Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo Begins: in 8 days, 6 hours, 32 minutes, 20 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam Begins: in 8 days, 6 hours, 32 minutes, 21 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Orbicular - metalcan - Jam Entry

    A very minimalist game with "music fading effects" for lack of a better description (I'm really tired an in urgent need of sleep).

    Phew, barely made it!

    I have some regrets:
    1. No time to balance levels, had to rush them.
    2. I could have done so much more with the music, but had to rush it.
    3. Had to start one day late, so I had very limited time.

    All in all I'm happy with the result, though.

    View metalcan's journal. | View all entries by metalcan

    Ratings

    Coolness54%
    #18Theme(Jam)4.25
    #20Audio(Jam)4.02
    #64Overall(Jam)3.71
    #75Mood(Jam)3.65
    #144Fun(Jam)3.25
    #151Graphics(Jam)3.69
    #212Innovation(Jam)3.17
    #400Humor(Jam)1.58

    Comments

    Jalict says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:48pm

    Really nice done. Your visual style and audio really gives a great feeling to the game. The controls kinds of feel clunky, but you just have to get used to it.

    Hadyn says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:50am

    Excellent audio and visuals, the mechanic is interesting and the variation in stages is great. What's less great is the one-hit game over. Why!? Why make me start again when I've made it all the way to 37!? Why not just set me back 5 points or something? I kind of lost interest after such a big loss.

    Still, the mood is great and for the other reasons you've won my approval overall. Great job :D

    bvanschooten says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:57am

    Fantastic sound! I like the way you use a music channel for the pickup sound. Despite the simple graphics the game looks attractive. It would be nice to be able to start at any level (standard advice for any LD game).

    metalcan says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:59am

    Thanks all! @Haydn yeah, the game is brutal like that, sorry.

    Pinkerator says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:26am

    I want such game on my iPad :) Maybe with more different music and not so minimalistic graphics that will be a hit! But as for jam-game it's already awesome ))

    Entity2D says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:59am

    Very cool, if tricky, little game. This would be great on a tablet. I also love the music and minimalism.

    RobKat says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:01am

    Great style and the audio is awesome

    Exergy says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:09am

    Beautiful and addicting. Awesome audio which really set the mood to the game.
    Perfect interpretation of the Theme!

    nicotuason says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:10am

    Despite the simple graphics the animations are super smooth! Music and sounds really gives this game a calming effect

    caporaltito says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:15am

    Amazing.

    Robotic says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:15am

    Cool visuals, hitting squares is too punishing for me, since it's long to reach 0.

    Conve says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:20am

    U R an Artist! xD

    Greg Power says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:21am

    Simple, and clean. Really great game. I like your choice to count down, rather than count up. It gives the player the curiosity to continue rather than just, y'know, 'high score'.

    Flai says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:24am

    Seriously the music is awesome. Graphics are very minimalistic yet so good looking too :) The gameplay isn't *that* great, but its still pretty good! Great job!

    Winterblood says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:45am

    Elegant idea, slick execution, but painfully difficult. Needs a lighter penalty for touching squares, or less circles to collect (or a difficulty select). I also found it frustrating to have to pull in the opposite direction you want to go, because that requires you to use the area outside the game screen. Like the dynamic music and colour though!

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:52am

    Simple gameplay and I'll say the music's relaxing... Good game :D

    Spierek says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:04pm

    Great and clean art style, but like Hadyn says, it would be better if squares only detracted a certain amount of points instead of forcing you to restart.

    pereubu says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:16pm

    great work on the ost :D

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:18pm

    The gameplay and music are hypnotic, controls are smooth. What i didn't like is failing when i had ~30 orbs left :)

    metalcan says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:24pm

    Whoa, thanks for the encouraging comments you guys, again, sorry about the difficulty. Let's pretend it's supposed to be near-impossible, and dying is being reborn, or some other pretentiousness. ;)

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:17pm

    Love the graphic and music!
    Gameplay is a bit dull though ;)

    bobiniki says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:59pm

    I like the music and effects. Good job really cute game.

    evoker says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:10pm

    Very polished game. I found the movement mechanic quite satisfying. Great music too. I think all the elements fit the minimalism theme perfectly.

    Jhelle says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:19pm

    This is a great simple concept, loving the audio in this game. Good job!

    ataxkt says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:52pm

    Really smooth! The cubes can look like circles when you don't pay enough attention.

    atraxgames says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:46am

    Cool style and music, perfectly fits the theme.

    SaintHeiser says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:30pm

    Wow, how it addictive!
    Really like the gameplay! Nice work!

    TheCze says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 3:17pm

    Nice visual style!

    Grouflon says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:18pm

    Really nice entry. Superb visuals & audio design/integration. The overall atmosphere is very relaxing and minimalistic. Might be a great idea to dev a tablet version. Thanks for sharing.

    lorancou says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 2:27pm

    Smoothly done!
    Really easy to get the hang of things.
    Though it's a bit harsh and discouraging to get back to 100 everythime on the first 'hit'.

    euwaku says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 8:27pm

    Finally, a well polished game with so many details that make your game experience unique and deeply enjoyable. Very good work.

    brxtr says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 6:04pm

    Very tasteful visual style and fitting music to go along with it. The movement mechanic did a great job of making an otherwise boring game quite fun to play around with. However, for some reason I didn't expect the squares to penalise so harshly and this put me off playing any more of the game.

    Colapsydo says ...
    May 10, 2013 @ 8:43am

    This game is just genial.
    The music is awesome, and the variation of the catch-sfx regarding the part of the tune create a unique atmosphere.
    Concept and graphics fit the theme correctly.

    It's a bit harsh to come back to 100 when hit. My best so far is 29, but I will arrive to 0, I will.
    Good work.

    May 12, 2013 @ 11:49am

    Sometimes when respawning, you are facing straight into a wall, perhaps a check to keep you facing mostly forward. I liked the burnt rubber trails behind the cars, and how they persisted. Although sometimes chunks of burnt rubber wouldn't be draw after respawning, and it looked odd.

    May 12, 2013 @ 12:18pm

    So ignore my above comment, I was typing into the wrong tab. :D

    At first I was using the line drawn from the circle as my direction of travel, and it took me a few times to realize that is more like pulling back a slingshot. The momentum felt a but weird at times, as if I wasn't traveling as far as I felt I should. Having a couple lives would have been nice. But a visually pleasing game, with neat music. Good work.

    Xanjos says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 1:55pm

    The game matches the theme really well. Loved the graphics and the ambient background music creates quite a calm and relaxing mood.

    Madball says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 2:08pm

    (What) were you thinking?..

    ethankennerly says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 4:04pm

    Your interactive art impressed me! Observing the difference between the white squares and white circles interested me. The adaptive loops entranced me. At 66 when the squares started to slow down and clutter the screen, I felt concerned and alert. The color fades and audio transitions influenced my mood. If you continue to develop this, each time I died at 80 and then at 55, the number reset to 100. I felt indignant! My mistake of course, yet I had lost all my progress and would have to repeat the same parts that now would not be challenging to get back to 55 where I was feeling concerned and alert. Maybe have you considered some mechanism to save partial progress, like a checkpoint or when a square touches you, it only returns you to half way between your number and 100. For example, when I intersected a square at 55, I would now be at 73; (55+100+1)/2 = 73. When I intersected a square at 80, I would now be at 90 (80+100+1)/2 = 90.

    Orni says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 7:14pm

    the audio and controls are very smooth and polish - they also fit touch screen controls perfectly - so please make a mobile version :)

    well done :D

    mildmojo says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 8:52pm

    I made it down to 26 after 3 games. The one-hit restart was enough to keep me playing it to completion, but I don't think it's an invalid design choice. I liked that you essentially reset the game in place, putting the player back into action immediately.

    Nice use of plain shapes, color, and lovely music. Very nice overall.

    KEFIR says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 10:35am

    really nice one! But squares punishment is too harsh imo :(

    kill0u says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 11:29am

    Nice. A little hard to control at first, and very frustrating to go back to 100 at every single square though =/

    EggDestroyer says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 7:16pm

    Haydn read my mind. Same thoughts.

    Sylvain.p says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 9:14pm

    Really nice aesthetic. Maybe petter with more move patterns for enemies and orbs.

    Sylvain.p says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 9:14pm

    petter => better

    Catman says ...
    May 14, 2013 @ 7:16am

    Cool game, liked the mood!!

    captainkraft says ...
    May 15, 2013 @ 1:10pm

    So many great things about this game. The concept and style are incredible. I especially liked the changing colours. I also thought it was cool how your collecting the orbs affected the soundtrack.

    I think the game is a bit unforgiving though. I got down to 40 my first try, and was dismayed to have to start again from 100. Maybe a 3 life system would work better, or have the player "lose" orbs when they hit a square, so they have to recover. Great entry.

    Puccini says ...
    May 19, 2013 @ 2:16am

    Very fun , very minimalistic, a great game :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]