Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 30 days, 0 hours, 30 minutes, 58 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Rebound - Creatively Bankrupt - mchaza - Jam Entry

    Rebound by Creatively Bankrupt ( Harrison Smith, Steven Masci and Choo Ming Sheng).

    Controls : A and D.
    Objective: Get the pole far as possible to the right.

    Not as easy as it looks :D Comment your score!

    UPDATE: Dropbox has cancelled our public links for getting too popular, currently in the process of setting up download links in our new site we are currently building.

    UPDATE 2: Links now available, hopefully our web server provider doesn't shut us down also.

    View mchaza's journal. | View all entries by mchaza

    Ratings

    Coolness73%
    #26Fun(Jam)3.81
    #27Theme(Jam)4.17
    #28Innovation(Jam)3.96
    #31Overall(Jam)3.89
    #228Humor(Jam)2.31
    #302Graphics(Jam)3.06
    #305Mood(Jam)2.82
    #370Audio(Jam)2.42

    Comments

    robc says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:51am

    Interesting take. Controls feel rather solid, and it's quite fun scrambling to get the pole to rotate properly so it can be propelled through the stage.

    orangepascal says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:41am

    love the concept! great idea

    ananasblau says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:43am

    Impressive and simplistic game, full scores all around.

    muton says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:47am

    I liked this!

    B says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:24am

    Solid fun game! Had to play it a couple of times to get the hang of the control, but it was entertaining.

    Perry says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:41am

    Hillarious. I found it really likable. Bookmarked.

    cahman says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:15pm

    Very nice entry! The physics felt a little inconsistent at times, but that's more Unity's doing, I think. I got my best score (75) by just holding the A button...

    NiallM says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:18pm

    This is really nice. It's a brilliant wee score attack game. I would have liked a high score display though.

    karlin says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:15pm

    Great game. I found it a little difficult to control at first but soon got the hang of it. I really like the visuals and they fit the theme perfectly. Best score was only 43 but I'll definitely be having another go at it.

    sittaman says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:43am

    Great ideia!

    Korda says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:28am

    Really addictive!

    richy486 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:46am

    I can see this becoming a full game

    Andrewves says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:43am

    Great idea, i love simple games like this.

    SaintHeiser says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:23am

    Fucking addictive! And frustrating! =)
    Good job anyway!

    Aron says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:53pm

    Very solid and neat idea. Had a lot of fun with it. You should put it on kongregate (or similar) as it is a nice highscore game.

    Yoni says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:55pm

    Nice and simple. Reminded me a bit of QWOP (This is a good thing)

    Axelhein says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:55pm

    One of the most fun LD games I have played. Super frustrating in a good way. Very addicting as well.

    fullmontis says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:59pm

    Great game! This is one of the best takes on minimalist gameplay I've seen so far. Simple yet extremely complex to master.

    multitude says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:32pm

    Cool! Love the idea and the game play - pretty hard and tons of fun

    pighead10 says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 4:25pm

    Solid controls, fun game, and fits with the theme. Good game!

    wallmasterr says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 9:47pm

    fun and addictive, realy hard, kinda like qwop

    pknowles says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 2:47am

    great idea and game! as with many physics based games it can be quite frustrating (especially when you nick the side of a square and lose all your momentum to angular rotation) but very addictive. nicely polished controls. I got 165.4 by taking it slow and trying to keep the pole at a constant angle. The level gets quite hard there and you need a lot of height. Does the level ever end?

    gameXcore says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 7:52pm

    Excellent, this is the new QWOP...

    May 6, 2013 @ 7:56pm

    Wooah - quite hard. It took some time to get it controlled. Great game, fun and addictive and it fits the theme! I only missed some music.

    May 9, 2013 @ 10:52am

    This ia a great idea! And fun :D

    DonWhitaker says ...
    May 9, 2013 @ 7:27pm

    Perfect little game - love it. My best so far is 94

    karsyf says ...
    May 11, 2013 @ 11:20am

    I had a lot of fun with this! 2 things I would change - its really hard to get past the You Win message at 200m, it would be nice if you could pass through that and it just does random obstacles afterwards for a highscore chase. Also, every now and again there are some physics bugs if you exactly hit the join between blocks.

    Saturnyn says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 11:48am

    Nice concept but this kind of gameplay drives me crazy ^^
    Could use some background music I think.

    Canyon says ...
    May 14, 2013 @ 12:17pm

    The game does not need much more tweaking, you have really nailed the mechanic. When I die, I feel it is my own fault not the games, which is important, considering it is a physics game. This makes me want to play again and master my skills.

    Unfortunately I could not get the sound to work but I'm giving you the benefit of the doubt. Cool game.

    siuqram says ...
    May 15, 2013 @ 2:56am

    excellent!
    Adding some musical tone range to the blocks at the bottom would add a whole new layer to the experience.

    May 15, 2013 @ 7:34pm

    Just saw that you got linked to from kottke.org. Congrats!

    May 15, 2013 @ 9:58pm

    Source?

    tudd says ...
    May 16, 2013 @ 8:21pm

    very good!

    i love the sound effect. my only problem is it's the *only* sound effect ;)

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]