Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 2 days, 15 hours, 43 minutes, 1 second
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 2 days, 15 hours, 43 minutes, 2 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Min - smotko - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    A game where perspective is everything. Remove the evil red and blue blocks to become the only block in the world. Stay off the black lines, though, those things can kill you!

    Features:
    * 15 minimalistic levels
    * gorgeus 3D graphics
    * stunning animations
    * breathtaking visuals
    * a bad sense of humor

    Controls:
    * space to change perspective
    * arrow keys to move

    View smotko's journal. | View all entries by smotko

    Ratings

    Theme4.65
    #11Innovation4.23
    #151Graphics3.77
    #176Overall3.62
    #332Fun3.23
    #824Mood2.61
    #1485Coolness42%

    Comments

    Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:54pm

    Very nice! I was a bit confused at first about what i had to do, prompts for moving the square rather than just moving through dimensions would have been nice but otherwise a fun little puzzler

    Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:17pm

    Interesting, but doesn't work so good at all. :/ Need too many tries to really eliminate some blocks.

    smotko says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:37am

    @thecodermonkey: I really didn't want to clutter up the UI, the tutorial in the first level should tell you everything you need to know though.

    @SuperlevelSebastion: Really? You need to be aligned perfectly to take out the red blocks, but just need to touch the blue block for it to disappear. Which block did you find difficult to eliminate?

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:47am

    Momentary confusion at the start, but otherwise everything is taught in hands off fashion. The "levels" are disappointingly easy, but I think that's a side effect of the way the gameplay is designed.

    Very nice, and extremely innovative!

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:27am

    Very slick presentation and nice gameplay. Fez inspiration perhaps? Super slick. I'd continue work, add sounds and music and think about possible iphone release. Could be a great puzzle game.

    jhrrsn says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:28am

    This is awesome! Great job. Really cool mechanic, and fits really well with the theme. Ace!

    Markavian says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:32am

    Well presented game with an interesting mechanic. The acceleration on the block movement felt quite sticky. Wasn't clear on what a step counted as for the end score, and didn't find the levels too challenging.

    TehSkull says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:33am

    1548 steps, 215 perspective changes, 0 incidents, 1 interesting game. It felt awkward having a plane on which movement wasn't possible. For extra difficulty, you could only show the player that view at the beginning of the level. Call it "Hard Mode" or something.

    KEFIR says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:00am

    Very interesting idea and design! But controls is very annoying :(

    smotko says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:19am

    @miles_whiticker: The levels become really hard if you try to pass them with the minimal number of steps/perspective changes. I ran out of time to add this into the UI though :)

    @GeorgeBroussard: Fez was definitely an inspiration, it's an awesome game! Edge was another one and I sort of melded the two together :)

    @jhrrsn: thanks!

    @markavian: A step is every time you press an arrow key and move your block. It seems I really need to do something about the difficulty of the levels :D

    @TehSkull: I've tried out a version where you could move in the top down view (press C to enable it), but it wasn't as fun. I like the idea of a "Hard Mode", thanks!

    @KEFIR: thanks for your feedback, could you tell me why you think the controls are very annoyning, so that I can improve them? :)

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:23am

    Great concept, but controls sometimes don't response.
    Also it's not clear at first times, which perspective will be shown next

    Clavus says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:21am

    Neat and simple.

    wccrawford says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:48am

    Overall I liked it. It felt like there wasn't enough challenge, though.

    Also, not being able to move while *seeing* a black line was confusing. I thought you merely couldn't touch them. It always felt like I was being unfairly restricted.

    And the movement was off. I expected to be able to hold the key and move repeated, but was instead forced to repeatedly tap the keys.

    Good job, though!

    Follett says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:45pm

    There wasn't even challenge and the lack of audio really killed it for me. But I absolutely loved the concept and its always fun to play a innovative game.

    agmcleod says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:57pm

    Fun game. Simple and the directions into it were really good. nice job.

    Dissing says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:59pm

    Nice visuals but a tad too easy.

    smotko says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:57pm

    @RealyUniqueName: the controls should be responsive. Which browser were you trying the game in? I might have gone a bit overboard with the minimalistic UI, some additional helpers would probably be really useful.

    @Clavus: Thanks!

    @wccrawford: I actually have a version of the game where moving in the top down view is possible. You can try it out by pressing 'C' while the game is running. Can you try it out and let me know if you prefer this mode?

    @Follet: Yeah it's more of an 'experience' than a challenge at the moment, I should limit the number of steps or at least reward you if you found the optimal way through the level... I don't have much experience with sound yet, so I just focused on the gameplay for this game. I'm pretty new at all these gamedev stuff :D

    @agmcleod: Thanks!

    @Dissing: I'll really need to focus more on the difficulty next :)

    Crazi456 says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 7:41am

    Fits theme well!

    smotko says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 10:52am

    @Crazi456: thanks!

    May 2, 2013 @ 8:41pm

    this is quite cerebral. Nice work!

    lody says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 2:47pm

    Very Nice. Perfect for theme!

    cwilloughby says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 8:37am

    Cool. Pulled in by the 10s video. Nice work. Like playing with perspective. Got a bit repetitive, but very cool idea.

    Khaldrin says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 12:09pm

    Great concept. I felt the levels were a bit too easy though. Nevertheless the design fits the theme very well and the game has a nice minimalistic feeling. Good job.

    Split82 says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 11:18pm

    Nice idea and graphics. Controls could be improved.

    MathiO says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 3:21pm

    This is a unique minimalist puzzler. Well done

    MathiO says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 3:21pm

    This is a unique minimalist puzzler. Well done!

    vrinek says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 8:08pm

    I would love some more mechanics but overall, it's amazing

    HelkeGames says ...
    May 18, 2013 @ 7:32pm

    Nice game, well done!

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]