Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 1 day, 1 hour, 7 minutes, 59 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 1 day, 1 hour, 8 minutes, 0 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Deja vu - Oleg Zhurko - Jam Entry

    Post-mortem is here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/05/10/deja-vu-post-mortem/

    In this game you are a cube, in a cubical world. Unlike other cubes, he has a dream. As the story unfolds, he gets closer and closer to making this dream come true.

    Controls:
    WSAD - move
    Q, E - rotate the camera
    Esc - go back to the menu

    Left click mouse on cubes - restructure cubes
    Right click in reconstruction mode - cancel

    We hope you will enjoy this game!

    P.S. Hooray, it's our first Ludum Dare entry! :)

    View Oleg Zhurko's journal. | View all entries by Oleg Zhurko

    Ratings

    Coolness67%
    #23Innovation(Jam)3.98
    #63Mood(Jam)3.71
    #70Audio(Jam)3.69
    #73Overall(Jam)3.68
    #102Graphics(Jam)3.86
    #129Fun(Jam)3.30
    #141Theme(Jam)3.65
    #291Humor(Jam)2.05

    Comments

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:20pm

    Good job :)
    Btw I've managed somehow to fall through the ground in the 3rd or 4th level.

    aviktorov says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:10pm

    Thanks!
    We aware of that issue, will upload fix soon.

    IceCliff says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 3:30pm

    A slight bit buggy but omg am I a fan of the graphics and gameplay. Completely immersed and I will play a lot more later tonight!

    May 1, 2013 @ 3:31pm

    I get a 404 trying to download the windows version.

    fysx says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 3:31pm

    The windows link does not seem to work. :-(

    aviktorov says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 3:36pm

    Sorry guys, we're fixing it now! Also, we fixed huge amount of bugs

    Oleg Zhurko says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 3:38pm

    I'm sorry for broken link, now it's fixed!

    Tokken18 says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 3:42pm

    The link for OSX gives me a windows build.

    Oleg Zhurko says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 3:54pm

    Oh, sorry again ;) That happens when you in hurry...

    SirJson says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 3:55pm

    These cubes are kinda hard to control

    Siewart says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 3:56pm

    Awesome game is awesome!

    kreischweide says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 4:11pm

    Great game, this could actually be a good indie game with some smaller additions and more adictive puzzles :)

    PPLo says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 4:14pm

    My cubes got stuck between other cubes.
    I like the mood but I still need more play to figure out what to do.

    brantkings says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 4:15pm

    Awesome, so immersive!!

    JustinMullin says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 4:29pm

    Very cool. I didn't understand how to restructure the cubes at first, but once I figured out that concept it all clicked. It's an extremely interesting mechanic!

    aviktorov says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 4:34pm

    Thank you guys! Your feedback makes us happy! :)

    spriters2000 says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 4:41pm

    My game always falls in a bug when I am in the room with the 4th cube

    GetFun says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 4:44pm

    Great sound and cool game =)

    Proch says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 4:46pm

    on of my preferite so far ;) great work

    infinitedog says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 4:49pm

    Relaxing

    Tozy says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 5:08pm

    I managed to collect many cubes, around 6 I believe, then I scaled that place in your main picture, pushed a button and didn't know what to do next. So I came back and it teleported me to the 4th room or so. And the connections between rooms are a little buggy and some times you just end up falling in limbo. Then I stopped playing, but the end felt so near :(

    Oleg Zhurko says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 5:13pm

    Yeah, thats can be a little bit confusing, it's ok that it teleports you to the same rooms. In that way you can go to the 'room with tiny button and very tall columns' and push the button you wasn't able to push when you had three cubes, its just after the 'dreamy pink room with big cube in the center'

    petrocket says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 6:17pm

    Really cool. I love the orthogonal perspective and the audio/mood was great too. My only suggestions would be to not let players fall off the levels - though maybe that was a bug? Very cool puzzles too.

    qdowngames says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 6:49pm

    Wow, really innovative. This reminds me of the game "Blocks that Matter", but instead you change yourself instead of the environment. Nice work!

    Snail_Man says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 7:04pm

    Awesome game, if a bit buggy

    Felix20 says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 7:12pm

    Wow, this is really cool. The graphics and sound are great, the gameplay is also fun, but the physics are really buggy. For example, riding on the moving cubes often gets you randomly pushed off. Another bug is, it only determines which direction you can modify when you start modifying, and doesn't check again if you move. This allows you to go into walls and stuff.
    The atmosphere of this game is really cool, and it fits the theme fairly well.

    Cybearg says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 7:18pm

    I really liked the gameplay mechanic here, particularly that you then wove it into the story, like in "Thomas Was Alone," or something similar. Great music as well--very chill.

    Unfortunately, in the room where you see, "If I gather enough, can I become bigger?" or something like that, I apparently fell through the floor or the level vanished and I would spawn in pure blackness only to fade away and then spawn again.

    kyyninen says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:05pm

    Restructuring yourself is really a novel mode of transportation! I particularly liked the parts with climbing high, they were tense as hell!

    SaintHeiser says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 3:50am

    Very good!
    I impressed with your game mechanics!
    Really nice entry. I'll return back to beat it on weekend =)

    kannas says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 2:38pm

    Very good game! I like the music and the story a lot, good job on it ! i think though that you should have spent more time polishing the core gameplay, so to avoid situations where you can be stuck by a misplaced block, or worse where you don't know what's your goal. Working on these points i am sure you could pull out a great game ;)

    May 2, 2013 @ 9:05pm

    I'm a sucker for super-clean iso graphics. Really nice tone.

    Spiridios says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 3:01am

    Why are all the links to a post-compo version? It's not legal to rate post compo versions.

    Oleg Zhurko says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 5:53am

    Oh, I'm so newbie, sorry for this. I've fixed main links, now it's ok?

    Spiridios says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 2:38am

    Seems there are some bugs when it comes to teleporting from room to room. I frequently end up materializing in open space then fall fall fall.

    That said, the concept looks great. I hope you continue working on it!

    aviktorov says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 6:10am

    Yeah, we've fixed that bug in post-compo version. You can play that version. See the links in description.

    kibertoad says ...
    May 10, 2013 @ 10:01am

    probably the best unity-based game I've seen so far at this jam.

    MinionStudios says ...
    May 10, 2013 @ 2:44pm

    Absolutely great! The mechanics are original, intuitive and fun. The art is fantastic and the music is great! Bravo!

    Sylvain.p says ...
    May 15, 2013 @ 3:04pm

    Good job, the adventure puzzle sound like solstice NES, But I don't know if the narativ match totaly with the gameplay.

    May 19, 2013 @ 9:20pm

    Very original gameplay, clever puzzles, and excellent mood. Unfortunately, I haven't beaten it yet. (I couldn't figure out how to progress from the level where you climb the wall: I pushed the button, but it didn't seem to do anything.) The music is perfect.

    On the downside, while the story pulled me in, your English grammar needs a bit of work. It's the kind of thing that will come with practice.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]