Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 13 days, 15 hours, 40 minutes, 35 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Type|FACE - TriBeard - Jam Entry

    Presenting our first jam, Type|FACE.

    In keeping with the minimalist theme, the objective is simple - Type the words before they hit you to avoid them!

    Note you must have Visual C++ 2012 redist installed to play:
    http://download.microsoft.com/download/1/6/B/16B06F60-3B20-4FF2-B699-5E9B7962F9AE/VSU1/vcredist_x86.exe

    We hope you have fun, and only wish we'd had just a little more time to fix the following issues:

    No proper "death state" with animations / level reset.

    Gapless music looping.

    Infinite, procedural level generation.

    Update:

    Latest download is now also compatible with Windows XP. Corrected a spelling mistake in the credits.

    View TriBeard's journal. | View all entries by TriBeard

    Ratings

    Coolness66%
    #224Audio(Jam)3.06
    #253Humor(Jam)2.24
    #257Theme(Jam)3.30
    #313Graphics(Jam)3.00
    #324Fun(Jam)2.76
    #350Mood(Jam)2.70
    #373Innovation(Jam)2.63
    #389Overall(Jam)2.83

    Comments

    hockeygoalie5 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:13pm

    Chains of long words were sometimes near impossible to pass through successfully, and after a bad streak I dropped to difficulty 1 and no more words appeared.

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:14pm

    can't play. Don't have windows :(

    Hayawi says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:16pm

    Couldnt run

    Holofire says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:18pm

    Wow, talk about difficult games. Some parts are pretty damn easy, but then a huge word comes up, and its gets real. After a while the words stopped appearing, which is kind of a bummer.

    sigfig says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:21pm

    games about typing are difficult to make engaging
    you've given it a good try here but unfortunately the game falls to the inherent monotony of the "type things fastly" mechanic

    unfortunately most of your options for remedying the problem don't adhere to the theme. minimalism can be tough!

    Tom 7 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:23pm

    I love typing games, probably because I rarely feel like I have some natural skill going into a game.

    This was a good execution, though the difficulty curve is a little off (it goes to pretty ridiculous quickly, and then just ends?). Note that the recognizability of a word is almost as important as its length in typing speed. Using some kind of term frequency weighting for difficulty would improve it.

    High score 45 words!

    TriBeard says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:32am

    Thanks for the feedback guys - a lot of these features were on our list but we just ran out of time. We've learned a lot during our first Jam, and will continue dev on this game afterwards.

    Clavus says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:34pm

    The difficulty curve could've been better (lots of long / short words being mixed without a real pattern). The game suddenly stopped throwing words at me too.

    TriBeard says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:54pm

    We had always intended for the level to be both endless and generated by procedural means. The plan was to use these systems to balance the difficulty.

    Sadly we ran out of time to get these systems working. The ugre to cheat and finish the system has been resisted! Hopefully you can appreciate what we were going for.

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:33pm

    The word selection was humorous and the graphics are nice to look at. The words did get a little too difficult for some combos though.

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:37pm

    Not a bad concept, and the first typing game I've played so far. However, there is one big flaw... Reading the text as it moves hurts my eyes. I think it would be better if the text was stationary somewhere on screen, as trying to follow it while playing is difficult, and it distorts the text.

    TomboFry says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:41pm

    Very hard, as everyone else has suggested, making the difficulty curve smaller would vastly improve this game, however good nonetheless

    keksdev says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:45pm

    Maybe it should be more like "win get pull bark goal beaf house jerk transport ladyboy watermelon" instead of "aw impudently ie ro el po impossiblewordthatkillsyou pi or let"

    loxo says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:49pm

    I like word typing games, this reminds me of Z-Type. Sadly the difficulty increases to fast for me. The music is good.

    reheated says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:52pm

    I thought it was great, and the wild changes in difficulty made it funny.

    GarethIW says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:21pm

    Not bad, like other said it was pretty tough. Or maybe I just need to learn to touch-type. Also, the level seemed to stop generating after about four mins?

    SuperDisk says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:51pm

    FO, MA, LA, TA, PHONOCARDIOGRAM

    It went on like this for a while. Neat game, but when you boil it down, it's just a "teaches typing" game.

    May 1, 2013 @ 5:19pm

    Well implemented, good way to help people learn to type. I'd have liked the words to come up in a word length pattern similar to that in a sentence, rather than consecutive two letter words and consecutive huge words that I have no idea how spell. However, this is only level design, the mechanics is solid, good entry!

    infinitedog says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 6:48pm

    Educative, nice difficulty and nice graphics!

    GranaDa says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 6:48pm

    Really nice idea. I love type games. The world needs more type games.

    Proch says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:31pm

    for non-english people some words are just impossible to read/remember in such little time... anyway fun game to play ;)

    acro says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:34pm

    Enjoyed this one. Some of the word choices were pretty amusing. I think there was too much of a delay after you miss a letter and maybe a smoother difficulty curve would have been nice, "yi", "de", "doo", "necromancer" :) Overall good fun, great audio feedback, well done.

    May 2, 2013 @ 11:10pm

    Can't start the game. When I try to start it, there's a error message about a missing file named MSVCR110.dll. :( (WinXP, 32bit here)

    TriBeard says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 12:13am

    Sebastian: Did you follow the instructions about the game requiring the Visual C++ 2012 redistributable to run? Try installing that, I think it will fix your error. It's included in the download, but you can also get it from Microsoft at the following address: http://download.microsoft.com/download/1/6/B/16B06F60-3B20-4FF2-B699-5E9B7962F9AE/VSU1/vcredist_x86.exe :)

    SneakySalmon says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 11:42pm

    Awesome concept :D Good touch typing practice too. Some long words need to be seen early to be passed but i'm sure it's possible. I did notice the words stop at one point. Very fun otherwise though :D

    kibertoad says ...
    May 19, 2013 @ 10:41pm

    it's much cooler then similar dos stuff I played as a kid on 386, but there was The Typing of the Dead between you and those days. you might find it hard to compete.

    Mach60KAS says ...
    May 19, 2013 @ 11:31pm

    Great music, enjoyed the graphic style. The words became needlessly complicated all too soon, and when I got to difficulty 2 the game appeared to run out of words! Still, good job! :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]