Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 28 days, 5 hours, 1 minute, 40 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    MOTHBOTS - terrivellmann - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    View terrivellmann's journal. | View all entries by terrivellmann

    Ratings

    Coolness56%
    #15Graphics4.33
    #18Mood4.11
    #53Overall3.91
    #87Audio3.64
    #94Fun3.64
    #339Theme3.76
    #439Innovation3.27

    Comments

    Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:47pm

    I really like the graphics and the style. :)

    Cybearg says ...
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:32pm

    Very neat visual design. Naturally, these games get pretty frantic, but man breaking those guys into pieces was satisfying!

    cmayhem says ...
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:41pm

    Great visual design. Good feeling on destroying the moth bots. Controls were a bit difficult for me, maybe a tad too fast.

    ming_tea says ...
    Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:45pm

    This looks great and is very satisfying to play.

    dualtagh says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:52am

    Nice lighting effects, cool game

    saguaro says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:09pm

    This is incredibly cool. Great entry.

    Jod says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:12pm

    85 seconds, 13 energy cells.

    Incredible combination of audio and visual. Loved this.

    alwaysinbeta says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:21pm

    Good game. Gorgeous looking and like the moody sound too.

    d_durham says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:24pm

    Really good! One of my favorites in terms of style and mood, and a really nice idea. Great job.

    raincole says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:37pm

    The gameplay is great. Though the blinking light makes my eyes uncomfortable...

    PushmePullyu says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:53pm

    Very very cool action game. The lighting is perfect.

    igrowbeards says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:42pm

    Really nice game - beautiful graphics and audio. I like the way that as the light starts going out it builds that hectic "oh crap" intensity. Nicely done!

    PTSnoop says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:54pm

    Good game, *really* good visual design. I love how the shadows give you so more idea of what the enemies look like than what you can actually see of them.

    Hegemege says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:36am

    124 seconds, 40 cells on first try. Wicked graphics and insane concentration requirement! :DD

    netguy204 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:03am

    Holy cow. This is like the essence of survival horror condensed into a one screen fragoff. I love it. A slightly better musical choice could make this insanely atmospheric and creepy.

    This is a very good idea. I'm a fan.

    Minimalist? Hm. Well, you really distilled this to its essence and got rid of the fluff. I'd say that's minimalist!

    ming_tea says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:06am

    This is pretty slick. Definitely one of my favorites so far!

    Crowbeak says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:56am

    Frantic! I love it.

    AirRider3 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:02am

    Great in general. I liked the fact that it was hard, and I couldn't help but die eventually. :<

    pentaphobe says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 7:38pm

    Holy wow-trousers that was fun!

    Looks amazing too, really good use of spooky lighting and it feels really out of control when the light goes out and there are huge shadows coming at you

    Wow.

    Rafael Sales says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 8:13pm

    Fucking awesome!! Excelent art and gameplay. Congratz!

    May 6, 2013 @ 7:45am

    Really pretty, excellent visual design for 48 hours. Entries like these make me kick myself for not spending more time doing speed-rigging.

    lathomas64 says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 12:00pm

    This was really visually impressive and interesting, the controls however seemed to lag and not respond leaving me charging off in one direction when I tried to turn and attack one of the mothbots.

    ataxkt says ...
    May 11, 2013 @ 2:39pm

    Awesome. Best visual style and mood I've seen in the 200 games I've played!

    davidpeter says ...
    May 21, 2013 @ 12:29am

    Amazing lighting. I liked how breaking the guys added to the difficulty due to the shadows.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]