Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 75 days, 14 hours, 52 minutes, 45 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Naked Shades - Lamia Queenz - Jam Entry

    by Andi McClure (http://runhello.com)

    and Porpentine (http://aliendovecote.com)

    A Twine game with a persistent online world, naked ghosts, and murderous lamias.

    To our knowledge this is the first networked implementation of murderous lamia attacks in a Twine, and the first online multiplayer Twine ever made.

    Comprehend the ecosystem, and you may find the ending.

    (big thanks to leon arnott)

    View Lamia Queenz's journal. | View all entries by Lamia Queenz

    Ratings

    #34Mood(Jam)3.85
    #45Innovation(Jam)3.81
    #137Humor(Jam)2.76
    #144Overall(Jam)3.47
    #178Theme(Jam)3.53
    #236Fun(Jam)3.00
    #500Graphics(Jam)2.28
    #1689Coolness32%

    Comments

    protensity says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:35am

    I like the feel of this one. It's not as much about narrative as it is about the feeling of each piece.

    Is there an ending? I couldn't find one. I also ran into a bug with a corpse.

    mcc says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:33am

    Hi protensity-- we fixed two bugs with corpses during submission hour, one gamebreaking, and this would have been uploaded after you played. With the bugs fixed we tested and it is possible to win. Porpentine has done it.

    triplefox says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:53am

    i'm winner

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:14am

    Very evocative.

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:27am

    I didn't win... I made lots of Lamia run away, but in the end I think I got lost. Maybe I'll make a map next time.

    L says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:34am

    This is the greatest videogame in human history.

    Radiatoryang says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:37am

    VICTORY

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:50am

    Oh neat! This is multi-player? I didn't realize that! I had hoped that my game was the only multi-player interactive fiction... OK well I will give this another spin and put more effort into understanding.

    (if I'd known Twine could be used for multiplayer stories, maybe I wouldn't have rolled my own).

    Thanks!

    mcc says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:03am

    arrogant.gamer... Twine *couldn't* be used for multiplayer stories before we released this... we wrote the software that makes it possible *during the jam* :D

    I'll be cleaning up and publicly releasing the multiplayer-Twine framework as open source as soon as I can (I need to detangle the game-specific parts from the generic parts, and I might refine the API a little). In the meanwhile thanks for letting us know about your game.

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:09am

    Congratulations on making a multiplayer twine game! Very cool, the sparse use of words in each description does a good job of developing a very vivid mental image. I found myself rapidly clicking through the links for areas I had already visited, which wasn't very fun for me but I believe it to be an action specifically designed into the game to make the shock of death by lamia that much worse. Good work.

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:16am

    Persistence, in a twine game? Nice work!

    jackspinoza says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:25am

    nice nice, I said "miaow" and "parp" into the void. nice economy of words, effective, solid.

    saguaro says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:13pm

    This. Also, I think I ate my own corpse??? Satisfying!

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:31pm

    Hi eskaibo, I enjoyed your piano playing and then I ate your corpse I hope you don't mind!

    enzo says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:10pm

    I got spells like whoa. an aura like fresh cut grass. my ancestors have defeated armies of skeleton warriors. my skin is mossy, like a newborn babe's.

    I can't get enough of this world, gosh

    Loren says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:31pm

    What a cool experience, awesome narrative :) Thanks for sharing this!

    The4thCircle says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:05pm

    uh oh
    The webpage at http://vote.runhello.com:4334/twine/shades.html might be temporarily down or it may have moved permanently to a new web address.
    Error 103 (net::ERR_CONNECTION_ABORTED): Unknown error.

    DkCub23 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:26pm

    Not my type of game, but for what I played, it seemed well made.

    mcc says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 3:01am

    The4thCircle: The server has been having some periodic difficulties. I'm trying to take steps to prevent this from happening again. In the meantime if you see server issues happening please tweet me @mcclure111 and I'll do something quick.

    Jyrkface says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 3:27am

    Super interesting project! Surprisingly fun, but really the fact that you created this twine extension in the timeframe of the jam alone is impressive. I hope it catches on!

    r3d5 says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 7:12am

    How long is it supposed to pause at a blank screen? My screen was dark for a few minutes a couple times. Had to reload.

    mcc says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:27am

    It should never pause at a blank screen for more than a second. *Usually* you shouldn't notice blank screens at all, the blank screen should go by too quickly to notice. If the screen goes dark and stays that way for more than ten seconds, you can assume the server burped and your game is effectively "crashed". Sorry :( We didn't have time to implement retry/failover behavior.

    Foxtacy says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 4:13am

    Nice! kinda like Zork! :D

    sharbelfs says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 4:37am

    Just like old times. Good.

    Sebastian says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 8:57am

    Really really like it! Writing is so good.

    tankete says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 2:49am

    Unique. Not a fan of the style/genre, but that's a preference. Executed well. Should. Have. Made. A. Map. :)

    donp3yote says ...
    May 10, 2013 @ 2:57am

    Gave me goose bumps. I had no idea about multiplayer in IF, that's very unique indeed. I loved the solo campaign just fine though : )

    alwaysinbeta says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 5:14pm

    Lovely writing. Enjoyed playing. Got killed first time, couldn't find ending second time.

    Ryusui says ...
    May 16, 2013 @ 9:10pm

    Sad to see the "ecosystem" had been picked clean by the time I was able to get to it - apparently there's something missing that I can't collect, no matter how many times I die. Other than that, brilliant concept.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]