Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 18 hours, 52 minutes, 1 second
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 18 hours, 52 minutes, 2 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    FOLD - jwaap - Jam Entry

    ///////ABOUT///////
    A BIRD LOOKING FOR FOOD

    ///////CONTROLS///////
    [UP] TO FLY/TAKE FLIGHT
    [LEFT]&[RIGHT] TO TURN/TAKE FLIGHT
    [DOWN] TO FLIP
    [R] TO RESTART

    ///////CREDITS///////
    COLORS BY DANIEL CARNEIRO, AUDIO BY DAVID KANAGA, DESIGN BY KITTY CALIS & GAME BY JAN WILLEM NIJMAN

    ///////NOTES///////
    PROBABLY DOESN'T WORK ON WINDOWS 8

    View jwaap's journal. | View all entries by jwaap

    Ratings

    #10Audio(Jam)4.13
    #10Mood(Jam)4.20
    #19Theme(Jam)4.23
    #52Graphics(Jam)4.15
    #59Overall(Jam)3.73
    #95Innovation(Jam)3.53
    #205Fun(Jam)3.07
    #379Humor(Jam)1.70
    #2059Coolness0%

    Comments

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:29pm

    Loved the atmosphere and the audio! *o*
    (And it seemed to work on my Windows 8.)

    lucasncv says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:41pm

    Very nice, I feel like flying now.

    Sos says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:52pm

    Amazing! I love the controls there! Good job! Too bad I didn't stay over the weekend so I could jam too :) (Sandra loves it too)

    NiallM says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:04pm

    This is gorgeous.

    kewry says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:11pm

    Some colors make it really hard to see anything and it's hard to get used to the controls, fun little game nevertheless!

    geepit says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:18pm

    Really nice!

    lody says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:41pm

    Fantastic! Controls are simple & good once you have the reference of the trees. (worked on Windows 8 here too)

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:26pm

    Well, that was mesmerizing. Music fits beautifully.

    jerombd says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:28pm

    Simple but beautiful especially the D. Kanaga soundscapes!

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:05pm

    The music was awesome and sounds being tied to keys was cool. WAs super fun just gliding forward and turning. Hitting buildings was no fun :) I think this would be awesome if it was more open and you just flew long distances without hitting things, collecting things and listening to peaceful music. Worth exploring further!

    Loren says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:08pm

    i love this :) Great ambience!

    saampahlavan says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:43pm

    Looks beautiful and plays pretty smoothly. I kinda wish I could soar with more birds or something.

    Axelhein says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:23pm

    Very cool and cinematic. Controls were a bit strange at times, but other than that the game was just really cool and beautiful.

    May 1, 2013 @ 9:27am

    Really great job, I liked it a lot. I think it could have been more enjoyable by providing only the Left and Right keys (the only ones I ended up using). At the beginning I got really confused by the use of the four arrow keys. Great audio and visuals. Well done:)

    allinlabs says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:16pm

    This game is a real breath of fresh air. Beautiful aesthetic and sounds.

    Blizzil says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:38pm

    The atmosphere is awesome, it is almost hypnotic. Gameplay is simple but nice and it is fun to play, visuals and sound is incredible too.

    Sanguine says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 3:22pm

    So pretty, love it :)

    ohsqueezy says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 5:40pm

    Lovely and soothing experience

    kill0u says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:14pm

    Very nice atmosphere :o

    Gungnir says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 6:50am

    Enjoyed the visuals and sountrack but didn't like hitting the buildings.

    pjchardt says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 5:18pm

    Wonderful aesthetics. I feel the camera movements were a bit jarring at times, considering the mood and subtlety of the overall experience. Same for some of the areas of densely populated roosts. All in all excellent use of the theme and a delightful canvas to explore.

    tankete says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 6:17pm

    I think I made an early wrong turn because for a while after I saw nothing. Control were a bit tough to get used to. Really like the mood created with sound. Original idea that worked well with the theme.

    Canyon says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 3:25am

    This was awesome. The music and sound made it for me. It is a beautiful game, but the fact that left and right had a different beautiful sound made me really enjoy just the act of turning. And seeing as you turn a lot in the game that was important.

    The Visual design is beautiful, it meets the theme.

    I wish the game left you a little bit longer in a haze of colourful nothingness before the game restarts.

    KevinZuhn says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 3:27am

    I thought the building sticking was kind of cool. Flying around is relaxing and beautiful, though I'd have liked camera control.
    Is there an ending to this one?

    BNeutral says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 4:45am

    Very interesting piece.

    Dohan says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 9:41pm

    Beautiful!

    Greg Power says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 12:58am

    Very beautiful day dream ambience. I found the controls a bit stiff, but adapted quickly enough. I want more non-combat flight games!

    TenTonToon says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 6:26am

    Very moody, artsy experience, quite fitting of the theme, yet hardly a game. The sound design is truly brilliant, and the best part of 'Fold'. Being able to change the color scheme by pressing the space key is a welcome addition, as some of them are easier on the eyes than others.

    The loose controls/camera are probably the main negative point for me. I guess you can get to really flow with the action with enough practice, but was sort of unwelcoming for me at first.

    Keep it up! :)

    Puzzlem00n says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 10:12pm

    Wow. I love how there's different sound effects for left and right movement, incredible. It really lulls you in to a sense of sleep. That camera could use some work though.

    Puzzlem00n says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 10:14pm

    Oh, and I forgot to say, love that preloader popup thing.

    "let's just wait for a bit"

    Well said.

    Edgy Mirrors says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 7:58am

    Gave this one quite a bit of time, to see if it did anything for me... it felt really buggy the whole way through, or at least, not super well though out. Also, got boring super fast.

    On the plus side, it was very pretty, and tasteful, and the audio was grand, too.

    I just wish you guys had been a bit more creative. Put a plane in there, that blew you around when you passed. Or a flock of birds you could follow. Something to add interest now and then.

    MinionStudios says ...
    May 10, 2013 @ 3:41am

    Nice! super clean and fun to play!

    pereubu says ...
    May 18, 2013 @ 9:56pm

    Great aesthetic, quite relaxing to play this game during a rush. It was easy to recognize the author behind the audio.
    like it D:

    Rafael Sales says ...
    May 20, 2013 @ 11:38pm

    Cool game. Amazing graphics and great concept. Congrats!!

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]