Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 19 days, 12 hours, 6 minutes, 27 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Only One Shot - Xanjos - Jam Entry

    UPDATE (5/5/13): What's that? You can now play my game online in a modern browser? Well thanks to the rather amazing JSIL (http://jsil.org/), I've now ported my entry to HTML5/JavaScript. Should work on all major browsers (although Windows users should definitely download the executable versions so I don't end exceeding my dropbox bandwidth limits :P)

    UPDATE (1/5/13): I've now added a zipped folder that includes a standalone EXE of the game for those who prefer not to use the Click-Once installer (I've included the XNA dlls just in case)

    First attempt at a Ludum Dare (yet somehow I survived)

    You are a generic blue square and your objective is to kill all the enemy squares in each level. However, you only have one bullet to do this. Fortunately there are special reflector blocks placed around to help you.

    Most of the game mechanics (especially the reflecting) are still buggy plus there are some more features I wish I had more time to add (e.g. more levels, more block types etc.)

    Game Instructions:

    Arrows to move. Spacebar to shoot

    Small protip - By default you face upwards

    Tools Used:

    Language:C#
    Library/Framework:XNA
    Graphics:Paint.Net
    Sound/Music:bfxr,Otomata, Audacity for general cleanup

    View Xanjos's journal. | View all entries by Xanjos

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #67Theme(Jam)3.92
    #83Innovation(Jam)3.58
    #239Audio(Jam)3.00
    #245Fun(Jam)2.98
    #281Overall(Jam)3.11
    #350Humor(Jam)1.85
    #365Mood(Jam)2.66
    #464Graphics(Jam)2.47

    Comments

    mtrc says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:37pm

    It tells me i'm "missing required files", not sure if that's me or XNA?

    DaanVanYperen says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:23pm

    Reflecting block mechanic is cool though. Would rate higher if the avatar controls were a bit smoother.

    Xanjos says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:13pm

    @mtrc It might be XNA.

    shohs says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 5:25am

    The bullet splitting was pretty cool. I did run into a problem where it wouldn't let me retry a level after I lost a couple of times (the 'r' key didn't respond at all).

    tankete says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 5:27am

    Is there anyway to put a simple .exe instead of an installer?

    Xaychru04 says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:53pm

    This game is cool, great concept, but I found the player too slow...

    Xanjos says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:05pm

    @tankete I just added a new zipped folder with a standalone exe. I've also included the XNA dlls in the folder as well just in case.

    EatenAlive3 says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:47pm

    Nice :P The player was a bit slow, but considering how much you (don't) have to move, it wasn't too much of a problem.

    Xanjos says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:49pm

    @shohs that bug where pressing the retry button didn't work after losing a couple of times has happened to me during testing as well sometimes. Not sure what's exactly causing it and so far unfortunately the only workaround in game is quit to the main menu since that's the only option left.

    tankete says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 9:19pm

    Thanks for getting a standalone version up. Worked like a charm. Really liked it. That last level was hard, but happy to say I passed it. Maybe a different sprite for the splitter to better communicate what it'll do?

    Good job! (And thanks for your feedback on my game)

    Xanjos says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 9:43pm

    @tankete Cheers :D The last level needed some ridiculous amounts of timing to complete and I didn't have much time to refine it because I was in a hurry trying to design and bugtest as many levels before the deadline. Also, regarding the reflectors/splitters, I think what I'll do next time is to change the mechanics so that instead of splitting from all sides apart from where it was hit, the splitter will only split in certain directions (with arrows on the blocks showing which directions it will split bullets in)

    May 2, 2013 @ 12:12am

    Very interesting idea, and I liked the concept, but the implementation has some problems. I would have liked for there to be some indication of my current direction, as I missed some shot solely because of that, I also would have preferred is the game was more about puzzle solving than waiting for the enemies to align. But overall, pretty cool attempt!

    Xanjos says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 12:44am

    @Squared Muffin: Thanks for the feedback. I do admit it's hard to see which direction the player is facing (especially when the player is a simple blue square). I think what I'll do next time is to just simply add an arrow showing the current direction (wait, why didn't I think of this before D:). Also I did try to design some levels that were more puzzle oriented (with stationary enemies and strategically placed reflector blocks) but wasn't able to implement it well because of how buggy the reflectors are currently.

    woftles says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 12:50am

    Nice sounds and good gameplay, very much a waiting game, but enjoyable results, only problem is that there's no way to know where you are facing. Good job.

    ZYXer says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 12:54am

    Really cool concept. Would have loved to play more levels :D

    Xanjos says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 10:36pm

    @ZYXer: Thanks! I actually wanted to make at least 5 levels but I kinda stopped after level 4 because my brain was starting to get tired from designing any more levels during the final night and I was in a hurry trying to submit before the deadline XD

    Leginar says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 10:38pm

    Pretty good game. I wish there were more levels though, even though you don't move much you move sooooooo slow. Would play a longer version for sure

    Aevek says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 10:42pm

    Cool concept, but it would be nice if there was some way of telling which way the bullet was going to fire

    May 3, 2013 @ 12:28am

    Cool bullet splitting mechanic! Work on this, you have a neat puzzle game idea on your hands :)

    TaleLore says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 12:38am

    Great game, I loved the concept.

    madballneek says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 11:50pm

    Simple, challenging, awesome. Simple, yet smart design.

    Covenant says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 5:36pm

    Very cool idea, too bad for the lack of levels... :) Good job!

    DaveDobson says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 12:39am

    Wow, a 30-meg web app. :-) Interesting concept idea and good implementation. The guy moves pretty slowly, as others have said. Most of the puzzles are timing rather than logic, which is fine, but it might be good to have a mix. More levels would help build it into more of a game. I really like the Mondrian-ish art, and the game is definitely minimalist. Anything where you can set up complex shots is fun in my book. Nice work!

    Hegemege says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 12:14am

    Simple, true to the theme, but too short :<
    The puzzles themselves were not really difficult, it was just the timing. The first time I cleared the final level I thought I ran out of lifes or something and replayed the game :P

    ecool377 says ...
    May 11, 2013 @ 1:30am

    Its fun

    Jiyko says ...
    May 11, 2013 @ 12:40pm

    Simple and I liked it. Would be a fun little puzzle game on a tablet!

    Siewart says ...
    May 11, 2013 @ 2:21pm

    I like the concept a lot, but it's so short :(

    Add some adittional "grey" blocks that have different behavior. (that only shoot one way, react on colors, there's a lot possible there)
    and show the which way the gun is pointing/the block is facing.

    Xanjos says ...
    May 11, 2013 @ 2:32pm

    @Siewart: I'm actually thinking of adding additional blocks besides reflectors like one that changes the colour of the bullet and have a gimmick where certain enemies can only be killed by a certain colour or have a special walls that blocks all bullets except bullets that are the same colour as the wall etc. if I actually get round to making a post-compo version.

    MRvanderPants says ...
    May 11, 2013 @ 8:44pm

    The controlable cube is a little slow, but the concept suits the theme really well. I enjoyed playing this game a lot.

    Tifu says ...
    May 11, 2013 @ 9:07pm

    Very short, but good concept!

    swizzcheez says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 12:23am

    Nice puzzler. Fun to try to work through.

    euske says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 10:58am

    Great for the theme.

    dalbinblue says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 7:55pm

    Cool concept with some interesting puzzle. Quite short though. Would definitely like to see some more levels.

    bb_buster says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 7:57pm

    That was great. A very nice puzzle concept. The last puzzle was pretty tricky trying to get the timing right but I liked it.

    ethankennerly says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 11:37pm

    Predicting where the red square would be when I shoot through a refracting gray square interested me.

    Taro Omiya says ...
    May 14, 2013 @ 4:54am

    Pretty awesome concept, there. Definitely enjoyed the puzzle and timing.

    Sylvain.p says ...
    May 15, 2013 @ 1:14am

    Yeah, really nice idea, good puzzle, you can use this idea in lot of level. Great work.

    xdegtyarev says ...
    May 17, 2013 @ 10:41am

    I need more levels!

    May 19, 2013 @ 1:20pm

    Would have hoped for a better art style. I know minimalism is this but a lot of games I've played in this LD seem happy with this. Despite that, I think the central mechanic was fun and was used in a manner which justified it. Good job!

    Xanjos says ...
    May 19, 2013 @ 1:39pm

    @lightnarcissus: I know what you mean. I'm not an artist and I can't even draw to save my life so theme-wise I sorta lucked out on the graphics department XD

    Cambrian_Man says ...
    May 19, 2013 @ 3:18pm

    I liked it. The mechanic worked quite well and the music was nice.

    May 19, 2013 @ 4:08pm

    I like it !
    Last level is a bit hard (but I made it! )
    Great use of the theme (One shoot + relection is a good idea)

    Brassawiking says ...
    May 19, 2013 @ 6:00pm

    Nice puzzle shooter

    May 20, 2013 @ 9:00pm

    I liked the idea and I'd continue with it. The issue I had was that even by the 4th-5th level it became sort of hard to predict the levels and it was all trial and error and got a little frustrating. I think the idea is solid and with better level design you might have a realyl fun game here. Also, yeah, player moved too slow. Good job overall.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]