Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 2 days, 5 hours, 50 minutes, 37 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 2 days, 5 hours, 50 minutes, 38 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Synesthesis - TheFuntastic - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Conways game of music if you like - A cellular automata musical toy of sorts...

    View TheFuntastic's journal. | View all entries by TheFuntastic

    Ratings

    #5Audio4.23
    #23Innovation4.16
    #152Overall3.67
    #247Fun3.36
    #308Theme3.80
    #437Mood3.05
    #804Graphics2.71
    #1061Humor1.24
    #1284Coolness48%

    Comments

    shawndeprey says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:26am

    I really wish I could vote. This game is very good, sticks to the theme, and is completely enthralling. Fantastic job!

    The only complaint I had was the sound was very quiet.

    GAFBlizzard says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:35am

    Very cleverly done! It is indeed a sort of Conway's game of life with music, but made into a puzzle.

    mortus says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:09am

    I really enjoyed this game. Great work!

    Chman says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:38am

    Really smart game, well done.

    Ian MacLarty says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:52am

    I found this game intriguing, but I had no idea what I was doing. I'd just join up random nodes and click them and eventually progress to the next level.

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:54am

    This is very nice!

    LionOfOrange says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:41pm

    Nice game, the 3D concept good we worked out more imho.

    Galvesmash says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:30pm

    Great game! Cool idea!

    iamorim says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:37pm

    I enjoyed the visual and the idea about having music in gameplay but a little confused about how to win. As Ian MacLarty said he went to the next level 'eventually' .

    Shigor says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:39pm

    This is FUNTASTIC! Too bad there's just few levels (there's some mention of free play in the last level, but I can't do anything more....) I demand more notes!!!

    On the serious side... the best concept I've seen so far

    Hegemege says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:30am

    Really cool concept! It would've been helpful to see the nodes you have connected, but it's a minor thing (in the screenshot they are visible though, I also had some flickering if the camera was in the default position). +1 on minimalistic description

    TheFuntastic says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:32am

    Thank you for all the feedback so far. It is quite lovely!

    @Hegemege don't suppose you will see this, but I'm struggling to understand your feedback, unless there is bug I'm not aware of. The game should be exactly as the screenshot.

    Also for those struggling, the win condition is getting a loop going, which can play the require number of beats and use all the nodes. Should perhaps explain that better next time ;)

    Hegemege says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 11:21am

    Here's a screenshot of the flickering, only happens when the camera has not been moved. http://prntscr.com/1333u7

    And this time playing I can see the connections. Really weird, I couldn't see them the first time. I just got this bug as well http://prntscr.com/133424 , after finishing the level one of the nodes got stuck and keep repeating the audio for it, might be just that the solution breaks after reaching the goal?

    baldwinthree says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 8:24am

    This was an awesome game to play and relax with. I only wish there were more levels! (also the nodes-meeting noise was a bit jarring sometimes)

    Jorjon says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 2:03am

    The best tone based game of this LD.

    SaintHeiser says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 2:34am

    Well done!
    I impressed with this game!
    I didn't imagine that I'll play in musical puzzle game and its not be annoying, because I have not got an ear for music.
    Excellent work!

    Jellycakes says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 7:12pm

    Was pretty nice, wasn't really clear on exactly how to play but I guess I won in the end anyway. Was a nice toy to use but I didn't really play around with it that much. Good job!

    zkenshin says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 5:46pm

    Really great job. :)

    atraxgames says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 7:12pm

    Sometimes i played with tone things, like the one in the chrome experiments, but they are meaningless, instead you were able to make a games out of that. Congrats!

    EatenAlive3 says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 8:28pm

    Nice! It isn't very hard if you use only two spheres and a directional node, but it's awesome making your own sequences if you don't 'cheat' :P

    KEFIR says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 8:33pm

    One of the best! Really great fusion of puzzle game and music toy! Very very fun and enjoyable!

    nimblegorilla says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 3:45am

    The musical tones sound really nice. The three dimensional aspect of the puzzle was also cool. I wish there was a way to add and remove nodes in a freeplay mode.

    bobiniki says ...
    May 9, 2013 @ 3:57pm

    Wow that was fun. Very original idea. I like how sandbox-ish this is.

    MinionStudios says ...
    May 10, 2013 @ 3:00pm

    Wild and fun game! There are a ton of variations and the possibilities of this becoming a huge game are limitless!

    ethankennerly says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 10:17pm

    Connecting black boxes and balls to hear notes lured me. If you continue to develop this, at a later level I was not sure how to do that.

    May 13, 2013 @ 6:15pm

    Wooooooow it has a great potential!!! oO If you permit I think I might use your source code as to make some experiments. ^^

    Sylvain.p says ...
    May 15, 2013 @ 5:50pm

    Interesting concept, but it's hard to understand the light comportment.

    Benjamin says ...
    May 17, 2013 @ 7:12am

    Synesthesis work pretty well as a sandbox. As a game I think it needs a better goal. You can achieve a loop with a lot of different moves, which somehow kill the puzzle aspect. I even finished some level without actually creating a loop but just a very long sequence. I also think that double size node or color would help to recognize the 2 different nodes ( Maybe my bad, because I had to run the game in 640x480. Moving and drag for link was easy and pleasant to use. And of course the resulting tunes was most of the time very nice.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]