Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 22 days, 15 hours, 31 minutes, 42 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Minimal Theory - ENP - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Right Mouse : Pick Things Up

    Left Mouse : Push

    "E" : Action button (interact)

    "F" : Flashlight on/off

    Voice Acting:

    SirFireKnight:
    https://www.youtube.com/user/SirFireKnight31

    ThatOneFunnyGuy:
    https://www.youtube.com/user/thatonefunnyguy95


    You play as a test subject in a rather odd sort of short lived experiments, go beyond your purpose and inevitably make your daring escape.

    *Some door and areas require you to be somewhat close in order to work*

    Right click and hold on objects like barrels and boxes to move them around!

    Thanks for playing and happy Ludum Dare!

    Installer with game launcher : https://www.dropbox.com/s/dx19ytyqkfpmfut/MinimalTheoryInstaller.msi (WILL ONLY WORK IF YOU HAVE REDIST INSTALLED)

    OVER 350 DOWNLOADS!!

    View ENP's journal. | View all entries by ENP

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #336Graphics3.36
    #452Mood3.02
    #549Humor2.23
    #550Audio2.71
    #1214Overall2.42
    #1221Innovation2.07
    #1238Fun2.00
    #1334Theme2.18

    Comments

    stqn says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:34am

    If there is voice acting not done by you then it belongs in the jam I think.

    Cheshyr says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:36am

    @stqn I believe the rules said "Photos and recordings you make of people or things are acceptable content, just you must acquire them during the competition"

    Fnkee says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:53am

    I loved the part where everything suddenly turns pitch black. The viola - great stuff.

    Cybearg says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:12am

    I think that this game was trying for something that was simply far too ambitious for 48 hours.

    The instructions say right mouse to pick things up. That's wrong--the game picks things up using E. Hitting F causes you to go in third person mode and your character collapses in a ragdoll heap for some reason. I couldn't get past the part where they ask you to place the suitcase you picked up on the table to your left (and then you see a table thing on your right). I'd clip through the table and I tried three times, restarting the game and everything, and I could not do anything there, so I guess it's a game-breaking bug.

    The game itself consists simply of walking and picking some stuff up, but for no coherent overall reason. I don't know what the voice overs are on about and there is really nothing fun or interesting to do, since it breaks before anything like that happens.

    I will give kudos for the ambitious graphics and the effectively creepy mood that is briefly observed when they turn out the lights and some strings come on, but that's quickly forgotten.

    I feel like this game was made with the idea of, "Wouldn't it be cool if...?" There's no cohesion to it and really no point that I could see. Plus, it's confusing, inconsistent, and buggy. And it also has to be installed but doesn't offer any obvious uninstaller, PLUS there is no way to even quit the game, since using ESC->quit just takes you back to the title screen. You have to kill the process to even leave it.

    Sorry. Bold attempt, but this is a mess.

    Test User says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:14am

    I have a hard time believing that all those assets were made in 48 hours for the compo, but it looks like it could be good as jam material. But I can't get past the room with all the beers on the table and the things on the ceiling. The door on the other side won't open, and given the commands I've been given, I don't know what else to do other than run at everything I can find and press 'E' to see if it'll help me move on. I really want to see where this game goes though, since it looks like you're developing it more still.

    ENP says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:19am

    @cybearg I apologize you could not finish the game the trigger for you to place the suitcase down can require you to fiddle with it. And right mouse does let you pick stuff up! Hold it down while looking at a box or barrel.

    I am aware of the ragdoll issue and exit issue both I hope to address with tomorrows update.

    Thank you for the feedback.

    ENP says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:21am

    @Test User use e to open doors .. you have to be fairly close hold right mouse btn to pick up and move around

    paulopn says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:29am

    The mood was set very nicely, but I got stuck on the room with all the beers. Also, the voices were too low compared to the sound effects.

    EdoMiyamoto says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:31am

    You sure are a very talented 3d artist, unfortunately you can't add as many upgrades as you wish because of the rules, but if you could just debug a minimum so that we can see the end of the tunnel it would be great ! (and then, i should vote)

    ENP says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:32am

    People stuck in the room with the bears ... there are 3 rooms to open the doors you have to be fairly close and press "e" to open them ... you can pick up objects by holding the right mouse button and moving the mouse you can pick up items for inventory by pressing "e" such as on keys

    ENP says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:33am

    *beers

    artifex says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:40am

    Great job, I love the sequence / flow. Remindme of weirds dreams of mine. Also some style like in dishonored/max payne oniric parts. I love it.

    avidgamerNino says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:34am

    Yea... it took me forever to get out of the program. I was interested at first, then it took forever to download. The only thing cool is that it was done in the UDK engine I think.

    ENP says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:36am

    @avidgamerNino Noted I hope to fix those problems by tomorrow thanks for playing!

    skwirl3014 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:37am

    Why did you force my computer to restart without a dialog box so i could save my homework? Go fuck yourself.

    ENP says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:41am

    @skwirl3014 as I understand the lack of an exit button is problematic task manager is a solution as of now ... though I will put a note in the description so no-one else plays without knowing other than that I bid you a goodday

    Morgawr says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:44pm

    I don't really think voice acting done by other people for your game counts in the "recordings of other people". What's next, I let my artist draw stuff, print it, take a picture of it and then use it?

    Oh well, I really wanted to play this game either way, but I can't get it to work with wine on Linux.

    ENP says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:54pm

    @Morgawr perhaps although was simply making use of recources available.

    I am sorry however that you were unable to play the game.

    FacticiusVir says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:10pm

    Not sure what to make of this; there's no relation to the theme beyond the title, it's difficult to see what game content/functionality wasn't part of the UDK and what was created during the competition, and I'm not sure there's a game in there so much as a series of set pieces. While it's nice to see someone using some different toolsets, I can't rate this because I can't work out what the baseline is.

    ENP says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:15pm

    @Facticius

    Minimalism - Minimalism describes movements in various forms of art and design, especially visual art and music, where the work is set out to expose the essence or identity of a subject through eliminating all non-essential forms, features or concepts.

    Beyond the walls of the tests there is something hidden given you survived something allot more finely detailed and interesting.

    Allot of content made is asset based and engine programming ... UDK can be challenging to re-purpose thanks for playing!

    hgouveia says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:58pm

    very ambitious for 48 hours, but the mood was set very nicely

    ENP says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:07am

    Just found out there is an issue with the installer new one will be up in a few minutes

    ENP says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:21am

    The installer should be working now :3

    Krise20 says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:42am

    you should also make source available!

    ENP says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:01am

    @Krise20 I plan t0 as soon as I finish whatever updates and code I have in store. Thanks for taking interest.

    Dietrich Epp says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:54am

    Like others, I find it somewhat difficult to believe that the assets were created in 48 hours... all the models, textures, and sound effects? Perhaps you should submit this under Jam rules?

    psychopsam says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:32am

    I think it's okay but I don't think it's all your own artwork or voices or sounds. Also I got stuck in the room with the haybails. Not really sure what the objective was. Impressive looking but thats the Unreal engine. Would be nice to see something more of your own work in there.

    ENP says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:23pm

    @psychopsam there is a key hidden under one of the boxes in the red room

    HelkeGames says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:33pm

    Very minimalist game! Like the graphic well done! :)

    peaveyj says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 3:11am

    It had a creepy feel to it and the graphics were impressive given 48 hours. Nice job.

    OnlySlightly says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 4:15am

    Love the atmosphere in the game. And you managed to create some really surprising experiences in this

    imagnity says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 5:39am

    You must polish it, fix the bugs, give good reasons for stuff the player is asked to do. And.. this gonna be rock solid. Good job!

    SnoringFrog says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 7:55am

    It looked nice, but otherwise wasn't particularly enjoyable for me.

    Masadow says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 11:53am

    Nice mood ! However, the first time I played, I didn't read your instruction on this page so I didn't know that I could use F or move objects. Still was a pleasure to go throught levels and try to understand what happen to me in each rooms ;)

    Rafael Sales says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 10:01pm

    Great game. Very interesting but don't fit with the theme so well.

    MinionStudios says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 3:32am

    UDK? You did all this in UDK? WOW ok, you rock. Love the voices. orange beer

    ENP says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 3:37am

    We got our first let's play!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=osAkY-CJ_Pc

    ENP says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 5:53am

    @MinionStudios Thanks! Glad you enjoyed it.

    Sylvain.p says ...
    May 14, 2013 @ 5:32pm

    UDK...you're crazy, this is your own texture and 3d model ?

    ENP says ...
    May 15, 2013 @ 11:40pm

    @Sylvain for the most part yes all textures and models were forged and shadders were redesigned and compiled!

    I may be a bit crazy ...

    May 20, 2013 @ 5:27am

    While not really 'fun', it was interesting and I enjoyed some of the humor and voice acting.

    ENP says ...
    May 20, 2013 @ 10:54pm

    @AestheticGamer Thanks for playing!

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]