Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 19 days, 16 hours, 10 minutes, 6 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Milton - ZYXer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    INSTRUCTIONS:

    "Help Milton find his way through the maze."

    Each level has two phases:

    PHASE 1:
    The whole maze is lit, but you cannot move Milton. Use your mouse to place torches in strategic places, so that you can guide Milton through the maze once it's dark. You only have limited time to place the torches, but if you are finished early, click "Run" to go to the next phase. Remember, you only have 50 torches for the entire game.

    PHASE 2:
    The maze is dark now, only lit by the torches you placed in phase 1. Use your arrow keys to move Milton to the exit. But keep an eye on the time!

    Play all 12 levels to complete the game.


    This is my first Ludum Dare entry. I hope you have fun playing! :-D
    - ZYXer

    View ZYXer's journal. | View all entries by ZYXer

    Ratings

    Coolness83%
    #49Overall3.92
    #64Fun3.74
    #71Graphics4.05
    #75Innovation3.88
    #169Mood3.44
    #315Humor2.63
    #571Theme3.52
    #1082Audio1.24

    Comments

    sparkleswirl says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:17am

    I really like this game. It's a nice mixture between memorization and resource management and the time limit really gives it a nice sense of urgency.

    aneeslol says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 1:56am

    Such an awesome take on the theme, I'd give it a 6 for that if I could!

    kreddor says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 6:39pm

    Really nice mechanic and very cute graphics. Needs to be a little harder I think since I beat all levels on the first try :)

    MrHalfman says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 6:40pm

    This game if one of my ld's favorite game :). Great concept, nice graphics and polished! Congrats!

    Tipyx says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 6:43pm

    Excellent !

    infinitedog says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 6:43pm

    Awesome graphics, really funny. Nice idea and level design to make it a nice game.
    I miss a bit of music.

    druckson says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 6:49pm

    Awesome concept, really liked the visual style. It'd be cool to be able to go back and replay earlier levels to reduce your torch use.

    Bernhard says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 6:52pm

    Really nice idea fitting the theme oh so well!
    Nice graphics with cool lightning effects. Too bad there's no sound.

    At first I didn't realize that the torches need to hold for 12 levels, so I had to do the last two without any - But I saved Milton in the end! :-)

    pragma says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:44pm

    I really enjoyed this game!

    Komradus says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 1:02am

    Got upto level 11 before I ran out of torches, really fun and challenging, good work.

    fueelin says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 1:03am

    Really good game. I enjoyed it a lot and it fits the theme well!

    spacechase0 says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 1:11am

    Very fun. :) I managed to save 13 torches.

    Xanjos says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 12:28am

    Really excellent take on the theme and the two phase mechanics were well executed. Would obviously be much better if there was sound of course.

    kyyninen says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 9:08am

    Finished with 4 torches to spare! Liked that you have to "minimize" the potentially complicated route.

    Ragzouken says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 9:21am

    Cool idea. I keep losing to being over ambitious :p

    Paul Sinnett says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 11:29pm

    I love the game mechanic here.

    Porpentine says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 8:06am

    this is good because it lets you set your own challenge level instead of forcing you to conform to a single difficulty

    May 4, 2013 @ 4:51pm

    nice idea and a very pleasant game

    amodo says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 12:53pm

    Very well executed and a really nice idea! Good jerb!

    EatenAlive3 says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 12:56pm

    Lots of fun, great concept, and I like the pixel bevelling :P.

    delfino says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 4:18pm

    Fun, challenging, have to replay at least once. Looks great, well polished. Excellent job!

    May 5, 2013 @ 4:21pm

    This worked out quite well! I ended up only having a single torch for the final level, but lucked out somehow. Great idea. Perhaps with some extra polish and some sound, this could be expanded further.

    May 5, 2013 @ 4:27pm

    I do wish there weren't a time limit for placing the torches. That's my only point of criticism. The game is really neat otherwise. :)

    messiano says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 4:49pm

    Very original. At first I thought it was easy, but a few levels later I realized how corners can make things much harder :). Congratulations.

    May 5, 2013 @ 8:43pm

    Wow, such a neat idea! Loving the graphics too, what a cool entry!

    manax says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 11:02pm

    Nicely done. Good concept. Pretty good level design, and good variety.

    Could be a little harder. I won with 23 or so torches left.

    SmilingCat says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 3:42am

    Great use of the theme! Unique concept, and the graphics were very well done.

    Awesome job!

    sP0CkEr2 says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 4:44am

    this was cool game -- maybe the best so far -- wish i could figure out how to make those type of graphics for a game i am working on -- great effort. shame there is no audio!

    lotusgame says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 6:56am

    Very good concept ! Well polished, except there is no sound at all. Fun to play. Cool graphics. A very good entry :)

    geckojsc says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 12:12pm

    Awesome concept, great design and execution! Was quite easy until I got to the final level and realised I only had one torch left. xD

    You could take this game in so many exciting directions. Random maze generation, traps and monsters, treasure, cool music. I would totally play a post-compo version. :)

    gre says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 12:35pm

    I like these 2-part kind of game :)
    Interesting concept and good graphics :)
    Would be great with some audio (zombie noise when moving in the dark? :D)

    Merkoth says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 4:20pm

    Very interesting, and looks very nice too. Great job!

    May 6, 2013 @ 8:36pm

    Nice game, cool idea, cute graphics! Needs sound, and could be a bit more difficult...:) Otherwise very good!

    Uhfgood says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 12:14am

    Great job!

    May 7, 2013 @ 9:57am

    Wow. Surprisingly great!

    Jorjon says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 12:40pm

    Nice graphics! I particularly liked the torch effect.
    The mechanic was also good, but didn't find it too related to minimalism.

    May 7, 2013 @ 7:04pm

    Great graphics, interesting idea. Felt lack of some ambient music :)

    zkenshin says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 12:51am

    Neat game. Had only a few torches left at the end. :)

    barkergames says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 2:12am

    Love the level design!
    Really neat concept, great job!

    Sestren says ...
    May 10, 2013 @ 12:39am

    I really liked the concept behind this. I'd love to see the idea explored a bit more with the addition of hazards, monsters, or objects that need to be used. The core idea behind it is awesome, though! Great job!

    Jeremias says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 10:20am

    This game was really fun. Great graphics, smooth controls, funny concept. The following feedback contains just minor things: Add music and sound effects! Additional, you should add a "x levels left" text in the game. I know, you wrote the level count in the game description, but I read it over and without this information, the saving of torches gets strange. A possible solution would be to let the player unlock level by level (if he won the previous one) and let him play old levels again, so he can try to solve it with fewer torches and therefore get some back for later levels. This would make the torch saving still worth it, but let the player also decide how to use it and don't just save them for an unknown future.

    Tifu says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 1:15pm

    Awesome idea! I love the two-stage gameplay. I ended with 13 torches left cos I was conservative as I didn't notice there was only 12 levels, should probably include that info in-game, like "level X of Y".

    lorancou says ...
    May 14, 2013 @ 11:52am

    Good game ! Really fun ... You should create more levels

    Orni says ...
    May 15, 2013 @ 6:23am

    awesome idea and great learning curve.
    the visuals were great as well! nicely done

    loved it

    Dotanukii says ...
    May 15, 2013 @ 10:49pm

    I didn't really like the time limit mainly because i wasn't aware of it, however i had a lot of fun and the strategy is nice. some music would be great!

    Erunaamo says ...
    May 19, 2013 @ 9:10pm

    Neat idea, very polished presentation. I like the visual style. Gameplay is sort of easy, sort of hard...pretty cool game.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]