Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 4 days, 15 hours, 20 minutes, 45 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 4 days, 15 hours, 20 minutes, 46 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Save the Potato, Save the world. - JohnnySix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    So, manoeuvre your spuds around the obstacle course, half blind and deliver the taters into the sack.

    Controls are arrow keys, press down to grab/drop the spuds.

    Beware you can't jump while carrying a tater, so plan ahead.

    I'll upload a streamlined / expanded version on the facebook page once I get some spare time again. :)

    https://www.facebook.com/JohnnySixGames

    Built with Construct 2

    View JohnnySix's journal. | View all entries by JohnnySix

    Ratings

    Coolness93%
    #11Graphics4.41
    #29Overall4.01
    #32Audio3.95
    #56Fun3.77
    #62Humor3.60
    #152Mood3.49
    #524Innovation3.16
    #1022Theme3.00

    Comments

    gilmore606 says ...
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:38pm

    Holy crap, great work. Really nice animation, very polished. And fun!

    Ace says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:20am

    Really nicely done, I like the way the level appears around you while you play, leads to many interesting deaths.
    The talking potatoes are a nice touch too.

    loxo says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:18am

    This is great! Incredible graphics and animations. And all the potatoes.

    whiteravens says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:09pm

    Well created, and great graphics!

    deige101 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:18pm

    very polished, very cool <3

    Masadow says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:20pm

    A bit hard, but crazy game ! 6 stars for the theme :D

    pythong says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:22pm

    i love the music! what did you use to make that?

    Meep says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:22pm

    I really loved the art/animation of this! The environment appearing as you approach kind of reminds me of Bastion; a very nice touch! Great work! :)

    JohnnySix says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:23pm

    I dunno if the sound is working for non-windows people, but it has some custom music & sound too, thought it may not be to everyone's tastes, I was playing it on the train tonight and no-one really appreciated the glory of chiptune through my tinny mono phone speaker.

    scriptorum says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:25pm

    I love the robot animation! Nice work.

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:31pm

    Best game at the moment, i love the graphics.

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:34pm

    Best game at the moment, i love the graphics. Very nice gameplay mechanics, cool music.

    delfino says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:24pm

    Great audio and graphics! Good job

    rezoner says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:24pm

    Epic graphics, I kind of don't like making jumps of faith, but great entry overall.

    LionelJitro says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:25pm

    LOVE the graphics style, well all the styles all of them.

    Great use of the should have been theme as well.

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:26pm

    lol, awesome graphics. I especially like the various jumping animations haha

    alwaysinbeta says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:26pm

    Fantastic game. Loved the character animations. Will def come back to play this again :)

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:27pm

    Ah, no, the music doesn't work on my mac. It would really help!

    theomnis says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:29pm

    The animation in this is great, especially the pickup anim.

    psychomonster says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:30pm

    Nice game... love the pixel artwork. Great animation. In my personal Top 5 at the moment.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:31pm

    AWESOME! Great animations, nice sprites, funky ass music, and hilarious taterz!

    KunoNoOni says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:35pm

    I think I played this game on the NES back in the 80's! HAHA! What a great game, good mechanics, great use of theme and I really liked the music and how the level fades in as new part become accessible.

    dem0 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:21am

    Gfx and sfx are really cool. A really nice little platformer.

    PsenFilip says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:33am

    You nailed the core platformer mechanics on there. Solid gameplay.
    I think that the art side of things really pumped the overall aspect of the game. Very funny at various points as well. Good Job

    rogueNoodle says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:10am

    Man, great entry - the visuals specifically really stood out (and even more specifically, the fading in and out of the level). Great stuff!

    MathiO says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:02am

    Wow, terrific animation and music! Especially the picking up animation and the lose theme.

    _Rilem says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:58pm

    This game was hard as balls o.o

    Very fun, nice graphics and audio. :)

    zatyka says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:39pm

    Challenging, but very fun. Never got boring with such diverse level mechanics. Awesome graphics too!

    saggiosoft says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:48pm

    Funny! It requires a lot of diligence...

    HELLO23 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:54pm

    POTATOES ! I liked the graphics and the player animation. The music is nice. I liked that the far blocks disappear. A bit hard, I didn't manage to even get one potato to the sack. 5/5

    Morgawr says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:05am

    Really good game, graphics were pleasant, audio catchy. Nice one!

    Yann says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 10:10am

    Ok first minute: holy crap, what is that? where I go? what do I do with this rock potato taters.
    After this first phase, few death and finally reaching the bag (oh you were there all along?)... I told myself "wow... those 4 taters? without dying?.... And then little by little, starting from the furthest away (most difficult) to avoid having to redo everything each time.

    Overall nice idea and graphics. Discovered toward the end that you could wall jump ("ho... can be usefull").

    And well done with the animation (:

    DBRalir says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 10:41pm

    Amazing game, I love the aesthetic. The rectangles that appear over blocks as you move around are awesome. The music is great, as well. Definitely one of the best games I've seen so far.

    Hamumu says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 11:41pm

    WHOA too hard for me. I did manage to save one tater. Maybe let me at least have 3 lives? The potato-pick-up animation is really double awesome. The super ultra insane jump height is less awesome.

    Tyro says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 1:50am

    Wow. That's some fine pixel work, that there. I particularly enjoy how expressive the robot is while jumping. The premise was simple and fun, and who doesn't love seeing a giant, expressive "LOSE" when they fall to their death?

    I give this one four spuds out of five. You might even say it's "tuber" great.

    MinionStudios says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 2:56am

    This had some great animations and an amazing overall consistency!

    aquilicoco says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 6:48am

    Good work! i loved the graphics.

    Alucard J says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 12:30pm

    This was fun but also a challenge. The animations look great and the sounds suited the whole look/feel. I really liked the field of view aspect. Well Done =]

    gerritg says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 7:53pm

    One of the best I've played so far! Love the art & music package.

    ethankennerly says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 9:59pm

    The animations, ambient flickering tiles fascinated me. Clever platform puzzle. If you continue to develop this, it was not clear to me that orange blocks with a "?" question mark on them would be destroyed when I stepped on them. I quickly realized this, yet I was at first expecting some power up, like in Super Mario Bros. Similarly I didn't understand the blocks with the "!" exclamation mark.

    s0ulcrusher says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 11:39pm

    Great platforming, controls are tight and responsive! Level design is nice too, all around excellent job :)

    Nangie says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 12:24pm

    It's awesome, your graphics are so smooth *o* congrats !

    May 5, 2013 @ 9:55pm

    Whoa awesome music! The game itself I found a bit tough, but the overall visuals and atmosphere were pretty amazing. It was fun and coherent as a whole. Plus seriously, awesome music

    onzephyr says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 3:39am

    Absolutely love the art, great style and animation. Gameplay was fun and the difficulty and exploration seemed just right.

    Zccc says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 4:04pm

    Very nice, I loved it, but only saved 3 potatoes :( And there are a lot of effects on the screen and the character moves too fast, making it hard!

    May 8, 2013 @ 7:11pm

    Robotater is a great name. Solid game! Love the music

    euwaku says ...
    May 11, 2013 @ 6:32pm

    5 Stars for the retro music. Amazing graphics/visual effects and very fun game. Too bad it's so hard!!
    Also... wrong theme? :D

    Tsuki_Usagi says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 3:29am

    only saved 4 potatos xD

    but very nice and fun! and the music...*^*

    just one thing:
    I got stuck one time and a lot of potatoes appeared, is it normal? (and dying by themselves lol)

    plop says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 9:36am

    Wow, great game, incredible work!

    plop says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 9:37am

    Wow, great game! Audio, art and gameplay all polished

    JohnnySix says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 8:13pm

    I forgot to remove debug mode, so you can spawn potatoes with the secret key lol!

    Tater_hater says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 10:55pm

    wow, great game

    HeyZeus says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 11:07pm

    I like the retro style, awesome idea.

    stqn says ...
    May 15, 2013 @ 1:15pm

    Linux version doesn't work on Arch Linux 64 bit:
    ./robotater: error while loading shared libraries: libgconf-2.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
    I played the web version. Great music and graphics! Even though the framerate was a bit low, the game reacted well to key presses. However I didn't understand what the "!" squares were for and abandonned after dying too many times on the spikes. Restarting from the last point were the character was touching the ground instead of restarting from the beginning would be nice!

    JohnnySix says ...
    May 15, 2013 @ 8:57pm

    Hmm - maybe I can take the linux link down - it was just because the program I use had an exporter for node-webkit. I thought about the respawn thing, but the potatoes also die on the spikes, so it could get kinda complex trying to figure out balance.

    Xanjos says ...
    May 17, 2013 @ 12:26am

    Pretty fun game even though it was a bit short. Loved the animations and the music was very cool. Would definitely love to see some more levels.

    Madball says ...
    May 17, 2013 @ 11:22am

    Graphics and sounds were great, but the gameplay wasn`t.
    Controls were a bit uncomfortable. Sometimes keys stick, which often leads to a loss.
    I found about walljumps and action of "!" blocks only by the end of the game, and the game is completable without them. Write about each feature of the game, don`t make players figure out.
    "X" blocks require you to be directly below it. If you jump from beneath, but you are under another block, it won`t destroy.
    Blindness effect was unneeded. The screen is quiet small, so I wouldn`t see much anyway.
    The level design was not good. You wanted me to plan ahead, but all taters can be delivered without planning at all.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]