Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 5 days, 6 hours, 32 minutes, 18 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 5 days, 6 hours, 32 minutes, 19 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Title: Subtitle - LizEngland - Jam Entry

    Words, words-words words, words, words words. Words words words Words words Words Words. WORDS!

    This is a pretty standard Mario-esque platformer in which we replaced art assets with words. Let your imagination fill in the rest. Play time is 6-8 minutes. Enjoy!

    Team: Liz England & Nick Weihs

    Indie Impressions made a video playthrough if you would rather watch than play:
    http://youtu.be/9Vht4ElZL78

    Notes:
    * The game has controller support if you prefer that over WASD
    * If you can't run the game, you may need to install the XNA Redistributable. It is included in the download.

    View LizEngland's journal. | View all entries by LizEngland

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #10Theme(Jam)4.36
    #30Overall(Jam)3.90
    #34Humor(Jam)3.64
    #75Fun(Jam)3.54
    #77Innovation(Jam)3.59
    #80Mood(Jam)3.63
    #102Graphics(Jam)3.86
    #123Audio(Jam)3.43

    Comments

    SaintHeiser says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:35am

    Excellent work!
    I impressed with environment from words.
    I love this game =)

    PixelOaks says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:13am

    Really nice, it was very entertaining and I wanted to find out what was next.

    devPhil says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:15am

    Love the mood! I'm not normally a big fan of platformers but this I enjoyed a lot! Good job

    myachin says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:27am

    SAYS: no suitable graphics card found(

    DaveDobson says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:33am

    Really cool concept with the words - I love the shapes you got them into. The variety of different words, forms, and enemies was great. I found the game a little bit hard and frustrating at times - I may be getting to old to have patience for difficult platform games, so that might just be my problem. I love the dialog between the characters - perfect fit to the theme.

    Cybearg says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:35am

    Certainly my favorite game that I've seen so far!

    I once had an idea to do a game where the world was made up of ASCII characters, but this is brilliant--a typography world? Awesome!

    Seriously, I would love to see this style expanded into an action-adventure game rather than just an action platformer. Refine the style a bit and I would seriously buy it in a heartbeat.

    Even though this game could have faffed off its gameplay, it didn't. The jumps were breezy enough to allow proper precision for platforming and the end boss fight was actually fun!

    Overall, fantastic job and I hope this prototype is expanded further if possible!

    brxtr says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:55am

    Words.

    Jellycakes says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:55am

    REVIEW REVIEW REVIEW REVIEW CRITICISM PRAISE ENCOURAGEMENT OPINION COMPLIMENT

    stromchin says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:56am

    I just watch this in a stream, but I liked it a lot. I've thought of doing something similar but using kanji... it never went anywhere though

    ncgames says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:06am

    really love the idea here

    ananasblau says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:06am

    This looks a lot like what I had in mind two years ago. Awesome to see it as a game. https://plus.google.com/104398143105698472084/posts/fpeWGNvay4q
    Pity I can't run it, not even PlayOnMac would do that :(

    timtimtimtim says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:21am

    fun idea. hurts my eyes though. too easy.

    Orni says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:51am

    I really enjoyed this, the concept is great!

    very well done :D

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:09pm

    Nice mood. I didn't find the game particularly interesting though. I liked the camera movement, but many elements were quite confusing, together with the color coding.

    GarethIW says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:13pm

    Excellent! I needed a bit of cheering up and the intro had me belly laughing. Then I was just stunned by all of the tile descriptions. All of that, and it was quite fun to play too :)

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:14pm

    While the platforming felt a bit stiff, the concept was fun and I had fun playing it. Interesting how ones imagination fills in the blanks. The music was also nice and added a good amount to the experience.

    KHANanaphone says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:18pm

    Controls way better than most platformers I've played so far.

    Mekuri says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:33pm

    Awesome game- Awesome concept. I really like how your imagination takes over, based on simple words on the screen. It gets slightly confusing at times, but all in all very cool. With a bit of refinement, and maybe a story line, this would be something I wouldn't mind paying for!

    lucasncv says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:35pm

    Hilarious little game! Loved it. I'm amazed how much detail was put into the background, haha.

    Meep says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:36pm

    COMMENT COMMENT COMMENT REVIEW COMPLIMENT COMPLIMENT COMPLIMENT

    multitude says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:29pm

    Love this! Pretty cool concept and idea with the text.

    Tom 7 says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 1:39am

    Nice idea and nice scope. I've seen games with stuff made out of words for sure, but this one is funnier (I liked the escalation of descriptiveness as the game went on) and fit the theme well. I wish it supported arrow keys as well as WASD so I didn't have to play with my left hand. The difficulty curve was good. Was crying out for a wall marked "secretsecretsecret"!

    KunoNoOni says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 3:20am

    Gold... Pure gold! Nailed the theme... awesome design... Mind Blown!

    ilovepixel says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 6:21am

    I really liked the idea of changing objects for words. Great game.

    karlin says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 9:31am

    I really liked the style you've chosen, fits the theme perfectly. Some of the jumping was a little frustrating at times but I still really enjoyed it. Totally agree with cybearg and would love to see this as an action adventure.

    sittaman says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 10:40pm

    What a great idea! Nice level design, too! Congratulations. XNA is a great tool!

    dalbinblue says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 4:41am

    Fun, with a groovy art style. Made me laugh a lot. Movement had a lot of slide to it which made platforming difficult.

    nintendoeats says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 4:50am

    I lvoe everything about this. I love the music, the aesthetic, and the level design (for the level of complexity that you are going for anyway).

    My only negative comment is that as a red/green colourblind person...that was really really hard. I have made this comment on many games today >_>

    kyyninen says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 4:54pm

    Compliments compliments compliments compliments specific positive mention of controller support

    free_napalm says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 8:18pm

    I really enjoyed it, I don't think anything is missing to make this a decent platformer.

    lanz says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 8:24pm

    Cool! I really liked the theme. On the negative side words were a bit harsh (aliased) which make playing not so comfortable. Otherwise great job, and absolute theme fit! .)

    Farjuan says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 9:46pm

    This is deffinitly what i was expecting for this theme!

    SonnyBone says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 3:16pm

    Genius!

    cardboard says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 9:26pm

    Really good length. I mean, it could have been longer, but it was not too short. The variance in platforming (and color) throughout the game kept it interesting. One of my favorite games so far.

    SnoringFrog says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 3:13am

    Love this idea, fits the theme perfectly. Nice job. Words words words.

    belickim says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 11:15am

    There should be also a voice saying "BACKGROUND MUSIC, BACKGROUND MUSIC, BACKGROUND MUSIC, ..." as the background music :D

    EdoMiyamoto says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 12:39pm

    Very good !

    Switchbreak says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 6:48pm

    Fantastic game. I liked that I was able to use my gamepad to play it. I really liked that the platformer mechanics weren't just a vehicle for the gimmick but were well designed.

    kill0u says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 9:48pm

    It's amazing how we can recognize the elements with their sprites only made of words! Cool game ;)

    Jorjon says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 8:55pm

    This is very similar to http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=11606

    mildmojo says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 1:11am

    This looks really cool, but I'm on Linux. =(

    HELLO23 says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 8:19am

    Amazing. Great idea. I really enjoyed playing it. Minimalistic

    zkenshin says ...
    May 14, 2013 @ 3:19pm

    Really enjoyed looking through all the words in the environment to see all the unique words. A lot of detail in the environment for it being made of words :P Really neat. :)

    agumaster says ...
    May 14, 2013 @ 4:34pm

    incredibly GREAT game. Words aesthetics are amazing. Gameplay is cool too. BTW i find a cheat when you press F1 ! :)

    Maple says ...
    May 14, 2013 @ 11:37pm

    Most games I try I'm like "Well, I guess this is minimalist", but I think this one really deserves some points towards theme (and some other categories, of course!). It's ingenious. Good job.

    If I were to complain about a thing or two, it would be these:
    - I felt like the camera changing depending on the way you are facing was a bit too fast, and thus was a bit disorienting in vertical sections where the player has to change direction often.
    - The other thing is, WASD/Space is a bit weird for me, since I'm used to traditional platformers which tend to go for arrow keys. I would have at liked the option to use arrow keys (ââ/âï¼.

    Nonetheless, nice entry.

    Sylvain.p says ...
    May 15, 2013 @ 6:57pm

    Good idea, need to be polished, but it works.

    May 15, 2013 @ 9:06pm

    It perfectly suit the ludum dare subject! I love the idea and graphic! On the other hand I hate games with many many many platforms ...and being push by enemies all the time (I'm not patient enough, so I didn't finish the game...)

    atraxgames says ...
    May 15, 2013 @ 9:56pm

    MINIMALISTIC COMMENT: great

    Madball says ...
    May 16, 2013 @ 12:57pm

    Praise praise! Praise praise praise praise! Words words words words words words, words words words.

    Gremlin says ...
    May 16, 2013 @ 2:09pm

    Clever. I do feel the jumping could be a little more solid, but the controls were pretty good, just not quite as precise as I would have preferred.

    csanyk says ...
    May 19, 2013 @ 4:36am

    Interesting take on the theme, and innovative graphics.

    DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
    May 19, 2013 @ 10:30pm

    Words words words words
    words words words?

    LAUGHTER LAUGHTER LAUGHTER

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]