Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 74 days, 8 hours, 45 minutes, 27 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    HUE - DkCub23 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Use your creativity to get through each of the 40 unique levels.

    View DkCub23's journal. | View all entries by DkCub23

    Ratings

    Coolness64%
    #340Audio3.06
    #404Theme3.69
    #406Overall3.31
    #459Graphics3.17
    #595Fun2.94
    #630Innovation3.03
    #778Humor1.94
    #880Mood2.56

    Comments

    Tahooey says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:05am

    Fun Game, Only downside is file size

    B says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:35am

    Very interesting! Hours of fun :)

    LrdKzrth says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:22am

    Great game, but file size is huge =\

    dissonance says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:27am

    Fun game! I like the use of the mouse to move things to reach the keys. The jumping was a little weird, but overall I enjoyed it. Good job!

    Cory Martin says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:35am

    Pretty interesting! The hue shifting character looks really cool. The gameplay is rather unique.

    HELLO23 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:36am

    Great game, minimalistic and all, also very interesting to play. I got to level 13.

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:43am

    I certainly liked the grid approach, it's almost tile-based movement platforming. but I had a real problem with the controls, things were happening too fast and I always felt a little unsure of the inputs ("should I press right and jump, jump and right?" "why did I fall, I pressed jump!" "crap, didn't I let go soon enough, now I've gone over the edge") - that kind of thing. the concept I'm pretty into, I just wish it felt a little more stable to control :)

    karsyf says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:46am

    I really like this! Deserves a lot more plays

    semi says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:15am

    Interesting concept, but how did the files get so huge? I think the color trail is very pretty, but the discrete movement is not very well suited for precision platforming (I played until level 13). I liked the idea of moving blocks in a platformer. Nice job!

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:26am

    The controls got frustrating after the first couple of levels. Sophie summed up the issues very well. (;

    Good job! ~

    noa says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:33am

    Nice game and very difficult : D

    but huge size O_o

    Michael Hall says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:07pm

    Really fun to play, I like the puzzles

    jkelle says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:20pm

    Nice, game! It's minimalistic, but still requires skill and thinking. It's can be really hard, but that's a good thing.

    Joror says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:45pm

    I am a bit too crappy at platformer-timing to really appreciate this, but the style is nicely minimalistic, and the trail of color is nice. A bit hard to see where you are when you do a lot of in-place jumping.

    May 1, 2013 @ 9:23am

    40 unique levels within the time limit is unbelievably impressive.

    Tanius says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 9:07am

    Simple concept, a bit difficult, for me, but nice graphics and sounds ;)

    Fnkee says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 5:51pm

    Overall an addictive game, with a great concept. After playing level 18 for 20 minutes, I had to give in before smashing in my keyboard in frustration. Your game is really addictive(which is a good thing).

    stqn says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 8:05pm

    Painful due to small platforms and the way key presses / jumping is handled.

    stqn says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 8:10pm

    PS: in fact, Sophie Houlden explained it better than me. Thatâs what I meant. Also the color trail makes it impossible to see where the square is while jumping above, and itâs moving too fast. I stopped at level 3 or 4.

    Spiridios says ...
    May 10, 2013 @ 3:31am

    Interesting platformer. Controls seemed off. I certainly didn't play very many levels, but it was a bit of a drag to get the sudden change in mechanic for one level never to see it again.

    Sylvain.p says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 8:33pm

    Fun game, great idea but I think it's a bit frustrating to not see which blocks are moveable.

    KunoNoOni says ...
    May 20, 2013 @ 1:26am

    What an interesting game. Cool use of theme.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]