Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 30 days, 20 hours, 7 minutes, 29 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 65 days, 20 hours, 55 minutes, 29 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!) | October Challenge 2014!


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    consequences - Hypnohustla - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    First LD behind me and I feel so much wiser!

    I tried to achieve a minimalist movie poster feel.
    It's a basic shmup with amazing features like regenerating health and a shocking twist ending. It also has an artsy fartsy name so you know its cool and indie.

    I'm quite happy with the result, even if I didn't use as much time for the game as I had hoped for.

    View Hypnohustla's journal. | View all entries by Hypnohustla

    Ratings

    Coolness50%
    #94Graphics3.94
    #244Mood3.29
    #275Overall3.46
    #310Fun3.26
    #404Humor2.47
    #419Innovation3.29
    #525Theme3.57
    #550Audio2.71

    Comments

    Cory Martin says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:51am

    The graphics are gorgeous and the game is stylistically incredible. I really like the 2 hit regenerating health system too. The gameplay is super hard for me, though. If I get through the flying section, the driving section does me in quickly since I barely get to get the hang of it before there are a ton of obstacles waiting to obliterate me.

    But overall, this is a really cool game.

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:51am

    Hey nice concept, apparently i was able to just fly "out of the screen" at the top, this should be fixed i think. But Controlls play really well.

    Holofire says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:25pm

    Nice little game you have made. The graphics are phenominal and I am struggling to believe this was made in just 48hrs.

    The controls were simple to use. Amazing game :D

    TijmenTio says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:31pm

    Shot them all down flew straight to the end, easy... Until you get in the car haha. You had me there.
    I also really liked the artstyle!

    hulahulahest says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:43pm

    I felt like there was no reason not to just hold down X in the first section since you weren't really punished for it. Once I got to the car section and promptly died, I was annoyed that I had to start all the way back at the start again.

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:47pm

    Was *really* excited when I got to the driving section, but as per the others, died almost immediately, which is a real shame. Lovely art style.

    atraxgames says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:24pm

    Art style is very good, it reminds me the remade minimal poster, game idea is very good and well executed. But is frustrating to restart from the scratch when you die!

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:46pm

    The art style and feel of this game are awesome! The game starts very simple but when you get to the car, it turns into hellishly hard. Had to give up there because I just can't get those damn obstacles. Make a post compo version with easier car part? It's kind of brutal having to start the whole thing from the beginning.

    Hypnohustla says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:40pm

    The car part is as hard as you make it. The obstacles are the ships you destroy on the flying portion so it made sense to me that you start from the beginning. But I'll definetly make an easier post combo version :)

    omaromeir says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:22pm

    Awesome game And amazing graphics. Only complaint is that I can fly at the top of the screen and get to the car easily.

    AndyBumpkin says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:53am

    Awesome work! Love the little messages along the way (especially that last one!) Great concept for a minimalist game.

    Took me 3 attempts to realise I could fly through the building like structures. Then I found I could cheat a little by flying right to the top and shooting a lot.

    The second part was a lot trickier for me though!

    My only annoyance was the music, but that's probably just a personal thing ;)

    Good stuff!

    Travis Irby says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:56am

    Hey cool game! Style is great and the gameplay is tough in a good way :D

    BNeutral says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:52am

    Interesting gameplay twist.
    I dunno if the paper effect was a good artistic call.

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:21pm

    The graphics are amazing! I really like the style of the game, but I unfortunately couldn't get along with the controls and died, a lot.

    NightShadow0 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:15pm

    Stunning graphics and two gameplay modes even! Couldn't for the life of me make it through the second segment though.

    NightShadow0 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:26pm

    Ah, i hadn't realized what the car obstacles were, clever!

    sharbelfs says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:35pm

    WTF, that's a awesome idea! My only suggestion is to make the Z button jump more.

    jadams says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:53pm

    I didn't spot that the ships became the obstacles either the first time. Full marks for the art style.

    PsenFilip says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 3:12pm

    I dig the artistic feel on there. The level design is interesting, so say the least.
    The game boundaries are non-existent which makes it easy to cheat, I suppose.
    The gameplay was OK.

    PaulSB says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 12:23pm

    Gorgeous little game! Enjoyed the simple but effective shooting part... and then the car happened :P After the forgiving nature of the previous section the jumping car death-trap was a bit of a shock!

    I suppose I should not kill things to progress there, certainly added quite a twist... Okay adding an extra innovation point for that.

    lotusgame says ...
    May 15, 2013 @ 7:50am

    A true minimalist game ! Very very nice and fun ! Discovering the second part of the game was very funny :) Bravo !

    Andy Go says ...
    May 15, 2013 @ 11:17am

    Really nice graphics.

    Ryusui says ...
    May 16, 2013 @ 4:37am

    Hey there, fellow Stencyl user! Nice work - I love the "paper cutout" aesthetic of the game. The midway twist is clever - the more fighters you kill, the harder the driving section becomes. Good times!

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]