Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 5 days, 1 hour, 31 minutes, 59 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 5 days, 1 hour, 32 minutes, 0 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    TOOM - PoV - Jam Entry

    A game by Mike Kasprzak and Derek Laufman.

    HEY YOU!

    1. Turn on your audio
    2. Use a current version of Chrome or Firefox.
    3. Press F11 to go Full Screen

    PS: Downvote us for audio. We don't have clearance to use the music, but liked it too much.

    100% HTML5 (JavaScript), mostly from scratch (some of my Math and Collision code, PreloadJS, SoundJS). May be slow on slow PCs due to lots of overdraw.

    Our apologies. The game is rather nonsensical, but you can win. We had some ideas we loved, but cut many of them to make the deadline. Stay tuned, we're hoping to do a "Directors Cut" post compo. :)

    View PoV's journal. | View all entries by PoV

    Ratings

    Graphics(Jam)4.85
    #13Mood(Jam)4.13
    #48Overall(Jam)3.79
    #54Humor(Jam)3.37
    #196Fun(Jam)3.09
    #239Audio(Jam)3.00
    #300Innovation(Jam)2.88
    #307Theme(Jam)3.17
    #1775Coolness26%

    Comments

    TravisChen says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:11am

    Holy TOOM. This game is a beauty.

    Hayawi says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:27am

    I laughed with some stuff, but other stuff were just unbearably boring. Its a nice game when it works though

    EpaceGames says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:31am

    Very engrossing game! I played all the way through. Great atmosphere and visuals.

    Sestren says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:38am

    Amazing artwork and the mood and theme were both pretty good. The pace was way too slow and the connections between objects was pretty loose at times, though.

    metadept says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:39am

    Very satisfying little adventure with GREAT visual presentation. Some of the action combinations don't make much sense, but in that regard it's very much in the vein of the classic point and clicks. Thanks for this wonderful little game!

    Krahe says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:42am

    The atmosphere is perfect, and thievery aside the music compliments it very well. The art is gorgeous too. Downsides: extremely short and nonsensical.

    PAMVllo says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:42am

    I don't know what to do, but the game is really amazing! like it!

    Nonameghost says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:46am

    Beautiful game, had no idea what was going on. Wasn't as fun, but definitely great mood and art.

    saampahlavan says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:49am

    I got the cooked meat, soda, and head. WHAT DO I DO?! The game looks fantastic and I love the camera work I wanna keep playing but I'm stuck.

    captainkraft says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:49am

    That was a lot of fun. Someday I want to make art like this.

    Good work

    CyberYeti says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:54am

    Not entirely sure what I do after i get the key. However, the game is enjoyable and the mood along with the graphics make it superb. i also really enjoyed the minimalist controls and the humor, all in all it was really good.

    udo says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:59am

    I loved this! Great work!

    CappaGames says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:02am

    It's amazing how well polished this is.

    Prelucid says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:03am

    This is very cool.

    VDOgamez says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:08am

    The art for this game is the best I've seen so far, and it's well animated too. I can see why you were so insistent on using the audio, too. The series of events you're supposed to do to progress is a bit nonsensical at times, so you kind of just need to use everything with everything then. There's a lot more stuff in the room than what was used, so I'm looking forward to the post-competition release. The interactions with stuff that there were were very nice details, so it would be nice to see that kind of stuff with more of the objects. The ending was rather silly and certainly not what I was expecting.

    DNA Yarn says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:11am

    Lovely pixels...

    Can you do anything with stuff you pick up?

    Cory Martin says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:17am

    The graphics are fantastic.

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:06am

    Lovely, made me nostalgic for all those great 90's point'n'click adventure games. I thought the end kind ruined the mood, though.

    olkeencole says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:08am

    Excellent art. Even if you didn't make the music, sometimes it's good knowing what you have that will fit the atmosphere. Fun gameplay. I was sad that it was so short. I really wanted to see other environments you might have made. Great job guys!

    Loren says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:24am

    really cool atmosphere, loved the palette :)

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:12am

    Great art, mood and polish. Wish the puzzles had made more sense. I fell back on the old LucasArts trick when I was stuck. Use every item with every item. Would pay good money for a real game with this style. Make it :) You have the a lot of the system work done here.

    angelk says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:56am

    Holy crap those graphics. I know you said downvote the audio but I'm glad you used it; it really makes the mood and feel of the game. I had some significant difficulty trying to figure out what to do next, but the art and scenery was just so interesting I was having a great time just hanging out and walking around. Way to go!

    adventureloop says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:07pm

    WOW, this is an amazing entry. The audio is awesome, I can see why you just **HAD** to use it in the game. The mood blows me away.

    Can't wait for a directors cut to come out, I might be able to get anywhere in the game at a later point.

    Well Done PoV and Derek Laufman

    SonnyBone says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:31pm

    UGH! I thought it was some kind of teleportation device. WTF. It's a toilet... HA! Yeah this game makes 0 sense but the art makes all the sense.

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:49pm

    I do not know what to say! Very cool!

    rxi says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:00pm

    Absolutely loved the artwork and visuals. I was intrigued by the images you posted during the competition, and, looking forward to playing it, sought it out after the competition. It turns out I wasn't at all disappointed.

    The game felt fairly complete and all the components (the music, sound, visuals) worked well together to set a distinct tone. I loved the abstractness and the discoveries you would make as you played, surprising and shocking little things that would jump out at you. As required for any point & click adventure, some parts were frustrating, and the movement speed felt a tad too slow.

    Overall good work!

    tonic says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:41pm

    I don't think I figured all there is to do. But this is seriously cool looking and works very well. Excellent work1

    ahm99 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:05pm

    This...Is...AWESOMEEEEE! Very good job.

    KhaoTom says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:12pm

    Beautiful graphics and mood. I need a walkthrough though.

    shinestrength says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:09pm

    So much backstory suggested with so few elements. Fantastic work.

    May 1, 2013 @ 12:29am

    Amazing graphics!

    aaronmueller says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 1:12am

    Awesome!
    Although the thing with the head is not very intuitive ... had to look at the source :D

    KevinZuhn says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 4:32am

    Definitely hoping for a director's cut.
    Mood, style, and graphics kept me going through the arduous task of rubbing a severed head on every piece of furniture in the room.

    Jonny D says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 1:32pm

    That was a neat game. Finding the Floppy Disk was where I got stuck for a while.

    DavidErosa says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 1:35pm

    I didn't find much sense in the connection of objects, but overall is a great entry. Thanks!

    robotality says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:29pm

    Awesome visuals and the mood is nice. A strange experience it was :) Great work!

    Puzzlem00n says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 11:33pm

    Man, it's such a shame that you couldn't put in everything you wanted to, I really want to see where this was going. I beat it, though. Great art.

    mildmojo says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 2:20am

    Beautiful art & music. I like that you added so many clickable things, but I sort of attacked it with the click-everything-with-everything strategy @VDOgamez mentioned.

    The ending didn't really fit the tone of the rest of the game.

    kirby_freak says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 5:01am

    Was a bit random, but the artwork was very very pretty. It made me jealous :P Great mood though, even if the items were random. No clue what the head was for, aside from making funny noises in the [redacted].

    _Rilem says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 4:56pm

    I love the look of this game. I tried random stuff, found out what I could do with the head, meat and soda. I just couldn't figure out what to do next.
    But again it looks amazing and also beautiful animation work :D

    Cake&Code says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 7:17pm

    Great looking game, and the little things i found were entertaining. The pacing is slow though, and I got a little clicking on everything and hoping for things to happen.

    hgouveia says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 7:34pm

    Omg the art of this game is amazing! , is a shame that you didn't share the source code :(

    reverso13 says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 11:40am

    Very original game! 5/5

    MattHartley says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 12:39pm

    If you turned this into a full game, I would buy it

    amodo says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 8:24pm

    Impressive visual and technical implementation, great mood. Love those crazy riddles.. while I'm not exactly sure what happened all the time :D

    May 3, 2013 @ 10:12pm

    Wow lovely, you can feel the joy of making it!

    May 4, 2013 @ 12:09am

    Oh man it looks so lovely, the whole atmosphere was amazing. I completed it, and frankly was left with more questions than answers. I want to know why my guy was stuck in his little apartment above the trees.

    dotteri says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 4:09pm

    The end is funny XD. An outstanding game.

    allinlabs says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 1:55pm

    I'm impressed by the visual style of this game. Finished it, was worth playing. A little short.

    ZYXer says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 8:18pm

    Great work :D would have liked for the game to go on.

    plash says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 9:45pm

    The game getting stuck in pause mode (under Chromium 25.0.1364.172 on Ubuntu 12.04) is preventing me from writing my notes.

    I like the atmosphere, but I'll wait for a fix before I vote.

    Tom 7 says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 1:42am

    I love the graphics. They're perfect. The game was hard to follow... I didn't understand why objects went together and it just became an n^2 hunt. I thought it was going to be that the hyper tube is a cloning machine and you kill and eat your clone and save his head for later! THAT WOULD BE DARK

    euwaku says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 2:12am

    Great mood, great graphics, great music. But...

    [SPOILER]

    So the minimalism was the end? Hummmm that totally broke the global atmosphere :D

    MinionStudios says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 9:57pm

    Honestly, this is polished and wonderful. This is what games are all about. Please do a huge full game based on this storyline alone. So freakin rad.

    rezoner says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 1:51pm

    Why so short! Awesome mood ruined by the cliche farting-humour in the end. Reminds me of Dreamweb (dos/amiga). Five stars everywhere - except humour (:

    aquilicoco says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 2:31pm

    Love the pixel art style.
    Good work!

    xdegtyarev says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 4:23pm

    Beautiful game!

    TurboDindon says ...
    May 9, 2013 @ 7:12am

    Great graphics and atmosphere! I really like it.

    Beldarak says ...
    May 9, 2013 @ 9:10pm

    Loved the ambiance and graphics

    8BitPimp says ...
    May 9, 2013 @ 9:52pm

    A whole bunch of awesome!!

    jonnopon3000 says ...
    May 11, 2013 @ 1:52pm

    Great visuals, and the atmosphere you've pulled off is impressive for a short-form project like this. Very nice indeed!

    lasergans says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 9:53am

    Great art and idea. The ending was lame, I'm looking forward to your post compo ;)

    TheSheep says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 5:58pm

    Oooookay... The puzzles were very frustrating due to their nonsese, but the ending is satisfying.

    lorancou says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 9:07pm

    Great game ... I want more :-)

    Angerus says ...
    May 14, 2013 @ 9:44am

    Nice little humanarium, amused by some animations, actions or discoveries but at the end, it was a bit boring :/. Still, there is some good vibe coming from it!

    ahm99 says ...
    May 15, 2013 @ 2:59am

    2 words...FULL GAME!

    atraxgames says ...
    May 15, 2013 @ 12:41pm

    Cool graphics, mood and sound, the end is well...I hope the post-compo version has a more computed story :|

    Xanjos says ...
    May 16, 2013 @ 8:39pm

    Kinda enjoyed this game. Loved the visual style and the humour was alright even though the story/puzzles were a bit nonsensical.

    Spiridios says ...
    May 16, 2013 @ 9:13pm

    Been wanting to play this since I saw the preview posts during the compo, but only just now got to it. It was both a bit slow and a bit short. The slowness was mainly due to the randomness of how things went together. The shortness, I suspect, is exactly why my game is short (darn time constraints). BTW, in Firefox, if the browser window is too small and you scroll a bit too see, the mouse detection is off. Fun point&click overall though.

    stqn says ...
    May 17, 2013 @ 2:49am

    Great graphics and nice audio (although not looping), but I didn't understand what to do apart from cooking a couple things... Does clicking on inventory objects do something? Not really fun clicking on stuff everywhere and not seeing anything happen. Works very well in Firefox 21 though.

    Bloated Hippo says ...
    May 17, 2013 @ 3:26am

    I dig it!!

    Misael.K says ...
    May 17, 2013 @ 4:02am

    Almost as nonsensical as pretty.

    mortus says ...
    May 17, 2013 @ 6:22am

    At first I was like: WOAH, cool graphics! Then I was like: meh, what a boring game. And then I finished it and laughed like 10 minutes straight! Great job guys!

    AtkinsSJ says ...
    May 17, 2013 @ 9:41am

    You're right, the puzzles were nonsensical. But I still love this. The graphics are perfect, especially with the parallax thing you have going on. Perfectly slow and atmospheric. :)

    avidgamerNino says ...
    May 17, 2013 @ 8:38pm

    I love it. The art and animations are so awesome.

    pereubu says ...
    May 18, 2013 @ 10:08pm

    Having seen the ending, I can just make a minimal comment :
    Wow

    Purplescape says ...
    May 20, 2013 @ 9:48pm

    Beautiful graphics and atmosphere you created here, excellent work!

    mes says ...
    May 22, 2013 @ 1:51pm

    excellent graphics and nice music choice (which has gone completely uncredited???). i feel like you could have had a nice small story here instead of just random object interactions...

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]