Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 1 day, 10 hours, 9 minutes, 42 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 1 day, 10 hours, 9 minutes, 43 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Zip - Chronodrax - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Zip is a 2d platform game with minimalist gameplay, graphics and level design, where the background and the obstacles are the same thing!

    When going down from a platform, Zip will absorb that platform's color, then he'll be able to pass through any obstacle of the same color!

    11 levels done, level design inspired by minimalism art.
    Original art (Zip); no sound/music.

    The javascript source is formatted with Notepad++ (if you want to read it);
    Whole game is downloadable following the link above (source download).

    Have fun !

    View Chronodrax's journal. | View all entries by Chronodrax

    Ratings

    Coolness75%
    #11Overall4.18
    #19Fun3.96
    #26Innovation4.15
    #101Theme4.10
    #163Graphics3.75
    #282Mood3.22
    #603Humor2.17
    #1036Audio1.52

    Comments

    gilmore606 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:55am

    What a great idea, very original. The way the levels ease you into the idea is great. Visuals are very soothing.

    Crowbeak says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:56am

    I feel like this really needs some sound.

    ThreeUp says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:57am

    first glance was... not another platformer, but your color change game mechanic and art is very good! Pleasantly surprised.

    Lamprabbit says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:58am

    Really awesome idea, I love how such a simple mechanic can make you stop to have to think about the puzzle. Nice work!

    ilovepixel says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:58am

    Great game! very smart design and vfx!

    Spierek says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:59am

    Very nice visuals, an interesting game mechanic, and the level transitions were just great. Good job, sir.

    sol_hsa says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:59am

    Excellent! All this one needs is a cheerful soundtrack =)

    nseward says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:02am

    Genius. A pretty, deceptively hard, puzzle game.

    unclejunkie says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:54pm

    Great game, smart and addictive.

    netgrind says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:52pm

    That was a cool concept and nicely executed, most of the puzzles were trickier than I first realized and I really liked that.

    multikorv says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:53pm

    Very nice idea! Sometimes confusing to keep in mind what color you are.

    Lianne Booton says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:54pm

    This is absolutely fantastic, great work! Zip is such a great little character for having so few pixels :3

    meszka says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:13pm

    Nice idea and clever puzzles :)

    FrozenCow says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:21am

    Really good idea. I liked it initially, but at the level with the many colors (3rd screenshot) my colorblindness kicked in. I could hardly tell the difference between the purple and blue rectangles! Couldn't finish that level because of it, but still a great experience.

    scottychips says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:21am

    Awesome concept and execution- gets fairly difficult as well in the later levels!

    aare says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:22am

    Amazing transition effect between levels. I really like it!

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:24am

    really good concept.. missed some audio abit tho.. great overall ..super smooth circles :)

    Markavian says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:26am

    Really excellent game, really inspirational to see ideas like this... soaking up colour from the environment... to walk through walls! Zip is awesome :D

    sigfig says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:27am

    This is a great variation of color changing platforming. Your graphical style and level design are very good.

    Tip for HTML5: make sure to override default actions when using keyboard input. WASD may not seem like it warrants dedicated input handling, but remember ctrl+w/s/d are all common browser hotkeys.

    GertJohnny says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:32am

    I like this visual style a lot - the novas especially.

    deathray says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:33am

    Amazing! Great idea, well executed. Lots of 5 stars. Your level designs are wonderful.
    The only thing I'd add is some nice mood music, some slight tweaks to the jumping mechanics, and even more levels!

    jerombd says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:38am

    Puzzle game with a clever color twist! Great potential!!

    BipolarMike says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:42am

    Greate idea! Please turn this into a full game!!

    3.14 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:42am

    Mind bending, though I play it mostly semi-random.

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:12pm

    Excellent! Original, on theme, works, fun. Excellent.

    Simon says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:48pm

    Wow, that's awesome, everything's great, from the animations to the concept, it's dead simple yet deep. Great job!

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:03pm

    GENIUS, perfect, and very nice graphics. Best game so far!

    glbs says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:22pm

    Yeah, I agree with my fellow LD'ers (the last two), best so far! Well, just missing a bit of sound

    glbs says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:29pm

    I pretty like the in-game credits in the end.

    heuermh says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 3:57am

    Wow. Very well done.

    Kilian says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 1:09pm

    Amazing. This is just a great game :-)

    May 1, 2013 @ 8:28pm

    Great idea, really nice mechanic.

    Logun says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 9:21am

    A very cool game. Want more levels, and gameplay extrapolations!

    sparkleswirl says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 6:44am

    The first thing that really impressed me was the level change effects. But then as I got more into the game the level design really stood out too. I think of all the "change colors / things you can pass through" games I've played this LD yours is definitely the best.

    Jorjon says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 8:56am

    Excellent graphic effects and transitions. Mechanic was really interesting. Sometimes it's hard to see what color Zip is.

    Angerus says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 11:06am

    Great...just great. Personally, I would love to see that gameplay take a little deep/change as you progress and play this game with a bit of music!

    moomoo112 says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 12:43pm

    there's some serious potential in this, you should develop it further

    bitbof says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 1:00pm

    really nice puzzler

    yetanother says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 9:56pm

    It's very clever

    MinionStudios says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 12:53am

    Amazing game, well made. I think the mechanics are super tight.

    0beah says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 1:15am

    Love this game. However, im pretty sure ive seen a similar mechanic in one the entries. Granted your take on it more fleshed out and your puzzles way more devious. All in all, its a create game.

    Diamonde says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 2:34pm

    Fantastic game! I even had to complete the "Game Over" and "Play again" levels :D

    JustinMullin says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 6:50pm

    Very cool. The only thing I'd add would be a touch of sound and music - with a game this polished and complete, the silence is more jarring. That's a minor quibble though; the difficulty was spot on, and you managed enough content to really show off the idea - hard to do in 48 hours! Nicely done!

    Christian S. says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 7:43pm

    Very nice. Reminded me of my own entry ;)

    Sylvain.p says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 7:56pm

    Great level design. As everytime, great creation. Two things you can optimize. 1- Itâs hard to see the different between blue and purple (but itâs perhaps my eyes) 2- I think the level arenât in order of difficulty.

    kill0u says ...
    May 9, 2013 @ 12:43pm

    Nice idea.

    Tozy says ...
    May 9, 2013 @ 8:21pm

    I loved it! You managed to get something original out of a platformer.

    J says ...
    May 11, 2013 @ 5:29pm

    Nice idea, and it controls well. A few minor issues:

    I struggled a little with colour-blindness, but apparently mine isn't as bad as FrozenCow's - it was only a problem on the second screenshot below the main one, between the blue and purple in there, and I managed it by trial and error.

    I don't quite understand why there are two more levels once I've been told I've won. Kind of weird.

    The fade in effect is really slow on my browser, which gets annoying (Firefox 20 on Linux with integrated graphics).

    Misael.K says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 6:18am

    Great work! Awesome level design and progression. Controls are just right. One would think that having the background and the obstacles as the same thing would be confusing, but you managed to pull it off successfully.
    Keep it up!

    hypp says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 7:04am

    I liked the color changing idea. Well done!

    Alink says ...
    May 14, 2013 @ 8:43pm

    Nice idea and good levels, really fun to play.

    BTW, I found your game via reddit, and I had a hard time to find it here (I guess searching 'zip' return all games providing a zip file)

    Xanjos says ...
    May 19, 2013 @ 11:22pm

    Despite the lack of audio, I really enjoyed the colour absorbing mechanic and the levels were well designed. A pretty fun game overall.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]