9E

    View Sophie Houlden's journal. | View all entries by Sophie Houlden

    Ratings

    #10Mood4.25
    #20Graphics4.29
    #23Overall4.06
    #51Audio3.77
    #66Innovation3.93
    #74Humor3.54
    #107Theme4.09
    #217Fun3.40
    #1485Coolness42%

    Comments

    BipolarMike says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:20am

    Well done Sophie, it's a beautiful game :)

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:31am

    Omg this is adorable! I caught a magical dream-fish! :D

    The walking-sounds make this thing, somehow. Can't stop grinning at the tap-tap-tap-noise

    thristhart says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:52am

    I didn't think this theme would lead to any interesting games 'til I saw this one.

    I'm at a loss for complaints or recommendations - my only gripe is that I wish the sound made when the bait hits the water varied more, because I tried to make music and it didn't work! :D

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:06am

    Beautiful.

    Chman says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:37am

    Lovely game, controlling the fishing rod felt great. It's a shame the walking sound effect breaks the immersion. Other than that, great work.

    alts says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:13am

    The audio in the game is stellar. The yellow fish is rather difficult to get, and I'm sure catching it would reveal some insipid tidbit about dealing with exactly that kind of adversity. Well done.

    Orni says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:19am

    adorable game
    I love the fishes

    one of my favorite games so far

    Thomas Bowker says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:54am

    This is great. A lot of games just stress me out and this game make me realise I'm sick of that.

    I should learn from this. Thanks for making it.

    GetFun says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:56am

    I loved the art and... howly.. a flying fish!

    zerebruin says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:12am

    Wonderful atmosphere! Love the sound walking makes.
    Although I'm not a fisherman and didn't catch any fish it was quite fun just to walk around and throw the line.

    Idovoodoo says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:21am

    Beautiful, relaxing game. Love it.

    Thomas Bowker says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:51am

    This is great. A lot of games just stress me out and this game made me realise I'm sick of that.

    I should learn from this. Thanks for making it.

    NiallM says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:28am

    This is wonderful.

    justin35f says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:46am

    Great game!

    daredevildave says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:46am

    That is lovely! Particularly like the super-simple control scheme (and instructions when you try and use the keyboard)

    JigxorAndy says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:23pm

    A beautiful game! The fish are so cute and I love the little snippets of advice they give. Makes me want to catch them all!

    Kimau says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:26pm

    Wow that was an awesome short experience. Loved the footsteps and little sounds.

    negativeview says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:28pm

    This is a game that I would play when I needed to let my brain background-process something. It's interesting enough to not get boring, but doesn't take much brain power.

    The walking speed was slightly frustrating (I felt like it took forever to get places) and I REALLY missed WASD. I'm not using to clicking to move.

    The font is absolutely beautiful and the advice is VERY amusing.

    The advice honestly makes the game. If the fish just went into a basket or something I'd probably be giving you low marks. Funny how one silly thing can just completely raise the entire feeling about a game.

    Dissing says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:29pm

    Love the walking sounds! :)

    grimpunch says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:49pm

    Lovely! :)

    Follett says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:07pm

    Whaoo thats some crazy stuff. The game was great but the sound effects when you walk made it amazing ! loved it!

    Kvisle says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:35pm

    This is really cute. The quotes that come up reminds me of certain people's Facebook-postings.

    I like the sound.

    I'm not sure if there's an end in this game; I didn't reach it.

    DST says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:59pm

    Yay, fishies! ^_^ There's a certain zen about it ^_^

    Ysty says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:08pm

    Fantastic, and a really impressive amount of work in 48 hours.

    Norgg says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:13pm

    <3

    Reminds me strongly of the awesome bits of Animal Crossing while being entirely its own thing.

    Michcioperz says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:19pm

    I spent more time playing with sounds than actually fishing :)

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:25pm

    YOLO

    hughsk says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:58pm

    This game has a great style! Lots of little details which work really well :)

    Frib says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:25pm

    Sounds fishy! But other than that, very nice. Green cookies are not healthy.

    Leoche says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:55pm

    Beautiful game!

    tonic says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:20pm

    Whoa, very nicely different and fun game! Far-away fishes are a bit hard to catch. The walking sound is funny. :) Well interpreted minimalism, with controls and gfx.

    William Bundy says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:49pm

    As nice as the landscape is, I didn't really engage with anything in the game. The fish didn't have anything particularly original say, (but who could expect them to--they're fish) and I stopped finding the nonsensical lines funny before I finished the first one. However, the game feels like a dream, and fits the theme perfectly. The best part of the game, though, was using the fishing rod.

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:12pm

    I enjoyed doing a bit of fishing, and then the fish started talking and grew wings to fly away, at which point I was bowled over with charm! Some ethereal, reverbed pads in the background would totally complement the atmosphere of this (not sure about the organ footsteps, but hey it's a dream right?)

    atrodo says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:44pm

    Awesome game! Very fun.

    Loren says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:10pm

    really nice job, wonderful style and audio :)

    BumpkinRich says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:18pm

    Saving this for those stressed out times. Which means I'll be playing a lot. Keeping the controls with just the mouse is great but I did feel I was disturbing the fish with my footsteps.

    Your use of shaders is truly inspiring.

    lucasncv says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:24pm

    Basically the best game ever? I love how the fishes fly back to the lake. Now I know why you love fishing games so much.

    Banana lampshade.

    McFunkypants says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:40pm

    OMG a fishin' game? This must be your dream come true! I love the fish mesh - and the wisdom - and that fact that they can fly away. Sweet, fresh and fantastic. Shades of Okami. GREAT WORK!

    dray says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:43pm

    Probably your best LD, i really enjoyed EVERYTHING, the walking sound, the little quote from the fishes, the feeling of the fishing, congratulation, you amaze me :)

    invaderJim says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:43pm

    I love everything about this.

    sfernald says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:48pm

    OMG, it's just as hard a real casting - DRAT! Lol.

    But amazing game. VERY well done. This is one of those that is hard to believe it was actually done in 48 hrs.

    Great job!

    jerombd says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:01pm

    One of my favorite entry! Nice relaxing atmosphere!

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:18pm

    I've been following this game since you began it, it really captured me, nice job!

    Xellinus says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:22pm

    Really awesome Sophie. I could just walk around all day and tip tap away.
    Thanks for this ;)

    voidstar69 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:46pm

    Beautiful, relaxing, philosophical. Nice.

    :-)

    DavidErosa says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:00pm

    So relaxing and beautiful! One of my fav entries so far. I'm eager to take a look at the source code! Thanks!

    henrykun says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:44pm

    I want you to know that I installed a mouse-wheel functionality (which wasn't already installed I don't know why) on my laptop to play your game :). It's really cool, love the art and the feeling that it transmits.

    ataxkt says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:26am

    This is fun :D "I ate a shoe once!"

    KunoNoOni says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:36am

    That was serene. I totally felt at peace while playing. Simply amazing. Bravo Sophie :)

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:56am

    Brilliant! Well done!

    ilo says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:27am

    This was a trip in more ways than one. :)

    cmjd says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:29am

    Cool game, I had a bit of fun mucking about with the fishes on the line, and it was a rather soothing game to play :D

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:14am

    Indeed, very dreamy. Fits the theme nicely.

    Andrewves says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:33am

    This game is amazing, the visual style and sounds suit it perfectly.

    finefin says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:10am

    yes, graphics and sound are very nice. but the best thing in my opinion are the controls: to use the mouse wheel for the reel is really intuitive and the right-click walking also works very nice. 5/5

    FREEZX says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:12am

    Nice one, like the random fish quotes :D

    Colapsydo says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:35am

    I like the fact that it possible to catch the same fish over and over, you can forge links and even take it for a walk if you don't feel to catch it completely.

    Ragzouken says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:39am

    The walking sounds are very cute :D I really like hearing what the fish have to say - a nice incentive to catch them!

    Xgor says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:46am

    Kinda cool graphics but it's really hard to get any sense of depth and thus it becomes kinda hard to catch fishes.

    berareu says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:20pm

    Fantastic, it's so dreamy!

    TheCze says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:46pm

    Very clever controls!

    josefnpat says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:22pm

    Ack! The fish talk!

    This is fantastic. This will be the first game I give 5/5's on in each catagory.

    bobiniki says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:35pm

    Great job! Really well done.

    raarlac says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:55pm

    Beautiful game! The game play is genius, walking around never been so awesome. Nice job

    Skywilly says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:03pm

    Houlden's touch. Like always, is beautiful. Congrats !

    theomnis says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:47pm

    I ate a shoe once...

    kannas says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:10pm

    Nice game. i like when i find, once in a while, a gmae where the concept of replayability is actually well implemented :D
    Actually, i spaced out a bit when i found out that the fishes would say some existential/comic haikus. It was a good surprise. Damn, i need to play more of your work, miss! >:D

    Zoidbergtron says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:19pm

    I loved everything about this game! To this point it might be my favorite entry. I don't even like fishing games, and I love this. Bravo!

    0beah says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:20pm

    I love the walking sounds. The phrases said by the fish say are hilarious and intriguing at the same time.

    0beah says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:20pm

    I love the walking sounds. The phrases said by the fish are hilarious and intriguing at the same time.

    Hegemege says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:23pm

    Nice work Sophie! I loved especially the way the caught fish grows fings and flies away :D

    DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:30pm

    Cute! Not really playable with a trackpad, but I don't mind, I feel like the mouse-only control is really the whole point.

    Your walking sound could have totally been dreamier! That's what I would have changed, though the current one has a cute charm to it too. Also I would make it so that you've got more and more music building up over time as you catch fish, but....that's just me because I always do that ;P

    Thunderbirds are Go

    Dir3kt says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:33pm

    Beautiful. Felt so peaceful while exploring this little world.

    Yakka says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:33pm

    This game is close to perfection. Great idea for user controls: I like to feel relax by playing with just one hand. One negative point: I had some dificulties to evaluate distances with fishes.

    Markusn says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:35pm

    perfect. not much more to say

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:50pm

    Really wonderful and beautiful game.
    Love it!

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:01pm

    Beautiful game, so relaxing and thoughtful. Loving it!

    bytegrove says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:28pm

    Really soothing game, loved the atmosphere, the tunes when you walked was a really nice touch. I was really surprised at what happened when you caught a fish, really cool! :) I would've liked to see the fishing mechanics expanded upon though, maybe making it possible to scare the fish away if you walked too fast or splashed around in the water too much. The game fit the theme really well, nice work!

    leafo says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:46pm

    This is a pretty cool game. Great atmosphere. I like what the fish had to say.

    recursor says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:27pm

    This game has a great feel to it with graphics to match. More fish please!

    Beardbotnik says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:01pm

    Fantastic game, it just fits the theme so well and the gameplay is very relaxing and the dialogue seems quite inspiring! Great music too, overall just amazing!

    Porpentine says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 1:39am

    wow the controls are so elegant

    ignoring conventional WASD and realizing right click is just as good...god i love smart decisions like that

    May 1, 2013 @ 3:35am

    Totally beautiful. I love the highbrow/lowbrow dialogue.

    LionelJitro says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 5:30am

    Really pretty game.

    Love the dream like atmosphere created by such simple graphics and lofty sounds. I'm so happy the fish fly away.

    Otoris says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 6:10am

    Nailed all the ratings in my book! I wish Nintendo would buy this concept from you and implement your fishing into all their Animal Crossing titles!

    LionelJitro says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:24am

    Really pretty game.

    Love the dream like atmosphere created by such simple graphics and lofty sounds. I'm so happy the fish fly away.

    CogComp says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 1:59pm

    Humorous and relaxing and very innovative. Well done!

    d_durham says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:29pm

    Sets a great mood, and all the interactions are simple but really satisfying - the audio adds a lot here. A really nice way to spend some time.

    Jonny D says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 6:11pm

    What a nice pairing between proverbs and nonsense. My kids loved it.

    zkenshin says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 7:04pm

    Absolutely stunning. :)

    Gravel says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 7:31pm

    Peaceful, warm and relaxing. I like the controls, simple and efficient. And those fishes, they are crazily wise.
    Great!

    Travis Irby says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:05pm

    So well done thanks for this! Going into my bookmark folder to play some more later :)

    May 1, 2013 @ 8:16pm

    I absolutely love this game. Very in touch with the theme, great graphics and mood that complement each other, and quite fun to play. One niggling issue for me is the footstep sounds seem a bit loud and jarring compared to everything else in the audio, but by far my favorite entry so far.

    entrusC says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 9:49pm

    Inspiring game. Lots of good advices :) But still fishing for the potato ...

    Ithildin says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 10:55pm

    Brilliant entry. It creates such a relaxed, dreamy experience...Great job!! =)

    JAH2488 says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 1:07am

    Love it in every way!

    tacograveyard says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 2:16am

    D'oh, my mouse doesn't have a wheel :(

    pansapiens says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 2:37am

    Wow .. this is great ... but how will I ever eat a fish again ! Casts my mind back to the days of fishing in Animal Crossing (pun totally intended).

    sharbelfs says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 3:12am

    Ohhh god, this is minimalistic. And not in the visual only, in everything. Great game.

    Thein says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 5:10am

    Excellent game! Amazing controls and atmosphere.

    Misael.K says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 6:36am

    This is very good, great job! The "deep" quotes with the bizarre endings just sound like advice from a dream NPC.
    The fishing mechanics and the little sounds are great.
    I found the graphics to be too washed out to my taste. Yes, it is a dream after all, and there are some colors, but there's just too much white.

    Fadobo says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 9:02am

    Simply beautiful. I wouldn't be surprised to see you winning a couple of categories.

    May 2, 2013 @ 9:16am

    Stylish and well presented. Not as much as a game as a peaceful experience. Would almost like to see World of Warcraft style fishing (or something) at a minimum so you have to pull when you get a bit or miss catching the fish. Watching bobbers and timing pulls is fun :) Very polished effort, though.

    Lizzip says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 10:33am

    A fish just gave me life advice and flew away? Woah.

    MegaBrutal says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 3:07pm

    Nice game, good idea. Funny how you love the fishing theme, you bring it up quite often. :) I love the dreamy atmosphere and the colors in this game, and the funny punchlines of the wishdom quotes. ("Avoid dogs with hats."; "Boobs, lol.") :D

    There is a fish deep that I can't seem to able to catch. :( Is there a way to throw farther?

    Some wishdom text doesn't fit on the screen, is it intended? Also, it's not intuitive how to quit gracefully from the game - ESC doesn't work. I always had to kill the process. I'm running the Linux build.

    It was funny to see the timelapse, as the development process was suspended by anime cartoons, twitter and IRC sessions. :D

    Really nice work overall, here are my ratings:

    Overall: 5; Innovation: 4; Fun: 4; Theme: 4; Graphics: 5; Audio: 5; Humor: 5; Mood: 5.

    Entity2D says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 3:13pm

    Cute game, I loved the minimalistic graphics and the footstep sounds. Great work!

    Andy Go says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 3:56pm

    I love it :)

    PsenFilip says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 5:00pm

    The game sure fits the theme well. I liked how the fishing rod plays quite well.
    The sound is certainly charming.
    Pretty much zen fishing :)

    rogueNoodle says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 5:09pm

    Thunderbirds are go!
    Also, I loved this game :)

    pereubu says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 7:06pm

    Well, i don't see anything not cool, I really love it. It's like the complete opposite of radical/ridiculous fishing :D

    multikorv says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 9:54pm

    Nicely done! Couldn't catch anything though.:( Style looks great, nice mood.

    Willowblade says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 9:57pm

    Somehow when I caught that fish and it did its thing, I got urges to boot up a random episode of Adventure Time.

    Great design, great little gem. Very relaxing.

    SonnyBone says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 10:07pm

    Really solid. REALLY solid. Everything works the way it should and the way that you'd expect. The colors, the minimalism, the sounds, the text. It all fits together so perfectly. It makes you think, and it forces you to slow down and soak up everything life has to offer. Boobs lol

    QXD-me says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 10:53pm

    That was amazing.

    marnaouf says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 12:09am

    Really great work. Love everything about it from the fishing itself to the things the fish say.

    BenW says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 1:08am

    Congratulations on making a great game. If I had to pick out a few minor complaints they would be that I wish the lure hitting the water had a sound a bit different from the walking noise and that it stand out a little more. Also I had some trouble judging depth because the water eventually just became white although I'm not sure how you would address that without ruining the wonderful art.

    MinionStudios says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 1:29am

    Are you kidding me? That was awesome! A winner is you (maybe)

    Maple says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 1:40am

    I don't know about fishing, but I had a fun time swinging my lure around in the air, dragging fish along the shore, and catching fish when there was still one trying to tell me something, haha.

    plash says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 1:56am

    Notes:

    - Yay! Another Unity game using the configurerizer.
    - This fish ate a shoe once. Oh my god, he grew wings! COME BACK, YOU ARE MY FOOD.
    - I caught a pink one. Oops. I missed its text. Even though the game pauses when you tab-out, it still updates timers. I'll stay in for a bit.
    - Rod physics are nice. Sound effect when lure hits water.
    - No, I am not awake, Lady Green Winged Dream Fish.
    - I caught the gray one! It is indeed important.
    - These fish are very philosophical.
    - The shoreline is animated. I like it.
    - I keep trying to WASD.
    - These fish say different things. "Never seek, never find. Banana lampshade." Dreams are always weird.
    - "Dedication has only one cost; the cost of everything you have. Avoid dogs with hats."
    - I think I've caught every fish at least once.

    Things I would change:

    - ADD DRAGON FISH. MUST CATCH DRAGON FISH.

    BNeutral says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 4:18am

    Needs more buoyancy.
    Nicely done though!

    MaxSzlagor says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 3:20pm

    Beautiful game. Perfect fit for the theme in all respects. If I had one gripe, it would be that catching the fish seems a little too random and unresponsive, but everything else about this entry is pure joy. Thank you!

    someone says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 6:47pm

    That was beautiful.
    Loved the walking sound.

    DaanVanYperen says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 7:27pm

    The controls are so intuitive, overall a very unique piece of relaxation!

    DarkX2 says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 7:35pm

    A very nice and beautifull game. The things said by the fish are pretty nice.

    Keevor says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 5:45am

    I've been waiting to play this this since i saw it. I was not dissappointed

    vontrapp says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 6:55am

    Extremely polished. The mechanics are joyful!

    Cake&Code says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 8:17am

    Really cute game. It's lovely, and the messages from the fish were both endearing and humorous. I love the audio for the game in particular! It works with the atmosphere of the game, very light but sort of light hearted and whimsical as well. My only complaint was that the controls were a bit strange for me since I'm using a touchpad. It took me a few days to find my mouse in order to properly play it. I don't think I saw a keyboard equivalent, but that would've been nice.

    May 4, 2013 @ 8:43pm

    Great game and simple.

    Angerus says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 7:01am

    That's the kind of poetico-psychedelic game that I need a Sunday morning!A shame that there is not something to solve beside catching fish like a riddle(and fish give us clues)...or did I completly miss it? Anyway, congrats!

    Jod says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 3:20pm

    This was awesome. Very relaxing. I loved the Philosopher fish.

    Boobs lol.

    May 5, 2013 @ 5:52pm

    Interesting idea for the theme. it fits very nice. Fishing, to me, seems pretty minimal! Love the sounds and the light pastel colors. The fishing felt pretty solid too. :)

    Geen says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 9:34pm

    This is magnificent.

    ZYXer says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 10:38pm

    Wow! Great game! Poetic, funny, and with nice physics and lighting. Sound also fits perfectly.

    ("Boobs, lol" - I couldn't stop laughing xD)

    Definitely the best game I've seen so far.

    euwaku says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 2:19am

    Very cute game!
    Maybe the controls could be slightly improved (no way to move backward?).

    Edgy Mirrors says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 8:01am

    Sweet game. Couldn't catch the last fish. But I'm just a suck fisherman, I guess.

    vapgames says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 9:31am

    The deep fish was deep.
    Great game!

    Sebastian says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 8:34pm

    Never Seek. Never Find. Banana Lampshade.

    I thought that was beautiful, thank you.

    Taro Omiya says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 4:13am

    At first, I expected some sort of thoughtful experience, but instead, I got some Dadaist poetry. The absolute ridiculousness these fish spout actually helped me enjoy the game more! Great job, and dream on!

    Jeremias says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 2:46pm

    Fits the theme very well. Felt nice and the controls were smooth. Just great.

    SuperDisk says ...
    May 11, 2013 @ 3:38am

    Footsteppings reminded me of chibi-robo, but the game can be summed up in basically this:

    -Catch fish
    -Deep quote
    -Goofy question
    -Go back to step 1

    I guess it was deep, or something.

    Codexus says ...
    May 11, 2013 @ 11:55am

    The fishing mechanic is nicely implemented, cute fishies.

    mildmojo says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 12:01am

    Delicious game. Excellent concept. The instrumental tones for walking and splashing were inspired. It took me a bit to get the hang of casting, pulling, and reeling, and I consistently cast my line too close, but I got pretty good at retrieving fish by the end. The fish looked great in motion.

    I played the standalone version for Linux. I use an inverted Y axis in 3D games, so this was a little tough for me to navigate. Luckily, there was no time pressure (unless there's something special for catching two fish at the same time). The text also rendered off the left side of the screen, like it was sized for a higher resolution. It wasn't cropped much and because it appeared slowly I didn't have any trouble reading it.

    mildmojo says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 12:05am

    Oh, and I wanted the reeling action to be reversed so I felt like I was pulling the fish toward me with my trackpad or mousewheel, but maybe you use a mac with backwards scrolling. =D

    lotusgame says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 2:11pm

    Mmmm :) I like when entries have something truly different from others (just test mine to see what i mean:) Anyway yours is a must see.. so magical !

    Ryusui says ...
    May 16, 2013 @ 5:17am

    Beautiful, surreal, and subtly off-kilter. Loved it.

    r3d5 says ...
    May 16, 2013 @ 7:53am

    So.. Good...

    blackmagic says ...
    May 17, 2013 @ 10:21pm

    Very pleasing, control scheme is very interesting, a great experience :)

    lorancou says ...
    May 18, 2013 @ 5:10pm

    The controls are perfect! This is how fishing games *should* play!

    maloki says ...
    May 19, 2013 @ 5:02am

    Love the art!

    Jan Marcano says ...
    May 20, 2013 @ 1:02am

    Simply amazing <3 Cant praise this enough, it was a really enjoyable and lovely experience

    SnoringFrog says ...
    May 20, 2013 @ 9:32am

    Hm...interesting. I found it entertaining for a bit, then noticed what turned out to be the gray fish way down near the bottom. Other than that minor challenge though, the game gold old fairly quick for me. Still enjoyed it until then though.

    Rafael Sales says ...
    May 20, 2013 @ 10:48pm

    Great game. Awesome art and controls! Congrats!!

    rosa89n20 says ...
    Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:20pm

    I like the footstep sfx when you holding right button, is so cute :) first fish is easy, but other 2 is kind of hard.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]