Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 76 days, 19 hours, 4 minutes, 28 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Tower of Pixel - AlanZucconi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    "Tower of Pixel" is a minimalistic reinterpretation of the story behind the tower of Babel.

    === Description ===
    Once there were pixels.
    They found a plain and settled there.
    Then they said: "Let us build ourselves a city with a tower that reaches to the heavens."

    === Gameplay ===
    - Collect bricks from the abandoned tower of Pixel and use them to reach to the heavens.
    - Enchanted gems will help you building your tower faster.
    - The game has two possible endings.

    - If you are stuck, please refer to this walkthrough:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1NMEss4zdqk

    === Controls ===
    - Arrows to move and dig bricks.
    - Space to lay collected bricks.

    === Updates ===
    Since the end of Ludum Dare, there have been few bug fixes. Source code, Windows and Linux versions have not been updated. Play the Web version, if possible.

    === Credits ===
    Alan Zucconi
    www.alanzucconi.com
    @AlanZucconi

    View AlanZucconi's journal. | View all entries by AlanZucconi

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #196Mood3.38
    #207Graphics3.66
    #374Audio3.00
    #382Overall3.34
    #430Innovation3.28
    #618Humor2.14
    #688Fun2.83
    #816Theme3.27

    Comments

    Yngar says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:10pm

    Its a cool idea. I would like to play some more if you get it running faster.

    mtrc says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:11pm

    Absolutely brilliant. Really zen feel to it, loved the writing, the music arrangement and zoning, the weird complexity of the mechanics that seem simple at first. Can't wait to go back to this and get stuck into it.

    LrdKzrth says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:17pm

    Charming and fun to play

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:20pm

    Thank you Yngar! Even though I am the leader of the rebellion front against #potato, I promise I'll play your game till the end! XD

    "Tower of Pixel" starts slow, but as soon as you reach the top of the unfinished Pixel tower, things will happen and you'll learn how to... use crystals to summon towers! :-)

    Oh, also it saves automatically! :-) Re-open it and your tower will still be there! :)

    aquilicoco says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:41pm

    I love the graphics and the idea.

    The intro is too long.

    tacograveyard says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:53pm

    I really enjoyed the mood and atmosphere. This game surprised me and beat my expectations. Thanks for making it!

    Merkoth says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:38pm

    Love the artstyle and ahem, the Babel tower inspiration :) It's a cool idea, great work!

    papa_troll says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:57pm

    You really need some indication how far there is to go in total... I spent far too long on this! Is good but gave up because I had no idea when/if it would ever end

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:28pm

    Hi papa_troll! Thank you for the feedback!
    At the beginning the game shows the "top" of the sky, so you have an idea of how long it takes to reach it!

    You can build your tower, however there are ways in the game to summon very long ladders that you can climb! :-)

    If you open the game again, your tower will still be there! :D Don't give up! :-p

    onzephyr says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:49pm

    great visual style.

    jackspinoza says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:59am

    nice stuff, I wonder how high I can tower. Quite relaxing in a funny sort of way. I love this type of casual game actually, must dip into it again. Thank you

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:19pm

    Hi jackspinoza!
    At the beginning of the game you always start from the "top" of the sky. That's the limit of your tower! :-)

    However, if you close and reopen the game, you can continue building your tower. No need to restart every time! :-)

    Manuel777 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:48pm

    Kinda slow on my PC, made it unberable t oplay after a while, altrough I liked the idea, it would be nice to see it executed properly (Y)

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:00pm

    Haha I see what you mean with them being similar. I love this game, so relaxing and satisfying as you climb higher, but man, such nice graphics! Really cool entry!

    siondream says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:11pm

    Cool idea, neat graphics and interesting mechanic. It performed a bit poorly on my machine though (Dell XPS 16)

    3.14 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:12pm

    Good, relaxing game. Maybe you should add some blocks that allow other building patterns, ie. blocks that can be placed under your feet to form horizontal walks? Anyway: I really liked it. Good job.

    Ps. I got stuck in a situation like this: http://imgur.com/UZfy19M It may be a bug. (or it may be a feature of eliminating not smart enough people like myself :))

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:37pm

    Hey 3.14! How did you do that? XD Quite bizarre! :)
    Actually, I though about this. Close the game and re-open it. Your tower will be exactly the same, but you will start from a different position. It might help you! :-)

    At the beginning you could place horizontal tiles, but then I removed this option. It would allow people to make "unrealistic" towers. Well... not that the current ones are realistic! :p But you got my point!! :D

    AlanZucconi says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:39pm

    Hey danielcmessias, siondream!
    The game buffers your changes and it flushes them into the Flash cache. Some users had poor performances because of this. I am trying to improve it on the web version. Tomorrow it might be faster! :-)

    captainkraft says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:39pm

    Playing this game made me feel really chill. The music was perfect and it was a relaxing, fun, interesting game.

    Cool stuff

    tankete says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 7:05am

    Nice! I could probably play this for WAY too long. Love the auto-save. I'll definitely be coming back to this one. :)

    May 1, 2013 @ 12:35pm

    A charming take on an interesting idea.

    Stryphe says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 1:45pm

    Enjoyable game play!

    Norgg says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:25pm

    Cute! Cool idea and it looks lovely.

    I found the way you auto-dig a bit annoying sometimes though, it's very easy to walk into a block and pick it up by mistake, which can sometimes force you to backtrack your tower loads.

    Loren says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 3:05pm

    how fun :) Love the music and design!

    AlanZucconi says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 10:17pm

    Hey Norgg, thank you for your feedback!
    Yes, I am trying to tweak a little bit some parameters of the game. Like the friction with blocks (it was very easy to "slip") and the interaction with the background.
    I'll try to improve that as well. Thank you! :)

    Travis Irby says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 11:47pm

    Very neat idea! Really like the graphics and backstory too, nice work :)

    mtthwcmpbll says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 11:49pm

    The web version is running incredibly slow for me in chrome. It looks interesting though :)

    Snail_Man says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 11:51pm

    It was quite good, but the display was too tall for my monitor.

    AlanZucconi says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 11:55pm

    Hey mtthwcmpbll!
    The majority of users who report problems used IEx! You're actually the first one to have this in Chrome!

    The game automatically saves your status (if you change something!) every 10-15 seconds. This might cause periodic delays. For me, the speed of the game changes a lot if you are using Chrome or IEx. I don't know why! :\

    netguy204 says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 11:57pm

    I thought that this was a beautifully polished game and a clever use of the theme. I didn't catch the building bug though so the mechanic became tedious for me pretty quickly.

    May 1, 2013 @ 11:58pm

    Pretty awesome entry! Congratulations.
    I loved the spacial challenge of deciding where and how to dig in order to maximize my building capacity

    JustinMullin says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 12:05am

    Neat! Progression was a little slow for my taste due to the small "inventory" size, but I really like the game. There's definitely a strong drive to keep on climbing.

    john_conder9 says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 12:22am

    Impressive but I found it pretty boring. I read that you can do some cool stuff here apparently but I can't really figure it out? Plus it's a major pain trying to get the blocks placed, it feels like what is referring to as "nerd poling" in minecraft except with only 5 blocks or however many at a time and the game is very harsh if you accidentally hit left even just a bit too much, consequently screwing everything up. I think I was supposed to do something with the blue blocks but I couldn't find a way to get to the top where the other two blocks were with the third blue block because it always wanted to immediately place that one, other than build some elaborate staircase to get up but that would be a massive pain and take forever so I didn't do that.

    I guess it's just personal taste but if I was in the mood for some really relaxing "tedious" game play this would be a good option.

    Hegemege says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 12:31am

    Really relaxing game. I went for digging to the bottom after I hit the first blue wall. The controls were kinda iffy at times, especially if you pick up blocks by accident, but other than that a really decent game!

    patrickward says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 12:33am

    Wonderful game. Relaxing, excellent graphics, and beautiful soundtrack. I almost made it to the top. It kept me engaged for quite some time. Thanks for making this.

    Lerc says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 3:50am

    Took a sodding age but I got the heaven medal.

    Salamander3 says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 12:48pm

    The art and music were both really nice, and the idea for the game is unique. However I personally found the gameplay a little tedious, or at least, the proposed goal - I had more fun digging around and trying to go as low as possible, rather than up. :P Otherwise, fantastically implemented game in such a small space of time. Kudos to you, sir.

    EdoMiyamoto says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 4:38pm

    Addictive!

    lotusgame says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 11:13am

    Excellent polished game with a really interesting concept. I really like it !! Well done :)

    KEFIR says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 12:23pm

    Great idea, realisation and visual style! Very good entry!

    Kiwiboi says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 12:37pm

    Haha cute game. Really well done for a LD! :)

    brookman32k says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 2:02pm

    I like the artistic style of your game (graphics and sound). I needed a while to find out, that you can only dig some blocks and than need to place them to make room for more.

    spacechase0 says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 3:36pm

    I like what this is based off of. :) I wish there was sideways placement though (or more inventory space).

    AlanZucconi says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 4:14pm

    Hi spacechase0!
    Initially... there were sideways placement hehe!
    But this would allow people to build crazy structures that wouldn't look like a tower at all! :-)

    May 3, 2013 @ 4:17pm

    While parts of it could be better conveyed, I still liked it particularly the visual aesthetics. Pretty unique compared to what I've seen in this LD thus far.

    Rafael Sales says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 6:41pm

    Great art and mood. Congratz!

    May 3, 2013 @ 11:20pm

    The game's cute :D ... And it took me a lot of time to build the tower... I enjoyed this.

    May 4, 2013 @ 2:45am

    Nice Idea!

    Sylvain.p says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 4:26am

    Great, but It will be very much cool in multiplayer cooperativ/competitiv.

    SmilingCat says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 4:12pm

    Pretty cool, this had an addictive quality to it.

    Prelucid says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 5:34pm

    Cool concept for a game. Nice mood.

    May 5, 2013 @ 3:50pm

    good stuff.. quite relaxing ..nice mechanic aswell :)

    GaTechGrad says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 1:08am

    Really liked the art style and theme. Wish the digging was a little faster and there was some indication of the objective and progress.

    MinionStudios says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 4:13am

    Wow great game. simple, well done and you even put the parallax in there!

    rujo says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 10:36am

    i have no idea of what i am doing but its fun and addicting

    michail says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 1:40pm

    Yeah, I didn't finished it, but definitely will come back to my tower later ;) Pretty addictive game!

    Neonlare says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 1:44pm

    Minimalist, to a T. Lovely game.

    Adipson says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 4:37pm

    very fun ! good job

    dertom says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 5:26pm

    A bit too slow,but nice idea, nice game, cute character, good atmosphere! Well done!

    mollymus says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 7:31am

    Cool game, I think! A bit too slow gameplay for my liking though:(

    atraxgames says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 6:52pm

    Cool and inspirational game! A little slow maybe, but this helps the zen sensation

    sP0CkEr2 says ...
    May 9, 2013 @ 4:35am

    really cool but need to be a little faster -- and maybe allow holding more blocks at a time -- great game! oh yeah -- did not hear any music or sound?

    fermcg says ...
    May 10, 2013 @ 12:00am

    Great game!!!

    Tifu says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 1:04pm

    You can summon ladders!? *finds this out after spending ages beating the game* probably not the intended/proper ending though :P
    The auto dig is a bit annoying, I destroyed a lot of crucial tower components while digging.

    Mago says ...
    May 14, 2013 @ 5:46pm

    Great game!

    paulmcgg says ...
    May 15, 2013 @ 10:02pm

    Browser version ran a bit slow, but great style. Really liked how I developed different building styles to build quickly. Moving the goal posts felt a bit cheap, especially when I climbed the steps that appeared only to find at the top that I should have brought to bricks with me.

    Overall, a really nice experience.

    zkenshin says ...
    May 19, 2013 @ 5:31pm

    Really nice atmosphere while playing. :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]