Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Compo (Solo+Scratch+Src) Ends: in 1 day, 13 hours, 35 minutes, 3 seconds
  • Jam (Solo and Teams+Relaxed) Ends: in 2 days, 13 hours, 35 minutes, 3 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Submit/Edit Game | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    8 jumps and a fat man - Exclamation Mark - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    8 jumps and a fat man.

    A simple space shooter game about growth, gaining experience, and keeping it simple.

    Arrow Keys and SPACE, occasionaly, the "j" key. Refresh the page to restart As you progress, your spaceship grows with you, as you can attach parts from enemy rubble. Enjoy.

    This is my first entry! Tons of fun with co-jammers at our office!

    Check out the video compilation of me and six of my friends working on our games at the office! (timelapse link)!

    View Exclamation Mark's journal. | View all entries by Exclamation Mark

    Ratings

    Coolness88%
    #242Humor2.78
    #342Fun3.22
    #501Overall3.22
    #584Mood2.84
    #657Theme3.44
    #707Innovation2.94
    #806Audio2.26
    #821Graphics2.69

    Comments

    3.14 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:37am

    Good job, 3.14 salutes you!

    aquilicoco says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:00pm

    I like it.

    Follett says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:10pm

    That was awesome. I was so devastated when it eject my ship and I died. I should have kept it simple.....

    Ariake81 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:58pm

    lost my ship of the bottom of the screen.....

    Chman says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:01pm

    It reminded me of Captain Forever. Fun.

    Brunodev says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:48pm

    I really liked the game! Fits the theme perfectly, its addicting, and have the such awesome feature of "growing" your ship! Congratulations on your first entry!

    dstozek says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:24pm

    SPACE SOVIETS!!!
    I liked the twist at the end.

    Jellycakes says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:37pm

    Was pretty good, I liked the growing mechanic and also laughed at the ending because it was pretty true. A little bit slow though other than that great job!

    Jubjub. says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:43am

    I like the name haha. I also like how my ship gets better and takes on these crazy shapes. Only criticism would have been to make the stars move or paralax with the movement of the ship or something. Good job

    oatsbarley says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:16am

    This is really fun. At one point one of the joining pieces got blown up and there was a gap in between pieces of the ship; I'm not sure if that's a bug or if it's intended. A restart button would have been nice!

    adnzzzzZ says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:34am

    WHAT A TWIST! Anyway, this was really simple but effective. Really good job!

    cahman says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:04pm

    Awesome! I felt like I was playing space legos. But I ended up making a ship that shot itself. D'oh!

    thequay says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:38pm

    Love the game. Nice and fluid. Love the idea of adapting your ship! My firing was a little off so i also fell prey to the boss.

    mortl8324 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:31pm

    Definitely based off captain forever. Done so very well, and simplified it. Fun game.

    Meep says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:49pm

    I like the game mechanic. :) Plays very smoothly. Great work!

    fullmontis says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:26am

    Great use of the theme!

    Dir3kt says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:04pm

    Tried to implement a similar concept for LD24. I like how you implemented it and had fun playing... until I shot myself ;)

    May 1, 2013 @ 8:42pm

    Thanks for all the feedback everyone! Yes, Captain Forever was my inspiration, the first time i've played it i was more than amazed by the combination of simplicity and expandability. Implementing this mechanic was quite a challenge, but I was well motivated having the TWIST in mind from the very beginning. I did notice that you can make a ship that shoots itself about 2hrs before the deadline, but it's not a bug, it's .... a conversation starter! :D There are a gazillion other bugs i've noticed now though, for example: the debug key to create a new ship block - "c" still works :]

    patrickward says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:43pm

    Nice job on the flight mechanics. I liked the graphics as well. I found it a little hard to defeat the enemies though. Overall, great job.

    Paul Sinnett says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 11:57pm

    Nice game. I liked that the CPU players had a bit more variety in their movements than the usual chase and shoot.

    tzamora says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 1:27am

    I liked the basic idea. cool.

    May 5, 2013 @ 2:19am

    I like the idea and of visual. The graphics are very minimalists. Good Job.

    euwaku says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 7:54am

    That game reminded me the space ship course in Kingdom Heart, when you have to build a ship using blocks. Also, that would have been fun to be able to customize your spaceship between each jumps (with upgrades, repairs etc.). Btw nice IA!

    Cake&Code says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 9:38am

    Despite the audio being a bit loud and annoying, it was really addictively fun! But alas, I should have kept it simple xD

    messiano says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 9:26pm

    LOL at the "I should have kept it simple" ending. Can the player actually die? I took lots and lots of shots and nothing happened.

    ZYXer says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 11:47pm

    Really cool game. Too bad the controls are a little fiddly.

    Oye Beto says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 3:18am

    High pitch sounds were annoying. Also, I think they overlap, creating a higher sound.

    It's interesting that the background is a photo you took :o

    kill0u says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 1:03pm

    Good job

    May 20, 2013 @ 9:46pm

    Solid entry! REALLY liked the simple visuals and adding on to my ship. Would loved to have seen things like wrap-around top/sides, ship to ship collisions, and powerups and stuff. Real Space War style stuff. Geat effort and I would definitely keep working on this. With 2 players on a pc with controllers this could be a hell of a little party game.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]