Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Compo (Solo+Scratch+Src) Ends: in 1 day, 5 hours, 10 minutes, 3 seconds
  • Jam (Solo and Teams+Relaxed) Ends: in 2 days, 5 hours, 10 minutes, 3 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Submit/Edit Game | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Potato Dungeon - _Rilem - Jam Entry

    Hello! Welcome to the Ludum Dare 26 page for: POTATO DUNGEON!

    Potato dungeon is a sidescroller with a very minimalistic combat system. You have a sword which you control by pointing it with your mouse.

    To defeat your enemies, stick them with the pointy end.
    So that's minimalism for you, game design wise, with a cool simple and fresh style to match it. :)

    Your goal is to clear the dungeon, save your horse and claim the treasure hidden deep within.


    Controls (title screen):
    any key - start the game

    Controls (game):
    A,D - move left and right
    W - enter door, jump off horse
    S - drop through platforms
    Space - jump
    Mouse - control angle of sword, your sword aims at the cursor
    Reload button (top right) - reset current level
    F11 (browsers) - go fullscreen

    Horse controls:
    Click on horse - switch horse between fighting and transportation mode
    Jump on horse (while in transportation mode) - RIDE ON BROTHERS!


    Credits

    Diane de Wilde (@Ziryf): Game design, concepts, sound effects, game art
    Richard Lems (@Rilemtwit): Programming, game art, level design, game design

    Music was found under creative commons license on newgrounds, all credit goes to Zenuel for this amazing piece of music.
    Zenuel (zenuel.newgrounds.com) : Music

    A few animal samples from freesfx.co.uk




    Enjoy, and don't forget to rate the game! :)

    View _Rilem's journal. | View all entries by _Rilem

    Ratings

    Coolness84%
    Fun(Jam)4.29
    Overall(Jam)4.37
    #10Graphics(Jam)4.58
    #19Audio(Jam)4.03
    #28Humor(Jam)3.69
    #30Mood(Jam)3.86
    #37Innovation(Jam)3.88
    #274Theme(Jam)3.24

    Comments

    DaanVanYperen says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:52am

    Some interesting things going on here. Definitely worth a play!

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:54am

    Having trouble going through the first door? Is that a puzzle I'm not getting?

    _Rilem says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:55am

    Ah yes, you can go through doors by pressing 'W', the controls section has been updated. :)

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:55am

    Actually, got it by mashing the keyboard. Guess I'll figure it out

    Aiji777 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:55am

    I think this game was very good, my only problem was that my mouse didn't seem to be very responsive. I'm not sure if it's a problem with the game or my computer, but it made the game much harder to play. I like how you made a game that was more based on having enemies run into your sword than slicing and dicing, it's cute, and makes the game stand out.

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:55am

    Haha, just saw the reply, thanks.

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:56am

    Maybe allow use of the up arrow, too? Didn't know I could even use WASD (Although I now prefer it)

    Ray_Mickelino says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:59am

    This is pretty good for a jam. This game has some serious potential.

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:00am

    Favorite entry so far. The polish is extremely impressive. Perhaps this is something that could deserve a "post-compo" version.

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:01am

    Nice aesthetics and generally really well polished. Don't know if it's that minimalistic though. But this was definitely well executed.

    0beah says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:14am

    BRILLIANT

    Korda says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:14am

    The best Ive played so far

    Cory Martin says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:15am

    The sword controls are really fun. I wish your jumping and falling speed were faster though; it feels kind of floaty.

    theo says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:16am

    I really, really want this to win. Don't know how this is possible in so little time.

    YsenGrimm says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:16am

    Nice idea and nice graphics too.

    ShinkiroCode says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:36am

    So fun! 5/5

    Nanolotl says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:40am

    Incredible. Everything from the graphics to the gameplay was pretty much perfect. The sword mechanic was great an the bosses were fun. One criticism is that it felt like it went on for a bit too long.

    captainkraft says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:42am

    This game is incredible, if a tad long. I tried to finish it, but after the 30th level I had to call it quits. This game would have been perfect with about 6 levels, 700 is a little much for a Jam Game. I shaved before this game, and now I have to shave again.

    The art style is amazing, the controls are great. The sword mechanic is also incredible, and fairly unique. I was really impressed by the whole thing.

    NateAGeek says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:47am

    Great game! Had so much fun!

    Zathalos says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:51am

    The graphics are really awesome and the gameplay was interesting. After I got the horse, things started to get more fun. If this was made into a full fledged game, that would be be awesome. Great job!

    _Rilem says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:54am

    @captainkraft, too bad you stopped, the game ends at the 31th level :D

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:55am

    excellent. Better than the average browser-based game. (yeah, I'm comparing it to non-ld games too). Heck, if it was expanded upon a bit I'd pay for this game.

    tonbery says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:15am

    this is one of the best games i ever see on a Jam


    Congratulations!

    and i that shovel knight feeling ;)

    dagothig says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:15am

    This game... is just excellent... like... it's really fun, simple and addictive

    ddionisio says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:22am

    Great game! I love the look and feel, it looks crisp! I love the animations, simple yet expressive! Also good music! The sword mechanic felt a little monotonous at the beginning, but got very interesting later on.

    DBRalir says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:23am

    Awesome! This game is delicious.

    syawqy says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:26am

    great! nice graphic and gameplay

    stromchin says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:45am

    I loved the horse

    biscuitdough says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:46am

    Amazingly polished, took a great idea and just ran with it

    CappaGames says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:52am

    Amazing game, best I've played so far. I love the sword mechanic and the horse teammate.

    MinionStudios says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:06am

    I am The Potato Slayer, The Spu-Breaker! WOOHOO love this game. Vote on Minion Studios' game too, it has potatos, keys and bats.

    invi says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:27am

    This is beyond perfect! 6/5!

    Luxorix says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:53am

    Nice graphic and interesting gameplay! Super!

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:56am

    Pretty much the most polished game I've played from the lot of LD26. Great job!

    Andrio says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:17am

    Awesome!

    Elemnir says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:27am

    Best. Game. Ever. The end boss battle was insanely fun. I just wish Pard wouldn't go running off in the wrong direction when I needed him.

    angelk says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:44am

    At first I thought the potatoes took too many hits, but then I realized I just wasn't swinging fast enough :) The graphics are excellent, music is good and the design seems implemented well.

    Travis Irby says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:47am

    Looove the graphics. Interesting concept also with the mouse/sword action great job!

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:50am

    Amazing game and style. Final boss was hard (probably died 15 or so times) but the game was so good I had to see the end. Amazing art style. Jump physics were too floaty but easily fixed. The horse was awesome! My pal, the horse. Loved his additional mechanics.

    karsyf says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:59am

    That was really good =D

    Chman says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:01am

    Fun sword control, cool idea ! Graphics & sounds are great too. I'm too fond of the player physics though, a bit sluggish.

    wonderwhy-er says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:25am

    Wow, man it plays as good as it looks! Awesome job man!

    _Rilem says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:39am

    Wow! thanks for all these positive comments, we really poured our heart and soul into it. :)

    BrothersT says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:43pm

    Great game! will definitely be coming back to finish this one :)

    PushmePullyu says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:56pm

    Best 2d swordplay ive played since Prince of Persia. XD

    RobKat says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:56pm

    Great game but the mouse mechanic didn't really sell it for me, possibly some tweaking or scrap the mouse n keyboard n go for game pad! analogue sticks would be awesome for this.

    recursor says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:02pm

    This is great. My only complaint is I wish there were some way to lock the mouse cursor so it doesn't keep going off the screen. Love the horse!

    BNeutral says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:06pm

    Best Ludum Dare horse+potato ever.

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:08pm

    One of the best entries i've played so far! Actually everyone in my office is playing now :)

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:11pm

    Nice mechanic!

    theomnis says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:13pm

    Not quite sure how this fits in with minimalism, but it's one of the better looking games I've played.

    EdoMiyamoto says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:16pm

    Very smooth, clean gameplay !

    Pierrec says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:21pm

    Very very fun.
    It took me ages to understand that I could move the sword with the mouse (first encounter with Pard) and I had fun anyway ^^ I even thought it was very innovative to forbid the player to turn away.
    The game is a bit light on theme, but it is excellent overall. I wish I could use the W to jump though, and space to jump off the horse. Because A+D+Space+Mouse...Hey! I'm just an human, I only have two hands!

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:22pm

    A horse with a sword - this masterpiece! Thank you guys for game!

    PixelOaks says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:23pm

    Man, This had to be one of my favorites!

    zatyka says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:38pm

    Awesome game, I just beat it. I loved the art style, and simple gameplay. This one is going to be a frontrunner for sure.

    miharbi says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:39pm

    Really great game. Really loved the graphics and audio and the sword mechanic was really fun and simple

    pereubu says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:39pm

    well that's a very well designed game here. I think a faster pacing would have been cool.

    8BitPimp says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:40pm

    This is awesome. Determinately the best game I have seen this LD. I love the horsey. Very very great.

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:48pm

    Really fun, clean, well animated and polished, good job :)

    dissonance says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:50pm

    Really fun game, good job! My only issue with it was it felt a little too floaty. Nice work.

    lun says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:51pm

    Great game, guys! I love the way you aminated your knight. Perfect!

    Alphonsus says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:58pm

    Fun gameplay, minimalit controls, excellent sound = 5/5 best LD26 game ever!

    Fadobo says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:59pm

    Best one I've played so far. Greatness!

    dvdking says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:07pm

    AWESOME game!

    patrickward says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:15pm

    Great job! Nice graphics and sword play. Glad to see the potato theme snuck in there.

    Jhelle says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:48pm

    Enjoyed it a lot. Awesome to see what some people can create in 3 days. Good job!

    TeamEagle says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:06pm

    Great work! :D

    visibleatom says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:09pm

    Best game so far. Really done in just 72 hours? That's amazing.

    myachin says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:13pm

    great

    aquilicoco says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:05pm

    Good work! I like the game.

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:40pm

    Very polished, well done! I could see this turning into a full game :D

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:44pm

    Wow.

    Prelucid says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:55pm

    Nice work. Very challenging

    Nsmurf says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:01pm

    W - enter door, jump of horse
    jump off* horse

    martijn says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:01pm

    Best game I have seen so far

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:02pm

    Great game!

    DDDBOMBER says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:08pm

    Really nice graphics and gameplay, well done!

    fr_automatik says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:09pm

    That's fun, but it froze in the level where I got the double jump.(Opera)

    Harsay says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:17pm

    Must play

    Yacodo says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:18pm

    Amazing one !

    bytegrove says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:31pm

    Super slick art style and combat mechanics! I appreciated all the special effects put into this one, really made it feel like the sword hits had "impact". Pard is awesome! The game felt a little too long though, especially as there are not much changing between the levels, by the time I came to the boss I became a little frustrated it just spawned more enemies and that the sequence restarted everytime I died. Just having him shoot projectiles that you could reflect or something or something different than the already utilised enemies had been nice. Other than that, the game felt really polished, Pard is awesome and so is the music. Really nice work, would love to see this made into a full fledged game! :D

    bompo says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:31pm

    Amazing style!

    Beerman says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:34pm

    Outstanding. The combat mechanic works really well.
    That wizard is an absolute *bastard* though.

    Brassawiking says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:09pm

    Super polished and awesome combat. Dead simply but very deep dynamic. I really like how you had to be two persons to defeat the giants, really put the partnership in focus. Totally rad!

    Diamonde says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:13pm

    This game I enjoyed very much! Thanks for making it :)

    Casino Jack says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:14pm

    That was really beautifully polished, and I love the attack mechanic.

    ilovepixel says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:19pm

    Impressive game! and graphics are amazing. great game!

    Nsmurf says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:25pm

    Awesome game!

    klianc09 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:26pm

    This... is... AWESOME!! This would have never been so great without Pard. Thank you Pard. It also looks so "finished" which is also really cool to achieve within a weekend.

    Meep says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:27pm

    Very fun game! I loved the horse! It's a bit too long/repetitive between introductions of new mechanics, but great work regardless! :)

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:31pm

    Strega: Awesome game. Really nice graphics and great simple combat. I feel like the some of the enemies have too much health though, at times I would just sit there and wait for them to kill themselves. Maybe you could have the player velocity correspond with how much damage you deal.

    (this is a team account)

    plash says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:52pm

    Great graphics. Combat can be a bit annoying. Level difficulty didn't ramp very well.

    multitude says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:38pm

    AMAZING! Love the potato fart bubble magic. please bring this to steam! or humble bundle :D

    rxi says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:38pm

    Looks and sounds great as everyone has said. It plays fairly well, though I found it dragged on a little bit, and by the end I'd went a bit mad from wiggling my mouse around for the combat. I constantly kept wanting to click to attack, it felt much like I was just putting my sword in the right place and waiting for the enemy to run into it!

    You guys did a great job.

    Kimeric Labs says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:55pm

    Incredible well done, please make a full game out of this!

    naughtyloose says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:27pm

    great work all tough the sword fighting is a bit weird :)

    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:56pm

    Well, there can't be always good comments: the only thing I really love was music (but you didn't create it). It's pleasant to see but it quickly become boring =/

    Dmitrix says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 12:07am

    I love the graphics and minimalism game play!

    zkenshin says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 12:13am

    Absolutely fantastic :D

    PixelOaks says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 12:15am

    Why is this not on Steam yet. I need more!!!!

    -PixelOaksCurtis

    7Soul says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 12:25am

    I loved it

    Shugor says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 1:16am

    By far, one of the best entries I have seen so far. Very polished, making it baffling how you managed to make such a great game in so little time! The gameplay was smooth with no apparent glitches and I found the way to move the sword a lot more interesting than the typical "press (whatever button) to attack". The only downfall is the amount of levels this has, making it impossible to play entirely through in my limited amount of time.

    ahm99 says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 1:33am

    It crashed. but I might play more later. I really enjoyed it. GOOD JOB :)

    MinionStudios says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 1:50am

    Strong entry. I like the mechanics and the minimalist design is used to good effect.

    chowdy says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 1:53am

    Really great job. My favorite so far. Reminds me a bit of Slayin.

    alvivar says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 4:35am

    i give you 5 stars in everything. AWESOME.

    Benjamin says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:21am

    Incredible game. The 8 directions arts ( dont know how to name that ) is good and color choice is perfect.
    The different game mechanics are very innovative and Pard is lovable, my best friend, I wish I could bring him with me for further LD26 gametest :D The only bad part is probably leveldesign, most levels was boring or very oddly designed... For example I dont understand the use for rest room with only hearts in a game with infinite continues, maybe there's a special perfect run ending ?
    I played until the boss and give up there but mostly because of my computer, the game is very laggy on my netbook.

    One of the most amitious game I have ever saw in a Ludum Dare Competion.
    Congratulations !

    glisk says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:36am

    AWESOME, love the visual style, the gameplay and the music.

    rogueNoodle says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 8:41am

    This is just as good as I hoped it would be when I first saw the screenshots! I want a shirt with that horse on it - make it happen ;)

    Yann says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 9:07am

    Pretty impressive (:

    For some reason, I had a weird bug for the boss fight: I could hit both tiny pig soldiers until I killed one and then the other didn't register the collision of either my or my horse's sword. I guessed you somehow destroyed the two collision. After trying a few time I succeeded though.

    But overall nice game idea, and you managed to find some really cool pseudo-coop mecanisms =)

    May 1, 2013 @ 10:36am

    You know, when I first saw the gifs of this posted on the blog I had a feeling it was going to be pretty special. This entry really shines, I think. It's got a great style, great music, and an invincible horse to do your bidding.

    You really packed a lot of gameplay into such a small package. Hats off to you.

    Xaychru04 says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 11:12am

    Amazing graphics, very cool music and sfx, it's sooo long and difficult to finish, I love it :D

    M0N0QUARTZ says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 11:25am

    Very cool game, graphics are awesome and audio too.

    aviktorov says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:19pm

    Awesome game! I like visual style and gameplay! Horse with sword is awesome too. :)

    kidevil says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 9:26pm

    Love the look of the game, and the music is excellent! Double jump wouldn't work for me though, and found the best way to fight was just to stick the sword out and let the baddies jump into it. Maybe work speed into the damage, so you have to be moving the sword to kill them? Brilliant style though. Great game!

    Tater_hater says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 9:28pm

    Loved it

    LTyrosine says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 9:29pm

    Loved it, really nice music and gameplay. Nice job.

    Jorjon says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 10:28pm

    Game was fun, but a little bit too long. I didn't get much "minimal" experience, and it was running very slow (maybe because of being fullscreen).

    May 1, 2013 @ 10:31pm

    Hey, I love this game. :D

    DavidErosa says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 10:37pm

    I loved this game, a little weird controls but once you get used to them, the gameplay is pretty nice! Thanks!

    Robotic says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 10:38pm

    Probably my favorite entry so far, it has everything I like, from the cool sword mechanic to the light artstyle and the perfect feedbacks. I know this game will inspire me a lot in the future.

    May 1, 2013 @ 10:42pm

    I am not a fan of the sword control at all. My character would move to the other side of the mouse, then all of a sudden I'm swinging the wrong way.

    But over all, real great job. I had fun playing!

    vilya says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 11:51pm

    Fantastic! I haven't been able to beat the wizard yet, but I really want to come back & try. Great job!

    dem0 says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 12:53am

    Excellent and polished game on every aspect!

    cadin says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 1:12am

    Very impressive. The graphics and sound are very polished. I love the art style. The sword control mechanic is interesting at first, but I felt it got a little tedious since it take so many hits to kill the enemies.

    Overall, it's great though. Great job!

    NAMKCOR says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 3:41am

    Fantastic.

    Jellycakes says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 4:12am

    Some really nice graphics and some solid gameplay. Really enjoyed playing this. Good job!

    sparkleswirl says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 5:37am

    This is a really solid game. The mechanics are simple but fresh, and the way the double jumping and the horse add to the game are simply brilliant. Usually double jumping is really just a key for a lock, but the way you implemented combat means that it's an extra, risky tactical option. With the horse it also opens up things like flanking and strategy. Really well done! My only complaint is that the key opening the door in stages where you kill all enemies is kind of redundant, and sometimes breaks the flow by making you backtrack to get it. But I can also see how it's easier to do that programming-wise.

    Shigor says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 8:13am

    Very good and very polished game. I wasn't able to get through the horse though :/

    Knighty says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 9:51am

    Nice game. Graphics and Audio were nicely done. Having to use Space instead of W to jump was a bit awkward for me and took awhile to get used to. The sword mechanic was fun, but sometimes my sword was inside an enemy and it wasn't getting hurt, and I couldn't figure out why.

    enzo says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 2:53pm

    Pard is literally the greatest companion in any game ever

    blackmagic says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 7:44pm

    AWESOME dudes !!!!!!!!! omg omg love the art, thanks for this game, really i mean it! Rare thing to have so nice visual feedbacks !! 5stars !!!

    MinionStudios says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 8:34pm

    I am The Potato Slayer, The Spu-Breaker! WOOHOO love this game. Vote on Minion Studios' game too, it has potatos, keys and bats. I even came back and rated this one higher!

    KEFIR says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 9:51pm

    It is the best entry! But i wouldn't say it is minimalist. But game is very cool, complete and I pretty sure it's going to be a big title!

    JohnnySix says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 11:50pm

    Epic stuff - first game on here I've stuck at until the end - the pay off was worth it - best treasure ever. More please. :)

    lekochen says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 1:55am

    PERFECT!!!

    Alucard J says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 5:58am

    A fun game with some excellent ideas and gameplay mechanics. Lowering enemy defenses is really hard, I found wildly swinging the sword while jumping around worked best. Really liked the horse companion. Graphics and music was admirable. Well Done =]

    scottychips says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 12:57pm

    So much fun - thanks for the great game, very enjoyable

    gslance says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 2:38pm

    nice, good work, I liked it :) Cleared the game, it wasn't THAT long, it was just enough imo. Nice use of visuals and the main game mechanic worked good!

    shawn42 says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 5:05pm

    AMAZING! I loved it!

    mildmojo says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 6:44pm

    Fantastic game.

    I was a little frustrated by a game-breaking bug in your input system. You're not calling preventDefault() or stopPropagation() (or both) on the event object in your keydown/keypress handler, so pressing a key to move bubbles up to my browser (FF 20) and pops open my typeahead find feature, taking focus away from the game and consuming all further input. I make HTML5 games myself, so I'm super-sensitive to it. =) I had to switch to my backup browser to play.

    Very polished. Love the character art and simple level design. You packed a lot of content into such a short development cycle. I noticed you pretty much had to attack the pigs from the left since their swords reset to the right after a hit.

    Bringing in the horse with a sword and providing a riding option was awesome.

    It's a lot harder to play with a trackpad since the game rewards you for swinging your sword back and forth. It would probably work well with a twin-stick controller.

    Pixelulsar says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 8:20pm

    I really liked the sword mechanic and this was fun to play. It also looked good. My favourite game so far.

    Husky says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 2:45am

    Awesome!
    Simple yet brilliant,
    I do love the graphics ans music!
    Great work! :D

    Sylvain.p says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 2:58am

    Great game good works...but potatoes wasn't the theme, no?

    brxtr says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 4:42am

    The sword combat is suitably minimalist and fun to use, but I find having to use space to jump irritating when I see no reason not to let W do that. The graphics and music are nice.

    Gungnir says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 6:01am

    Fantastic! Really novel and well tuned controls, charming style, minimalist without being simplistic. It'd be great even without considering the limited time in which it was made.

    nicotr014 says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 7:18am

    OMG this is so f'ing cool.... I LOVE the sword fighting gameplay.... brilliant

    cwilloughby says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 7:25am

    Super cool. This is awesome! Great artwork. Got stuck on the push down level and didn't see how to restart until coming back to page - would love to see those hints in game. Great work! Overall, reminded me of die by the sword. :)

    Polar says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 10:58am

    Literally the best game I've ever played in a Ludum Dare :) Seriously, it's got an unbelievable amount of polish, a bit of a storyline, and a really interesting game mechanic. My only issue was, if anything, that it was too short - please, please make a Post-Compo version with loads more (and saving) - I'd quite happily pay for it if it was on Steam (or equivalent)!

    Lizzip says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 12:36pm

    Damn horse! Great game

    Kareemroks101 says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 2:21pm

    Definitely the best I've seen so far. 5/5

    DrGeraud says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 2:39pm

    Awesome game dude ! The fight against the horse was the best one. The plateformer aspect could be better, but it still very good and impressive.

    Madball says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 5:07pm

    Great game! I liked the fighting system. It looks very balanced. The boss was quiet challenging though.

    Hayawi says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 7:10pm

    One of the best games yet

    SuperDisk says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 7:12pm

    What a glorious game. It kind of reminded me of Slayin' (http://www.pixellicker.com/games/games_slayin.html) and even somewhat of my warmup game.

    Great polish and great mechanics! 5's all around.

    Orni says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 7:21pm

    I had to get the hang out of it first - but once I did I fell in love with the game (especially since the visuals and audio are so great)

    very cool game, well done

    May 4, 2013 @ 8:34pm

    That was....amazing. Great graphics, loved the music, good fun to play.

    May 4, 2013 @ 9:24pm

    Great work! Love the graphics and the sword-fighting.

    The speech-bubble has a lot of potential, and could be extended greatly.

    SneakySalmon says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 10:28pm

    Awesome fun, i love the combat system :D very unique.

    May 4, 2013 @ 10:45pm

    I like it, but in some moments, the control of mouse is very hard. Anyway, great job!

    GaTechGrad says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 2:51am

    Nice gameplay and graphics. Reminded me a lot of games like Adventures of Link and A Link to the Past.

    Covenant says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 10:39am

    Awesome idea, very fresh... Graphics were excelente, loved the horse!

    someone says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 2:26pm

    That was AWESOME!
    Loved the combat and the horse was brilliant.
    Interestingly the arrow keys worked with up being jump, but not double jump.

    alcazar says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 2:58pm

    Best polished and amazing game i have played in this LD26
    A very good job gues ;)

    skunkaroony says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 6:20pm

    Pard - that's the most epic name for a video game companion EVER! :D

    lorancou says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 7:13pm

    Cool visuals, really fun to have a sidekick horse by your side !

    Dans17 says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 7:37pm

    Incredibly original and fun game-play!

    larb says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 9:52pm

    Amazing. Not a fan of the controls (on a touchpad here). But really polished. Amazing music, sound, and visuals.

    May 5, 2013 @ 10:22pm

    Played it again, best game I've played this LD I think

    EatenAlive3 says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 1:10am

    I knew from the middle on that this was all fives. Great job!

    SaintHeiser says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 1:31am

    Hah, not bad!
    Smash, smash, smash THEM ALL!!! XD

    gregdevice says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 4:55am

    My favorite jam so far! Love the sword fighting, especially between the bosses. The companion horse is a great touch. This would make an epic game with some more story! Nice work!

    _Rilem says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 6:32am

    Thank you for all the kind comments guys! What an overwhelming response! :D
    We're looking at all the feedback and taking notes on what to improve. We both fell in love with pard while creating the game and it would be a shame to let the adventure end here. :P
    Thank you for playing. But thank you most of all for allowing pard into your hearts. :)

    ferasmi says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 11:03am

    Loved your game really really cool :)

    robotality says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 5:46pm

    Love it. Very well polished in every aspect. More of this.

    atraxgames says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 6:41pm

    Really good game, i loved the way you control the sword. good graphics and music too

    lotusgame says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 6:48pm

    The best game i played in this LD, polished, original, challenging, with a deep progression and more. Win the horse was so delightful :) Excellent job !

    lasergans says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 6:51pm

    Amazing work! Beautiful graphics, easy but solid gameplay. Had SO much fun! Thank you a lot!

    evilDan says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 7:13pm

    That is so stinkin' clever!

    I don't usually enjoy wasd+mouse but this is done in such a thoughtful way.

    geckojsc says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 7:38pm

    This entry *has* to win the Jam, it's a masterpiece!

    May 6, 2013 @ 8:16pm

    Very cool! The only frustrating part was that the angle of the sword would move when my character moved even though my mouse was still. Could fix that by ensuring the player's character is always centered.

    Beldarak says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 11:11pm

    Ridiculously awesome. the mechanic is quite unique, it's a ton of fun and I simply love that horse look :D

    moomoo112 says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 4:04am

    I liked the fighting mechanic in this

    TenTonToon says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 6:19am

    Absolutely brilliant visually - I love this kind of geometric look. The sound design is great, too.
    As for the game itself, it got old quite quickly for me. There's something about the passive act of letting enemies impale themselves on your sword that I don't find too exciting.

    The use of the theme is 50/50 for me. The combat is minimalistic, indeed; a little too much, maybe, as I already pointed out. But the rest of the game's design is standard platforming fare. Simplistic, you may say, but not minimalistic.

    Also, why the choice to use SPACE to jump, instead of 'W'? It seems counter-intuitive to me, and not too comfortable.

    All in all, a very nice game with huge potential for a post-compo version that moves away from the theme, that I think doesn't add anything to the game.

    Congratulations! :)

    Hatscat says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 6:59am

    I definitely love this game!

    lotusgame says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 9:50am

    Sorry, i revisited my judgment because i think this game doesn't fit the theme at all. Even the gameplay isn't minimalist. Some said this game must win the jam, i think the opposite, if it wins there is no more interest to follow a theme. A good game but completely irrelevant.

    dick_claus says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 11:10am

    Great game. Spent playing this game more than other games ever. Can't finish it though.

    EggDestroyer says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 11:49am

    The controls are awkward, the jump is quite floppy and I don't really see the "minimalist" part (even gameplay wise).
    Apart from that, I had a lot of fun playing (I finished it eagerly), the level design is very well done and the whole graphic & audio work is fantastic !

    Infin8 says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 4:52pm

    Just brilliant. I must say the gifs alone piqued my interest.

    xdegtyarev says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 6:35pm

    That's the best game for that ld i've played!

    numpad says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 8:32pm

    Awesome! The best game I played. Maybe in every LD.
    Graphics are so lovely!

    N427 says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 10:37pm

    Very innovative, light hearted fun! I loved it. I wish there was a different control scheme for moving the sword though, maybe have it centered around the middle of the screen or maybe when you click it puts down a point that you rotate around? Idk, just felt awkward trying to keep up with the hero's movements.

    barkergames says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 1:40am

    I love how each level teaches you how to use a different feature.

    Taro Omiya says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 4:01am

    What an excellent, polished game you've got there! Thoroughly enjoyed it!

    dector says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 8:44am

    5+. Great and fun game.

    aaron9000 says ...
    May 8, 2013 @ 5:03pm

    Awesome. The direction of the sword is confusing however.

    mildmojo says ...
    May 9, 2013 @ 5:38am

    @lotusgame: Note that only the Compo rules say the game "must" follow the theme. The Jam rules say the game "should" follow the theme. The Jam's a lot less strict than the Compo.

    _Rilem says ...
    May 9, 2013 @ 10:32am

    Thank you mildmojo. :)
    I'd also like to add that:
    There are no combat buttons to attack with, the combat sytem is completely minimalist but creates depth without making it complex.
    The artstyle is minimalist, clean, doesn't add anything that is unnescesarry.
    We created something original instead of just taking the first google hit, the Mondriaan style and saying: "Wow! Our game is DEFINITELEY minimalist now!"
    'completely irrelevant' is hardly the case, I think we did a great job on capturing the theme without sacrificing too much of the gameplay, art or content etc.

    I respect all your opinions, but when you have to say "the game doesn't follow the theme." Please do elaborate on why it doesn't.

    rosa89n20 says ...
    May 9, 2013 @ 12:08pm

    Very interesting! I like it <3

    Dissing says ...
    May 9, 2013 @ 12:33pm

    Incredible fun and amazing art style. Only complaint is that the web version repeatedly broke my sound driver (pulse). But the desktop linux version worked perfectly. Probably the best game I have played this Ludum Dare.

    bobiniki says ...
    May 9, 2013 @ 2:29pm

    This game should be the winner! In every aspect this game is GREAT! If you make a bigger game I will buy it for sure. Great job guys!

    robcozzens says ...
    May 9, 2013 @ 7:24pm

    That was fantastic!!
    I can't believe how complete it felt for being created in such a short time!
    And I love how you would introduce new controls by having the player tell his horse what he was going to do.

    noddy2006 says ...
    May 10, 2013 @ 3:47am

    Super cool, but I noticed a few problems. I found the combat to be pretty fun, but it's quite easy to get hit due to the way the "invincible enemy" thing works after you damage them. Instead of being able to juggle enemies in the air, they would just fall through my sword after I hit them once. The small enemies also took a bit to kill, which really slowed down the pace of the game, which I found detrimental. I also found pushing the boxes around to be a bit frustrating, as the physics didn't always play nice. Do I have to push the boxes with my sword? Wasn't intuitive to me. Finally, why were the boxes rendered at a 45 degree angle? That was weird to me, kind of perspective-destroying.


    Despite those issues, however, I thought it was a really fun game. With a bit of tweaking and polish, you could definitely turn it into a great little game.

    ataxkt says ...
    May 10, 2013 @ 12:31pm

    I love the way you attack enemies! It grows old pretty fast without variation though. I'd love to see more weapons and enemies!

    Smaxx says ...
    May 10, 2013 @ 2:20pm

    Very nice, I like it - also runs great in IE10. The only complaint I've got is the sword fighting. That's introduced almost a bit too late. I nearly lost interest "oh it's the same over and over again", and then that fighter pig appeared... :)

    donan says ...
    May 10, 2013 @ 3:10pm

    Really awesome game. Love it :D

    Jod says ...
    May 10, 2013 @ 4:26pm

    Wow, one of my favourite entries. Enough difference in gameplay to keep it interesting and the end boss was quite a blast. It gave me some serious Zelda flashbacks, only in this game the idea is executed cooler, much more energetic.

    Loved it!

    kddekadenz says ...
    May 10, 2013 @ 8:54pm

    The graphics are awesome, but the gameplay sucks.. The attacks are too slow, the gameplay is well-known and used..

    Codexus says ...
    May 11, 2013 @ 12:39pm

    Excellent game! The characters are well designed and the gameplay has a good progression that made me play until the end.
    I'm not a huge fan of the idea of controlling the sword with the mouse, it's original but get tedious quickly.

    rezoner says ...
    May 11, 2013 @ 3:18pm

    Hello jam winner! I am sure this will be a hit if you decide to finish it.

    Mago says ...
    May 11, 2013 @ 4:40pm

    AWESOME!!!

    Puzzlem00n says ...
    May 11, 2013 @ 7:08pm

    Very nice. You guys have a really, really strong combat system with these swords. And the graphics are fantastic. My only complaint that can be of any use to you guys is that pressing W is a bad choice for dismounting. I kept pressing W when I wanted to jump out of habit from other games, and I'd dismount against my will.

    Another thought: if there were a game that controlled the sword similar to this, except that clicking thrusted the sword and allowed for slash attacks (i.e. hold the mouse button while swinging forward) then that would be a very cool game. ;)

    Puzzlem00n says ...
    May 11, 2013 @ 7:13pm

    Oh, forgot to say, you guys did an amazing job with that horse's AI. Seriously, I'd have no idea how to make it follow you around like it does so well.

    TurboDindon says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 7:39am

    Great. I think this entry will win the jam!
    Very complete and well-executed game.

    - SEPHY (@sephyka)

    ecool377 says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 8:56am

    Great twist. Great game. 10/10 -Game Informer

    Jeremias says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 9:39am

    Great work! I love the graphics, the sound effects, the music and the setting... I mean... a horse buddy with a sword and fighting pigs... just great. Was fun to play through. Two things I noticed: during the bossfight there was one of the smaller pigfighters who was invulnerable (I let me killed by him and tried it again and then it worked). Secondly, sometimes I didn't notice that I lost a heart, so that should be communicated better.

    jolle says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 1:11pm

    This is really great, in every possible way.

    SamoojaMies says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 5:10pm

    Had fun time to play it. Enjoyed the graphics and controls!

    ethankennerly says ...
    May 12, 2013 @ 11:01pm

    Lancing potatoes from horseback thrilled me. If you continue to develop this, sometimes the horse's sword would not seem to hit the pig, and clicking the horse and then pressing jump button to get on the horse confused me.

    TheSheep says ...
    May 13, 2013 @ 4:59pm

    Very cool idea with the fighting mechanic, but it's spoiled by too large number of HPs the monsters have -- waiting for them to impale themselves on my sword enough times is boring, and not waiting makes you die...

    Xanjos says ...
    May 14, 2013 @ 10:25pm

    Pretty awesome game. Became really interesting when the horse joins your party. Also, dunno if this is some sort of bug or glitch but if you jump (unmounted) then constantly keep clicking on the horse while you're in the air, you pretty much get unlimited jumps in the air (sorta).

    lotusgame says ...
    May 14, 2013 @ 10:34pm

    Thank you mildmojo for your precision, i didn't know the jam was less strict about the theme.
    Sorry _Rillem ! I have overreacted, probably because i was jealous about how your game is great ^' My apologies !

    Saturnyn says ...
    May 15, 2013 @ 6:44pm

    Best game I've played so far. Very well done !

    brantkings says ...
    May 15, 2013 @ 11:52pm

    Just excellent game overall. The simple mechanics of pointing, the teaching itself level design, and that horse maybe is one of the best videogame characters ever. You sirs, deserve a lot. Genuine fun!

    SnoringFrog says ...
    May 16, 2013 @ 10:04am

    Easily one of my favorites for this LD, even if it did result in another failure to my "I'm going to go to bed earlier tonight" scheme. Great work, loved the audio in particular, and the graphics were simple but great. Had some issues with my cursor disappearing when it wasn't moving that threw me off a tad, but otherwise no issues at all.

    Threef says ...
    May 16, 2013 @ 4:50pm

    You know that this game is in top 5 of 26'th Ludum Dare Jam? Maybe even no. 1. :D

    wallmasterr says ...
    May 16, 2013 @ 8:26pm

    Amazing, and nice tennis Zelda style at the end

    Jonapulse says ...
    May 17, 2013 @ 2:46am

    Rawesome. I liked the horse.

    someone says ...
    May 17, 2013 @ 8:13pm

    Back for more. Just played it though again for about the fifth time. Still my favorite game here.
    The AI on Pard seems a bit off on the level with the two moving platforms and four pigs, after first killing one of the two to the right pard will always go to the left and get stuck, sometimes falling down the abyss.

    deepnight says ...
    May 17, 2013 @ 9:18pm

    Absolutely stunning *_* The theme relation is a bit thin but the overall game is incredibly fun and efficient.
    Great job guys!

    Sebastian says ...
    May 18, 2013 @ 6:47pm

    This is so much fun! XD
    Pig-wizard is driving me nuts, but I just need to hone my horseback sword-fighting skills a bit more and I'm certain i can defeat him and his evil minions.
    Serious contender for first place here I'm sure.

    Alprog says ...
    May 19, 2013 @ 11:24am

    Combat system of this game is unusual but very cool (control swordâs direction by mouse).
    This feature was enough to get good rating but beyond that the gameplay is constantly changing and does not get bored. There are a lot new abilities during game (unexpected but awesome).
    And stylish graphic. And logic puzzle. And bosses. And humour. The best one.

    Not very clear keyboard control, but it is not critical. I willing to buy full version :)

    Hiku says ...
    May 19, 2013 @ 12:52pm

    HORSE \o/

    Roupette says ...
    May 19, 2013 @ 2:51pm

    Rampage ! Come on my sword :) !
    (the double jump works only with "space" and not with arrows)

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]