Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 80 days, 17 hours, 34 minutes, 10 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon)


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Amish Brothers - GaTechGrad - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    View GaTechGrad's journal. | View all entries by GaTechGrad

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #113Humor3.34
    #374Audio3.00
    #584Mood2.84
    #853Graphics2.66
    #968Fun2.53
    #1104Overall2.61
    #1199Theme2.70
    #1209Innovation2.10

    Comments

    Tater_hater says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:31am

    This is really addicting

    GaTechGrad says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:50am

    Thanks :D

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:23am

    Those sheeps multiply like crazy.

    voxel says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:50am

    ALL SHEEP RETURNED TO THE BARN.. YEAHHHAHHHA

    nice work. timer or other scoring system would be nice!

    Jesse111 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:31am

    Very charming. I like the real voice audio and homemade music. It sounds like someone's right outside of the game field playing while we play! Also, 5/5 for humor
    Only drawback is no apparent challenge, but it's meditative!

    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:32am

    lol, this is silly

    raincole says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:37am

    Did you play the guitar by yourself? It's very suited to this game.

    kewry says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:38am

    What do those sheep do in that barn? It's worse then rabbits!
    Nice game loved art style including voice acting and music, only drawback is that there was no real challenge, maybe a wolf should show up and eat the sheeps.

    daydalus says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:37pm

    Love the sound effects and the Old MacDonald song. Some sort of powerups or extra challenge (timer, super sheep, etc) would be fun on the later levels. Nice work!

    GaTechGrad says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:33pm

    Thanks for all of the feedback. Yes, that was me playing with my limited guitar skills. Hopefully, I'll have a time-lapse video up soon with the guitar playing part included.

    ddionisio says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:10pm

    I love the audio aspect of this game! I wish I can be amish too and collect sheeps all day.

    multikorv says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:10pm

    Silly but charming. :)

    atlantian says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:14pm

    REally addictive, just kept playing to see how many more sheep would appear

    Elrobo says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:57pm

    I really liked the animation on the characters legs. So jovial.

    sP0CkEr2 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:12am

    i could only play five level -- nice effort -- what happens to the sheep when they return to the barn?

    metadept says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:13am

    Nice voice acting, and did you record the music, too? I felt like it needed some kind of score or time limit to make the advancing levels feel meaningful. You could also add some sheep running in different directions or changing directions in later levels.

    GaTechGrad says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 6:02am

    @sP0CkEr2 - There are 10 levels... you'll just have to play more to see the ending ;D

    @metadept - Yes, I played the music on the guitar. I've added a link to the timelapse video. The sheep "baa" was me too, with some distortion from Audacity.

    vinull says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 2:15am

    I really love your take on the theme, and of course you voice acting and playing guitar for the game!

    GameNacho says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 4:27am

    This is a pretty relaxing game actually, I enjoyed it

    Alexander says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 4:29am

    10 levels? get out of here

    Arcana says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 4:31am

    This game was totally hilarious. Sound effects and music especially, as well as the great voiceover at the beginning.

    messiano says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 4:36am

    Very original, it made me laugh a lot. ALL SHEEP RETURNED! Voice acting is not something you see in many games here!

    avalonknight says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 3:21pm

    A real silly game, and I enjoyed every minute of it. My only complaint, a minor one, is that one tree in the front obstructing your view.

    GranaDa says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 3:36am

    Are those sheeps or rabbits??? They multiply damn fast!! Nice entry!

    Travis Irby says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 6:11am

    Really made me laugh, love the premise and it's fun :)

    Cybearg says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 4:19am

    Sorry to seem like a prick, but I didn't care for this at all, really.

    Personally, I felt that almost everything about it was rather obnoxious. I guess that some people interpret it as being funny, but it wasn't so clear if it was being ironically bad or just bad. And even if it was ironically bad, once you get your chuckle, you're still left with a fairly poor game.

    For some examples:

    1. I found the music very annoying very quickly and the voice work kind of off-putting, though that's just me. After hearing it multiple times in quick succession, the "baaah!"s started to grate on me.

    2. The title screen has a button that's clearly off-center. Ironic or just didn't care?

    3. The camera's angle obscures most of the sheep, meaning you have to wander around to find them. This wouldn't be a big issue except the player moves very slow, which ties in to:

    4. The gameplay is simplistic, with no real challenge or penalty to encourage or reward play. The player's movement is too slow to make this simple fun, either, since it takes long enough to move around to make things feel tedious.

    5. Even the "All sheep returned to the barn" screen has a flaw. Why do I need to click on the button to continue to the next screen? Why can't I press a button, since my fingers are already on the keyboard? Why do you force the player to take their hands off the keyboard only to press an "ok" button?

    Overall, to be perfectly frank, I feel that the game is lazy. Whether it's done to be funny or not doesn't really matter to me. I don't find it enjoyable to play and there's really nothing about it that I like.

    Sorry.

    GaTechGrad says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 6:42am

    @Cybearg - Wow, sorry you didn't like it. There's only so much you can do in 48 hours. I sacrificed perfectionism in things like the menus in order to spend more time on content creation like the models and music. I started learning Unity the night before the compo (my background is primarily XNA and Allegro), so I'm sure it would have been better had I had more experience with the Unity environment.

    GaTechGrad says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 6:52am

    I'll just add that the reason the buttons are misaligned is because in the Unity interface it displays the game in one (of many) resolution, but when you deploy it to the web it changes the resolution based on the browser. Again, I'm coming from an XNA background where you develop for 1280x720, and then the console automatically upscales or downscales the image to the television. Obviously in Unity you've got to be much more careful of handling all possible resolutions.

    mollymus says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 10:17am

    Would've wanted some time limitation or score-system for a game like this. You just can't fail the objective it seems?

    doos says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 10:27am

    Lol, nice bit of sheep chasing. Made it to level 8 before it got too difficult for me. ;) Its not obvious that the sheep have animation cycles as its a bit slow, but kudos for getting level design, ai, sound, animation, voice acting and music done in 48 hours.. In 3d too. Some people wont get that any of these assets can be swapped out later but the game is tight, and its got charm.. I like it!

    May 5, 2013 @ 11:26am

    Fun little puzzler-thing! Love the scenario.

    kill0u says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 10:00pm

    Nice, but gets boring after a while; maybe a timer would add some challenge?

    GaTechGrad says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 11:02pm

    Thanks for the feedback guys. Some people have said that my previous game for XBLIG was too difficult, so I wanted to make something simple that everyone can enjoy.

    May 6, 2013 @ 12:07am

    Haha' very fun! I like the narration and the sound. The game is a very fun, and i like it! Great Work!

    Adipson says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 8:28am

    can not appeal to everyone in this kind of contest ... something easy is too easy ... something is too hard too hard ... you have to find the right balance and it's done here. Bravo

    michail says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 10:01pm

    Maybe there's no real challenge in this game, but the sounds are really awesome! The best one in humor category.

    Dir3kt says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 6:53pm

    I like the graphics and the audio, it contributes nicely to the mood of the game. However there is no way to loose?! Not really challenging. Something as simple as a timer would have made it I guess.

    GaTechGrad says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 10:45pm

    Yeah, there's really no lose state to the game. I had initially thought about adding snakes and briars, which would damage Brother Jebidiah. However, time ran short and I was just lucky to figure out how to get the sheep and player rotated in the correct position before the deadline. I think of it like bubble wrap... you just keep popping the bubbles until there are no more.

    May 10, 2013 @ 4:04am

    Love the Old MacDonald Farm's rendition playing at the back. Makes it feel strangely calming almost as if we are the ones actually chasing the sheep.

    Eternal_Rest says ...
    May 11, 2013 @ 3:05am

    You really should have made us pick up the sheep and place it in the barn.

    madlee says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 2:12am

    I can't believe I played the whole thing. I have to say, I'm a little disappointed that it stopped at level 10. I was preparing for a sheep shit-storm!

    alwaysinbeta says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 12:12pm

    Quite good fun! I liked the music and voice over.

    Codexus says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 5:28pm

    Baaaah! :D

    GaTechGrad says ...
    May 14, 2013 @ 4:41pm

    Here's the clip of me making the baaaa sound for those who are interested: http://youtu.be/zcFIO8j9pec

    Xanjos says ...
    May 18, 2013 @ 11:24am

    Probably needs obstacles like maybe wolves to protect the sheep from but this was sort of an alright game. Voiceovers were rather amusing though.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]