Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 22 days, 15 hours, 32 minutes, 5 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    THE POTATO GAME - BleuLlama - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    It's a game distilled down to its most minimal elements: Interactivity, Conflict, Choice, Achievement, and Win/Lose. You collect potatoes and try not to lose any to the Potato Monster. There's not much more to say.

    View BleuLlama's journal. | View all entries by BleuLlama

    Ratings

    #43Humor3.74
    #82Theme4.13
    #743Mood2.70
    #935Fun2.57
    #1127Overall2.57
    #1153Innovation2.20
    #1316Coolness47%
    #1330Graphics1.39

    Comments

    PsenFilip says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:02pm

    So this is what a potato farming simulator is about.
    Humorous!

    Norgg says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:54pm

    The real objective is feeding the potato monster as many potatoes as you can.

    gizmo says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:18pm

    *loved it* but too short! :)

    i won in 9 steps. fought the potato monster several times.. thought i might win against it eventually :)

    TheSnide says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:59pm

    Text-based is nicely minimalistic

    Zekyon says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:37pm

    No! Damn! The potato monster is very strong!, although is logic, is a potato.

    Nice text-based game :)!

    MikeyPB says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:43pm

    I see. Yes, this game is well titled.

    netguy204 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:14pm

    Quite amusing. First I won in 5 steps... and then I played and played trying to beat that stupid monster. You've manipulated my emotions!

    Lidfrid says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:25pm

    i win in 5 steps. IM THE MASTER

    BleuLlama says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:27pm

    Best review ever "This game is well titled." - MikeyPB

    31eee384 says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:47pm

    When I clicked the "Web" link for this entry, so eloquently titled "THE POTATO GAME," I wondered what I would see on the other side. Perhaps a game about potatoes, or one containing potatoes. If I was lucky, perhaps it would be about potato recipes.

    Nay--when the page loaded, I found myself face to face with an exploration of the age-old question "What does it mean to win?" Each of us holds within a different expectation as to the frui--excuse me: the potatoes of labor. Is it enough to obtain only the net sum of your inputs? Or do you strive for something greater? To accomplish something unexpected that grants you more than you could ever have hoped for? This game has triggered in me, and I'm sure many others, a reevaluation of what it is I really wish to achieve.

    Thank you, BleuLlama, for this thought-provoking entry. I will keep it in my heart forever.

    daniel says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:05pm

    Cute text adventure :) Would be great to see more gameplay elements so that games last more than two seconds :P Also now I want potato

    lightsoda says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:09pm

    To fight or not to fight, are my potatoes worth it?

    I'm left to ponder in the green glow of serenity.

    Ragzouken says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:37pm

    This game made me feel like the potato king

    Hume says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 4:22pm

    Full marks for theme! High five!

    hirsch says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 4:24pm

    Funny little game :D - I will now try to speedrun :P

    Hegemege says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 11:39am

    Step 267: The potato monster is still strong. I wonder if this will be my end. I made some potato soup today. It was delicious.

    Mikel says ...
    May 3, 2013 @ 3:10pm

    Really minimalistic !!

    Switchbreak says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 6:14pm

    I won in 253 turns.

    Dietrich Epp says ...
    May 7, 2013 @ 7:36pm

    I love how state is entirely encoded in the URL.

    May 17, 2013 @ 3:01am

    haha text adventure. wooo! Liked the potatoe monster. I can't ever seem to beat him though. i still won in the end. xD

    free_napalm says ...
    May 20, 2013 @ 7:33pm

    Perfect run on my first try, can you imagine?

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]